The library of lost things A novel

Laura Taylor Namey

Book - 2019

"From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother's hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But when a new property manager becomes more active in the upkeep of their apartment complex, the only home Darcy has ever known outside of her books suddenly hangs in the balance. While Darcy is struggling to survive beneath the weight of her moth...er's compulsive shopping, Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works...and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can't seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide inside her carefully constructed ink-and-paper bomb shelter. Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she'll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth--even if it's messy"--Amazon.com.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Namey Laura
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Namey Laura Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Young adult fiction
Published
Ontario, Canada : Inkyard Press [2019]
Language
English
Physical Description
339 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781335928252
1335928251
Main Author
Laura Taylor Namey (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Darcy is almost 18, which means she's almost a legal adult, though she's been taking on that role for years, trying to keep her mother from burying them under the weight of her hoarding problem. What once looked like a straight shot to the finish line becomes riddled with obstacles after her grandmother asks Darcy to chose between stability and her mother, her long-absent father suddenly reemerges, and a boy with his own troubles becomes (almost) all she can think about. The Library of Lost Things is a compelling family drama with a literary through line that will delight bibliophiles—a classic lit quote begins every chapter, and Darcy works in a bookstore. Though the romance is appropriately sweet, it's Darcy's family dynamics—the war waging within her between love and resentment, the desperation to cling to loyalty while running toward independence—that sets the book apart. Book lovers will find Namey's story especially compelling because, in Darcy, they'll find a kindred spirit. Hand to fans of Cath Crowley's Words in Deep Blue (2017). Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

For years, 17-year-old Darcy, who seems to be white, has hidden her single mother's shopping and hoarding addictions from everyone except her Cuban/Mexican best friend, Marisol, and Marisol's brother, who does repairs in their chaotic San Diego apartment. Bent on keeping others out, Darcy has turned inward, burying herself in books, but the new apartment manager's plans for interior renovations forces her back to reality. Worried that she and her mother will have to move if the manager sees the state of their unit, Darcy must face the harsh truths about her mother's disorder, even as she experiences her first romantic feelings for a boy she meets at her local bookstore job. Bighearted Asher is open about the physical and emotional challenges he faces after a car accident, and Darcy seeks the courage to be as honest about her life. In this complex romance, debut author Namey paints a painfully realistic portrait of a teen playing an adult role in a dysfunctional family. Darcy's emergence from her protective shell of fictional characters and worlds creates an emotional journey. Featuring a strong supporting cast—including Darcy's boss, the owner of a wig shop—this compassionate, insightful novel will be relevant to anyone who has felt burdened by a secret. Ages 13–up. Agent: Natascha Morris, BookEnds Literary. (Oct.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Darcy just has to hold on until her 18th birthday, when the state will no longer have the power to remove her from her home. Suffocated by her mother's hoarding and confronted by the possibility of others finding out, all Darcy can do is burrow into her books. Books, after all, are safe. Until Asher, who is recovering from a life-altering accident, enters the picture. Now, Darcy must decide whether to keep hiding between the pages of her book or take the risk of nonfiction by living life. This book is, first and foremost, a gentle love letter to books and book lovers. Through her story, Darcy articulates the importance and transcendence of words with which many readers will identify. With a number of strong themes, including the humanity and imperfection of parents, the trauma of having to grow up too fast, and what real love is, the storytelling is elevated by its thoughtful prose. Yet readers will be pleased to find a lack of melodrama, which is instead balanced and measured in ways that give the novel its intuitive sense of reality. Although the prose gives the book a more adult feel, Namey uses references and dialogue to keep Darcy's world otherwise relevant and contemporary. Readers will also enjoy Darcy's cast of family, friends, and classmates as people they recognize from their own lives. VERDICT For fans of Katie Cotugno, John Green, and Melina Marchetta, this will be a reader favorite.—Abby Hargreaves, District of Columbia Public Library Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Escaping into books to cope with her mother’s hoarding disorder, literary genius Darcy Wells faces the loss of the only home she has ever known and considers confiding in a former teen pilot, who is navigating his own diminishing prospects. 50,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow, this deeply heartfelt love story explores hiding the worst parts of ourselves, and finding the people who love us anyway.“How could I open that door and let him see the messiest part of me?”From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary.But then Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works…and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can’t seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide behind her carefully constructed ink-and-paper wall.Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she’ll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth—even if it’s messy.“A lovely tale for bookish readers that will give them all the feels.” —Kirkus

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Fangirl meets Jane Austen in this deeply heartfelt love story about hiding the worst parts of ourselves, and the people who love us anyway.'How could I open that door and let him see the messiest part of me?'From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother's hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But then Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works'and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can't seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide behind her carefully constructed ink-and-paper wall.Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she'll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth'even if it's messy."A lovely tale for bookish readers that will give them all the feels.' 'Kirkus