Unpregnant

Jenni Hendriks

Book - 2019

When seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke discovers she is pregnant, she enlists the help of high school misfit Bailey Butler to drive her over nine hundred miles to the closest abortion clinic.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Hendriks Jenni
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Hendriks Jenni Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Road fiction
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2019]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
310 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062876249
0062876244
Main Author
Jenni Hendriks (author)
Other Authors
Ted Caplan (author)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Veronica Clarke, 17, is on track to be valedictorian and already has an Ivy League acceptance when she unexpectedly passes another test, one whose pink lines say she's pregnant. Unfortunately, she lives in Missouri, where women under 18 need a parent's permission to get a legal abortion. In desperation, she concocts a plan to have the father, Kevin, drive her to a clinic 1,000 miles away so that she can end her pregnancy. Then she discovers that he intentionally sabotaged their birth control. For help, Ronnie turns to her former best friend, "black hole of anger and darkness" Bailey Butler. Together, they embark on a road trip for the ages, one that includes cow tipping, grand theft auto, and aliens, with Kevin in hot pursuit. The authors' background in television and film shows, with scene after hilarious scene normalizing the most serious of subjects: how far women must often go to exercise control over their own bodies. Though her desire to avoid teenage parenthood propels Ronnie to act, the trip is also one of self-discovery as she reassesses what partnership really means. A stellar, timely debut. Ages 14–up. (Sept.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Hendricks and Caplan's debut novel tells the story of Veronica 'Ronnie' Clark, who lives a perfect life. It's her senior year and as her school's valedictorian, she's already been accepted to Brown University. She looks perfect and has the perfect relationship with the perfect boyfriend, and a trio of perfect best friends. But when the story opens, she is sitting on the toilet, in the girls' bathroom, staring at a postive pregnancy test. This is not how the last few months of school was meant to go, and she can't share this bit of imperfection with anyone. Except maybe her ex-best friend Bailey Butler, who happens to find out Ronnie's new secret. After asking for Bailey's help, Ronnie embarks on a hilarious road trip from her small town in Missouri to Albuquerque, NM to get an abortion. Though Ronnie knows this trip will ultimately change her life, she is unaware of just how much. The book does a good job of tackling serious topics like teenage pregnancy, abortion, peer pressure, and friendship with light wit and sarcasm that does not feel clichéd. Through the journey, Ronnie comes to realize what it means to be a true friend, despite her own ego, and readers will feel a kinship with both her and Bailey. VERDICT A story that effortlessly delivers difficult topics through humor and adventure, without taking away from their serious nature. It is a must read for fans of Gaby Rodriguez's The Pregnancy Project and Diablo Cody's movie Juno.—Caitlin Wilson, Meadowdale Library, North Chesterfield, VA Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Finding herself unexpectedly pregnant, a 17-year-old girl from a conservative community teams up with her wild former friend to get an out-of-state abortion that is complicated by unexpected challenges, kind strangers and reckonings with the past. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Veronica Clarke is staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion. The only catch: the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away, a fourteen-hour drive. With conservative parents, a less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person who won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High-- and Veronica's ex-best friend. What could go wrong? -- Adapted from jacket.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

When seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke discovers she is pregnant, she enlists the help of high school misfit Bailey Butler to drive her over nine hundred miles to the closest abortion clinic.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith, Unpregnant is a heartfelt and funny YA debut about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood. Now a movie streaming on HBO Max, starring Haley Lu Richardson as Veronica and Barbie Ferreira as Bailey.“Hilarious. A remarkable debut.” —Stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower“A buddy road trip novel so funny, touching, and surprising, readers will forget it’s also important. Honest and relatable!” —Alex Flinn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of BeastlySeventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she’d want to fail a test—that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she’d have to make: an abortion.There’s just one catch—the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person who won’t judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High—and Veronica’s ex-best friend.What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the betrayal of a broken friendship that can’t be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.This breakout novel is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give).TIME CALLS THE UNPREGNANT MOVIE "A SPIRITED COMEDY ABOUT A WOMAN'S RIGHT TO CHOOSE."“A stellar, timely debut.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)“Timely, hilarious, and heartfelt.” —Kirkus (starred review)A Top Ten YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers!

Review by Publisher Summary 5

NOW A MOVIE STREAMING ON HBO MAX, STARRING HALEY LU RICHARDSON AS VERONICA AND BARBIE FERREIRA AS BAILEY!Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith, Unpregnant is a heartfelt and hysterically funny YA debut about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood."Hilarious. A remarkable debut.' 'stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower"A buddy road trip novel so funny, touching, and surprising, readers will forget it's also important. Honest and relatable!' 'Alex Flinn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of BeastlySeventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test'that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion.There's just one catch'the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person who won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High'and Veronica's ex-best friend.What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.This breakout novel is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give).TIME CALLS THE UNPREGNANT MOVIE "A SPIRITED COMEDY ABOUT A WOMAN'S RIGHT TO CHOOSE.""A stellar, timely debut.' 'Publishers Weekly (starred review)'timely, hilarious, and heartfelt.' 'Kirkus (starred review)A Top Ten YALSA 2020 Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers!