Up on Bob

Mary Sullivan, 1958-

Book - 2020

Bob the dog works hard to make the bed perfect for sleeping all day but as soon as he settles down, he senses the cat watching him.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Sullivan
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/Sullivan Checked In
Children's Room jE/Sullivan Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt [2020]
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 21 x 27 cm
ISBN
9781328994714
1328994716
Main Author
Mary Sullivan, 1958- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Sullivan, creator of Geisel Honor Book Ball (2013), returns to canine characters with what should go down as one of 2020's most charming works. A narrator introduces Bob, a deep-brown, short-haired dachshund who enjoys life's simple pleasures. Standing atop a child's bed, Bob sets about his day's work. Visibly determined, he tosses the pillows and dolls, clears the lamp table, and rumples the sheets until, finally, "everything is perfect," and he eases into his day-long nap. Meanwhile, two pointy ears slowly rise behind the bed. "Uh-oh." Bob's face shows that he knows "Someone" is coming—Someone being a mischievous gray cat. As her wily face appears behind a despairing Bob, the narrator urges him, "Pretend you are sleeping," which seems to work, but then—"POUNCE!"—Someone is standing on Bob's back. She sets about her own work, kneading, licking, and curling up with Bob, until, once again, "everything is perfect." Short sentences make this accessible to beginning readers while also humorously reflecting Bob's simple desires. Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity, with most of the storytelling relayed through Bob's shifting expressions. Sullivan has an uncanny ability to capture the details of animal behavior, injecting humanity through facial expressions. She taps into that deep magic invoked by both cats and dogs, and the effects are irresistibly heartwarming. Preschool-Grade 2. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Bob, a dog who does not mind the important task of messing up his home while the humans are away, seeks to reward himself with a nap on the bed, before a rival kitty pounces on him. 30,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Bob the dog works hard to make the bed perfect for sleeping all day but as soon as he settles down, he senses the cat watching him.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

★ "Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity." —Booklist, STARRED Review★ "Sullivan again displays her gift for concise animal comedy."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED reviewGeisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan humorously and deftly delivers a sweet spin on cat-and-dog rivalry. Perfect for fans of Kelly DiPucchio and Vera Brosgol. Bob the dog doesn’t mind hard work when it means he can reward himself with a nap. But Someone is watching him sleep! Hopefully they will just go away if Bob lies really still. But Someone, who happens to be a cat, has other things in mind.Up on Bob is a humorous tale about sharing, working hard—and sleeping even harder. With irresistibly sly illustrations and pitch perfect pet dynamics, Geisel Honor–winning author-illustrator Mary Sullivan tells a sweet tale of friendship with a fresh new spin on the age-old cat-and-dog rivalry.  

Review by Publisher Summary 4

★ "Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity." —Booklist, STARRED Review★ "Sullivan again displays her gift for concise animal comedy."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED reviewGeisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan humorously and deftly delivers a sweet spin on cat-and-dog rivalry. Perfect for fans of Kelly DiPucchio and Vera Brosgol. Bob the dog doesn’t mind hard work when it means he can reward himself with a nap. But Someone is watching him sleep! Hopefully they will just go away if Bob lies really still. But Someone, who happens to be a cat, has other things in mind.Up on Bob is a humorous tale about sharing, working hard—and sleeping even harder. With irresistibly sly illustrations and pitch perfect pet dynamics, Geisel Honor–winning author-illustrator Mary Sullivan tells a sweet tale of friendship with a fresh new spin on the age-old cat-and-dog rivalry.  

Review by Publisher Summary 5

' "Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity." 'Booklist, STARRED Review' "Sullivan again displays her gift for concise animal comedy."'The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED review Geisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan humorously and deftly delivers a sweet spin on cat-and-dog rivalry. Perfect for fans of Kelly DiPucchio and Vera Brosgol.

Review by Publisher Summary 6

' "Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity." 'Booklist, STARRED Review' "Sullivan again displays her gift for concise animal comedy."'The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED reviewGeisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan humorously and deftly delivers a sweet spin on cat-and-dog rivalry. Perfect for fans of Kelly DiPucchio and Vera Brosgol. Bob the dog doesn't mind hard work when it means he can reward himself with a nap. But Someone is watching him sleep! Hopefully they will just go away if Bob lies really still. But Someone, who happens to be a cat, has other things in mind.Up on Bob is a humorous tale about sharing, working hard'and sleeping even harder. With irresistibly sly illustrations and pitch perfect pet dynamics, Geisel Honor'winning author-illustrator Mary Sullivan tells a sweet tale of friendship with a fresh new spin on the age-old cat-and-dog rivalry.  

Review by Publisher Summary 7

★ "Perfect pacing builds suspense and adds to the hilarity." —Booklist, STARRED Review★ "Sullivan again displays her gift for concise animal comedy."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED review Geisel Honor winner Mary Sullivan humorously and deftly delivers a sweet spin on cat-and-dog rivalry. Perfect for fans of Kelly DiPucchio and Vera Brosgol.