The Avant-Guards

Carly Usdin

Book - 2019

As a transfer student seeking to find her place, Charlie agrees to join the school's basketball team.

Saved in:

2nd Floor Comics Show me where

COMIC/Avant
vol. 1: 1 / 1 copies available
vol. 2: 1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor Comics COMIC/Avant v. 1 Checked In
2nd Floor Comics COMIC/Avant v. 2 Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Comics (Graphic works)
Graphic novels
Published
Los Angeles, CA : BOOM! Box [2019]-
Language
English
Item Description
Description based on volume 1.
Originally published in single magazine form as: The Avant-Guards No. 1-4 [v. 1] ; The Avant-Guards No. 5-8 [v. 2]
Physical Description
volumes : chiefly color illustrations ; 26 cm
ISBN
9781684153671
1684153670
9781684155682
1684155681
Main Author
Carly Usdin (author)
Other Authors
Noah Hayes (artist), Rebecca Nalty (colorist), Ed Dukeshire (letterer)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Transfer student Charlie is content to not get too involved at her new college, but determined, aspiring actor Liv will stop at nothing to get her to join her start-up basketball team, the Avant-Guards, even if it means she has to recruit the rest of the team members to subtly—or not so subtly—persuade her. Despite her reservations, Charlie finally agrees, and the team is surprised to learn at their first game that, hey, they're not that bad! Amid all the basketball action, Usdin drops in plenty of backstory for the other team members and cultivates warm personalities through their comical interactions. Hayes and Nalty's dynamic artwork in bright colors matches the cheerful tone and does a fantastic job of depicting the teammates, who are refreshingly diverse in skin tone and body shape. The figure designs nicely play up the personalities of the characters as well, and the basketball scenes are drawn with clear-cut action. This lighthearted ensemble story with a glimmer of romance is ideal for fans of John Allison's Giant Days comics or Ngozi Ukazu's Check, Please! (2018). Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"As a transfer student to the Georgia O'Keeffe College for Arts and Subtle Dramatics, former sports star Charlie is struggling to find her classes, her dorm, and her place amongst a student body full of artists who seem to know exactly where they're going. When the school's barely-a-basketball-team unexpectedly attempts to recruit her, Charlie's adamant that she's left that life behind...until she's won over by the charming team captain, Liv, and the ragtag crew she's managed to assemble. And while Charlie may have left cut-throat competition in the dust, sinking these hoops may be exactly what she needs to see the person she truly wants to be."--Page [4] of cover.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

When Charlie transfers to the Georgia O'Keeffe College of Arts and Subtle Dramatics, she struggles to find her feet, but winds up exactly where she belongs...in the school's (terrible) basketball team.As a transfer student to the Georgia O'Keeffe College for Arts and Subtle Dramatics, former sports star Charlie is struggling to find her classes, her dorm, and her place amongst a student body full of artists who seem to know exactly where they're going. When the school's barely-a-basketball-team unexpectedly attempts to recruit her, Charlie's adamant that she's left that life behind'until she's won over by the charming team captain, Liv, and the ragtag crew she's managed to assemble. And while Charlie may have left cut-throat competition in the dust, sinking these hoops may be exactly what she needs to see the person she truly wants to be. From Carly Usdin (Heavy Vinyl) and artist Noah Hayes (Wet Hot American Summer, Goldie Vance) comes an ensemble comedy series that understands that it's the person you are off the court that matters most.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

When Charlie transfers to the Georgia O’Keeffe College of Arts and Subtle Dramatics, she struggles to find her feet, but winds up exactly where she belongs...in the school’s (terrible) basketball team.As a transfer student to the Georgia O’Keeffe College for Arts and Subtle Dramatics, former sports star Charlie is struggling to find her classes, her dorm, and her place amongst a student body full of artists who seem to know exactly where they’re going. When the school’s barely-a-basketball-team unexpectedly attempts to recruit her, Charlie’s adamant that she’s left that life behind…until she’s won over by the charming team captain, Liv, and the ragtag crew she’s managed to assemble. And while Charlie may have left cut-throat competition in the dust, sinking these hoops may be exactly what she needs to see the person she truly wants to be. From Carly Usdin (Heavy Vinyl) and artist Noah Hayes (Wet Hot American Summer, Goldie Vance) comes an ensemble comedy series that understands that it’s the person you are off the court that matters most.