There will come a darkness An age of darkness novel

Katy Rose Pool

Book - 2019

"For generations the Seven Prophets guided humanity with their visions, ending wars and uniting nations--until the day they vanished, leaving behind the promise of a looming Age of Darkness and the birth of a Prophet who could be the world's salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Pool Katy
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Pool Katy Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Novels
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York : Henry Holt and Company 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
485 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781250211750
1250211751
Main Author
Katy Rose Pool (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Once, there were Prophets to guide the world; a century ago, they vanished, leaving behind a final prophecy that foretold the coming of death, the rise of the wicked, and an Age of Darkness. That time has come at last, but the prophecy spoke, too, of someone who could either save the world or destroy it: someone with a strong gift of Sight, one of the four magical Graces that some people possess. As the events of the prophecy begin to unfold, the lives of five people intertwine: Ephyra, who should be a healer but will kill for those she loves; Beru, her dying sister; Hassan, an exiled prince; Anton, a gambler running from his past; and Jude, a soldier torn between loyalty and desire. All five characters share the third-person narrative, and it can be a lot for this debut to handle; character development is sometimes sacrificed in favor of plot. Still, there is much here that will draw readers, and an action-packed ending will have them eager for the inevitable sequel. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

First in a planned trilogy, Pool's Mediterranean-inspired fantasy debut explores issues of family, faith, fate, and free will. For millennia, the Seven Prophets helped guide humanity through visions of the future. Then they vanished, leaving behind one final prophecy forecasting the birth of a Last Prophet, who will be able to forestall an Age of Darkness. One hundred years later, the Prophets' prediction appears to be coming true: a leader dubbed the Hierophant and his acolytes seek to snuff out magic and all those who possess it, while the Order of the Last Light believes that they've found the individual meant to stop him. The tale unfolds from the perspectives of five ethnically and socially diverse teenagers: paranoid fugitive Anton, exiled prince Hassan, conflicted knight Jude, single-minded assassin Ephyra, and terminally ill Beru. Pool skillfully manages her large ensemble cast, intertwining both their destinies and their story lines as their paths converge. Although initially dense with character introductions and complex worldbuilding, this inventive, gripping novel's narrative drive remains strong thanks to its high stakes, abundant action, and realistic romances both gay and straight. Ages 14–up. (Sept.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Multiple viewpoints share the narrative in debut author Pool's imagined world, constructed with hints of Greek and Middle Eastern influences. (For example, places named Pallas Athos, Herat, "the agora," and Nazirah; meals of lamb stew and pomegranate; characters named Hassan and Ephyra). In this world, the Graced have heightened powers, which make them targets for jealous attacks each time they manifest their enhanced strength, senses, energy, and more. Working-class Anton (with his talent at gambling); prince-in-disguise Hassan; good-hearted Khepri; sisters Ephyra and Beru; and Jude, the Last Prophet and Keeper of the Word, twist in and out of one another's orbits, caught up in their uncertain times. For the last 100 years, the Age of Darkness has been foretold, and now it looks like these older teens hold the keys to both destruction and salvation. First in a planned trilogy, the book sets the stage rather than concludes the story. The shifting narratives require attention, but there is ample payoff. VERDICT Teens looking for epic fantasy can immerse themselves in Pool's world, where the Witnesses have developed deadly Godfire, the Pale Hand is stalking, and the Age of Darkness appears just over the horizon.—Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley Sch., Fort Worth, TX Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"For generations the Seven Prophets guided humanity with their visions, ending wars and uniting nations--until the day they vanished, leaving behind the promise of a looming Age of Darkness and the birth of a Prophet who could be the world's salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A century after their land’s protective Seven Prophets disappear in the wake of a secret prediction about an age of darkness, five very different individuals are intertwined in a prophecy that says one of them will save or destroy the world. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows meets Kristin Cashore's Graceling, with a dash of Winter is Coming, in this showstopping debut YA fantasy--and recipient of FOUR starred reviews! A Morris Award Finalist for best debut young adult novel! A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!A Tor.com Best YA SFF/Horror Book of the Year! "One of the most stunning debuts of the year." —Seventeen The Age of Darkness approaches.Five lives stand in its way.Who will stop it . . . or unleash it? For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations—until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. With chaos on the horizon, five souls are set on a collision course:A prince exiled from his kingdom.A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.One of them—or all of them—could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.Praise for There Will Come a Darkness“A can’t miss debut from an exciting new talent.” –Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Slayer “Even in a world filled with graces and prophets, the real magic of There Will Come a Darkness is in how Pool has crafted her heroes—messy, flawed, and so beguilingly human. I dare you not to fall madly in love with all of them.” —Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess * "A well-crafted, surprising, and gripping start to a new trilogy." —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review