Marriage on Madison Avenue

Lauren Layne

Book - 2020

"Can guys and girls ever be just friends? According to Audrey Tate and Clarke West, absolutely. After all, they've been best friends since childhood without a single romantic entanglement. Clarke is the charming playboy Audrey can always count on, and he knows that the ever-loyal Audrey will never not play along with his strategy for dodging his matchmaking mother-announcing he's already engaged...to Audrey. But what starts out as a playful game between two best friends turns into... something infinitely more complicated, as just-for-show kisses begin to stir up forbidden feelings. As the faux wedding date looms closer, Audrey and Clarke realize that they can never go back to the way things were, but deep down, do they really want to?"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Layne, Lauren
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Layne, Lauren Checked In
1st Floor FICTION/Layne Lauren Checked In
Series
Layne, Lauren. Central Park Pact series ; 3.
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
New York : Gallery Books 2020.
Edition
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition
Language
English
Item Description
Sequel to: Love on Lexington Avenue.
Physical Description
274 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781501191633
1501191632
Main Author
Lauren Layne (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Instagram influencer Audrey Tate's every move is watched by her millions of followers. Fellow Instagrammer @ScandalBoy has caught on to the fact that she can't keep a man in her life. To beat the internet troll at his own game, Audrey and her childhood best friend, Clarke, decide to start a charade—they stage a fake engagement with all of the best content, from the Tiffany ring to the fairy-tale wedding at the Plaza, and document the whole thing on Instagram. Layne's third in the Central Park Pact series (after Love on Lexington Avenue, 2019) can be read as a stand-alone since enough holes are filled to bring readers who missed the other titles up to speed. As in the best friends-to-lovers story, sparks start to fly with each staged kiss, touch, or handhold. This light read will keep readers engaged as they follow Audrey as she tries to keep her feelings under wraps while being in the internet spotlight. Perfect for fans of Hannah Orenstein's Love at First Like (2019). Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Instagram influencer Audrey Tate's every move is watched by her millions of followers. Fellow Instagrammer @ScandalBoy has caught on to the fact that she can't keep a man in her life. To beat the internet troll at his own game, Audrey and her childhood best friend, Clarke, decide to start a charade—they stage a fake engagement with all of the best content, from the Tiffany ring to the fairy-tale wedding at the Plaza, and document the whole thing on Instagram. Layne's third in the Central Park Pact series (after Love on Lexington Avenue, 2019) can be read as a stand-alone since enough holes are filled to bring readers who missed the other titles up to speed. As in the best friends-to-lovers story, sparks start to fly with each staged kiss, touch, or handhold. This light read will keep readers engaged as they follow Audrey as she tries to keep her feelings under wraps while being in the internet spotlight. Perfect for fans of Hannah Orenstein's Love at First Like (2019). Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Layne concludes her Central Park Pact trilogy (following Love on Lexington Avenue) with this breezy and satisfying contemporary romance. Audrey Tate, reeling with pain and guilt following the death of her married lover, avoids reentering the Manhattan dating scene in favor of immersing herself in her work as a social media influencer and spending time with her longtime best friend, Clarke West. When Clarke's manipulative, matchmaking mother tries to get him back together with his ex-girlfriend in an effort to see her son married, Clarke lies and says he's already engaged to Audrey. What starts as a lark for Audrey, who thinks it sounds fun to plan a fake wedding, grows complicated as she and Clarke support each other through familial pressure and their fake kisses start to feel real. Layne's vision of Manhattan is escapist and aspirational, populated solely by the wealthy. Sparkling dialogue, hilarious wedding planning scenes, and deeply emotional moments see the series end on a high note. Agent: Nicole Resciniti, The Seymour Agency (Jan.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Can guys and girls ever be just friends? According to Audrey Tate and Clarke West, absolutely. After all, they've been best friends since childhood without a single romantic entanglement. Clarke is the charming playboy Audrey can always count on, and heknows that the ever-loyal Audrey will never not play along with his strategy for dodging his matchmaking mother-announcing he's already engaged...to Audrey. But what starts out as a playful game between two best friends turns into something infinitely more complicated, as just-for-show kisses begin to stir up forbidden feelings. As the faux wedding date looms closer, Audrey and Clarke realize that they can never go back to the way things were, but deep down, do they really want to?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Pretending they are engaged to protect their long-time friendship while staving off a matchmaking mom, Audrey and Clarke find their arrangement complicated by inconvenient real feelings and a looming wedding date. Original. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A USA TODAY bestseller!One of O, The Oprah Magazine’s “22 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020” and one of Goodreads’s “28 of the Hottest Romances of 2020”From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, the “queen of witty dialogue” (Rachel Van Dyken, New York Times bestselling author), comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.Can guys and girls ever be just friends? According to Audrey Tate and Clarke West, absolutely. After all, they’ve been best friends since childhood without a single romantic entanglement. Clarke is the charming playboy Audrey can always count on, and he knows that the ever-loyal Audrey will never not play along with his strategy for dodging his matchmaking mother—announcing he’s already engaged…to Audrey.But what starts out as a playful game between two best friends turns into something infinitely more complicated, as just-for-show kisses begin to stir up forbidden feelings. As the faux wedding date looms closer, Audrey and Clarke realize that they can never go back to the way things were, but deep down, do they really want to?

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A USA TODAY bestseller!One of O, The Oprah Magazine's '22 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020' and one of Goodreads's '28 of the Hottest Romances of 2020"From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, the 'queen of witty dialogue' (Rachel Van Dyken, New York Times bestselling author), comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that's perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.Can guys and girls ever be just friends? According to Audrey Tate and Clarke West, absolutely. After all, they've been best friends since childhood without a single romantic entanglement. Clarke is the charming playboy Audrey can always count on, and he knows that the ever-loyal Audrey will never not play along with his strategy for dodging his matchmaking mother'announcing he's already engaged'to Audrey.But what starts out as a playful game between two best friends turns into something infinitely more complicated, as just-for-show kisses begin to stir up forbidden feelings. As the faux wedding date looms closer, Audrey and Clarke realize that they can never go back to the way things were, but deep down, do they really want to?