Get a life, Chloe Brown A novel

Talia Hibbert

Book - 2019

Emerging from a life-threatening illness, a fiercely organized but unfulfilled computer geek recruits a mysterious artist to help her establish meaning in her life, before finding herself engaged in reckless but thrilling activities.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Hibbert, Talia
2 / 4 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Hibbert, Talia Checked In
1st Floor FICTION/Hibbert, Talia Due Oct 16, 2022
1st Floor FICTION/Hibbert, Talia Checked In
1st Floor FICTION/Hibbert Talia Due Jul 23, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
New York, NY : Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2019]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
viii, 369 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780062941206
0062941208
Main Author
Talia Hibbert (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* After a near-death experience, self-described socially inept control freak Chloe Brown realizes she has let chronic pain prevent her from getting a life. So she does what she does best, which is make a list, then methodically ticks off each item, starting with moving out of her parents' house. Red Morgan is a motorcycle-riding artist and the superintendent of her apartment building, and he thinks Chloe is one of the rudest, most stuck-up women he has ever met. Then he finds her stuck in a tree after an ill-advised attempt to rescue a kitten and, against his better judgment, he agrees to help Chloe with her list. Are there plot surprises in this enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy? Not really. Will readers giggle at the cuteness of the banter and weep at the emotional truths that are thrown down as Chloe realizes it's not her list that matters, and Red realizes Chloe is helping him get a life, too? Absolutely. Is this book what the word charming was invented for? Probably. This interracial romance with a disabled heroine is an #OwnVoices treat that will satisfy readers who love a cinnamon-roll hero and love scenes that scorch the dang pages. For more dream heroes, see the Core Collection on page xx. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

After a scary incident causes Chloe Brown's life to flash before her eyes, she's relieved but also angry that there wasn't much worth remembering. Spurred into action, the chronically ill computer programmer devises a plan to move forward. Getting out on her own is first on the list, a step that puts her in the path of grumpy artist Redford "Red" Morgan. Red isn't keen on Chloe, assuming she couldn't possibly appreciate his painting career, his tattoos, and his motorcycle. But then a cute little grey cat brings the two eye to eye, and sparks fly. Red just might be the perfect person to encourage Chloe to confront her challenges, and Chloe the one to help Red find his own self-worth again. VERDICT This stunning romance tackles important topics, such as living with disability and surviving emotional abuse, without ever getting bogged down in despair. Hibbert's prose sparkles, and the heat is high, making this new series launch, the author's first with a mainstream publisher, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey's "Hot & Hammered" series or Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient. Hibbert's extensive self-published backlist, especially the "Ravenswood" series, can fill demand while readers wait for her next "Brown Sisters" book.—Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee P.L. Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Chronically ill Chloe Brown's near-death experience is the catalyst for a thrilling, life-altering adventure that will keep readers riveted. Chloe, living but not thriving in present-day England, is on her daily walk when a car just misses crashing into her. Realizing life's too short for her to settle for her boring routine, she creates a list of ways to change her life—starting with moving out of her family's home and into her own apartment, and working up to traveling the world—but discovers that she needs a little push to follow through. Enter her new building superintendent, Redford "Red" Morgan, a tough guy with a heart of gold and a hidden artistic talent. Their relationship begins antagonistically, but the more time they spend together, with Red coaching Chloe through her list, the more sparks fly. It's quickly clear that the question isn't whether they'll get together but whether they can overcome their past traumas to turn their fling into something that will last. Chloe is a fantastic heroine with a refreshing voice; she's understandably prickly given all she goes through as a black, overweight, disabled woman, but that edge doesn't make her any less endearing to Red or the reader. She feels real and so do her struggles. Red is also dynamic and fascinating. Both characters need to change their lives and stand up for themselves, and readers will find them inspiring. Best of all, the romance is sizzling hot. This contemporary is a page-turning winner. Agent: Courtney Miller-Callihan, Handspun Literary. (Nov.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. She's come up with seven directives to help her "Get a Life", and she's already completed the first: finally moving out of her family's mansion. She's ready to enjoy a drunken night out, ride a motorcycle, and other adventures. But it's not easy being bad, and Chloe knows just the man to help her complete her list. Redford 'Red' Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and sex appeal, who paints at night but hides hiswork. When she enlists Red to help her rebel, she discovers what really lies beneath his rough exterior. -- adapted from back cover

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Emerging from a life-threatening illness, a fiercely organized but unfulfilled computer geek recruits a mysterious artist to help her establish meaning in her life, before finding herself engaged in reckless but thrilling activities. Original. 75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” – Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride TestUSA TODAY BESTSELLERA witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?Enjoy a drunken night out.Ride a motorcycle.Go camping.Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.And... do something bad. But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job. Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit. But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…"This is an extraordinary book, full of love, generosity, kindness and sharp humor." — The New York Times Book Review*Featured on the TODAY Show! Named a Best Romance of 2019 by Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Apple, and Amazon, and Best of November from Essence, Woman's Day, Marie Claire, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, Bookish, Bookpage, Entertainment Weekly, and Washington Post*

Review by Publisher Summary 4

'Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.' ' Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride TestUSA TODAY BESTSELLERA witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who's tired of being 'boring' and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things'perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost'but not quite'dying, she's come up with seven directives to help her 'Get a Life', and she's already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family's mansion. The next items?Enjoy a drunken night out.Ride a motorcycle.Go camping.Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.And... do something bad. But it's not easy being bad, even when you've written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job. Redford 'red' Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He's also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit. But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe's wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior""This is an extraordinary book, full of love, generosity, kindness and sharp humor." ' The New York Times Book Review*Featured on the TODAY Show! Named a Best Romance of 2019 by Entertainment Weekly, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Apple, and Amazon, and Best of November from Essence, Woman's Day, Marie Claire, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, Bookish, Bookpage, Entertainment Weekly, and Washington Post*