On the corner of love and hate

Nina Bocci

Book - 2019

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully "fun bit of fluffy entertainment" ( Publishers Weekly ) in which a young woman is forced to help her old friend revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections...and discovers that she might not be as immune to his charms as she once thought. When Emmanuelle Peroni's father--and current mayor of Hope Lake, Pennsylvania--suggests she help with Cooper Endicott's campaign, she's horrified. Cooper, one of... her (former) oldest friends, drives her crazy in every way possible. But he's also her father's protégé, so Emma reluctantly launches her plan to help him win the local election. It's not as easy as it looks. Cooper's colorful love life is the sticking point for many voters, and his opponent is digging up everything he can from his past. It seems that every time Emma puts out the flames from one scandal, another one flares up. Emma knows that if Cooper wants to win, he needs to keep his nose clean. The only problem? She might just be falling in love with the one person she promised never to pursue: the mayoral candidate himself.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Bocci Nina
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Bocci Nina Checked In
Series
The hopless romantics series ; 1
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
New York : Gallery Books 2019.
Edition
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition
Language
English
Physical Description
316 pages : illustrations ; 21cm
ISBN
9781982102036
1982102039
Main Author
Nina Bocci (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Childhood friends Emmanuelle Emma Peroni and Cooper Endicott have a complicated history. After drifting apart in college, the former friends work together to rejuvenate the small town of Hope Lake, alongside Emma's father, who just so happens to be the Mayor. With a mayoral election coming up, and the retirement of Emma's father, Cooper seems like a natural person to run for office. He's smart, handsome, and comes from a political family; there's only one problem—his love life is a mess. Much to Emma's horror, her father suggests she is just the person to help Cooper's campaign get on track. Reluctantly, she agrees, and realizes she must deal with feelings that she thought she buried long ago. Bocci's warm, romantic novel deals with love, friendship and family ties. This page turner is filled with quick, witty banter from likable characters living in a realistic small town. The character-driven novel will have readers rooting for the confused friends. Fans of Jill Shalvis will thoroughly enjoy this swoon-worthy story. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Bocci's diverting debut presents a romantic paradox as Emmanuelle "Emma" Peroni's first-person narrative exposes one version of reality to readers and another to herself. The Hope Lake, Pa., civil servant spends an inordinate amount of time blasting her longtime friend and coworker Cooper Endicott for his lack of focus and follow-through, to say nothing of his flagrant flirtations with anybody in a skirt. Emma grew up as just one of the guys with Cooper and two other male friends, and she's oblivious to her reasons for being so interested in scrutinizing Cooper's love life, even while she laments that her own romantic prospects are nil. When he runs for mayor, Emma's behind-the-scenes management of his campaign broadcasts her profound denial to everyone but her. It takes the intervention of an archnemesis to force Emma to examine the feelings she and Cooper have for one another. Emma's everywoman appeal lends charm to the story, and her self-deprecating humor is a plus. This is a fun bit of fluffy entertainment. Agent: Kimberly Brower, Brower Literary & Management. (Aug.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"When Emmanuelle Peroni's father--and current mayor of Hope Lake, Pennsylvania--suggests she help with Cooper Endicott's campaign, she's horrified. Cooper, one of her (former) oldest friends, drives her crazy in every way possible. But he's also her father's protâegâe, so Emma reluctantly launches her plan to help him win the local election. It's not as easy as it looks. Cooper's colorful love life is the sticking point for many voters, and his opponent is digging up everything he can from his past. It seems that every time Emma puts out the flames from one scandal, another one flares up. Emma knows that if Cooper wants to win, he needs to keep his nose clean. The only problem? She might just be falling in love with the one person she promised never to pursue: the mayoral candidate himself."--Provided by publisher.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

For fans of Lauren Layne and Kristan Higgins comes a delightfully 'fun bit of fluffy entertainment' (Publishers Weekly) in the first book of a charming new series, in which a young woman is forced to help her old friend revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections...and discovers that she might not be as immune to his charms as she once thought.When Emmanuelle Peroni's father'and current mayor of Hope Lake, Pennsylvania'suggests she help with Cooper Endicott's campaign, she's horrified. Cooper, one of her (former) oldest friends, drives her crazy in every way possible. But he's also her father's protégé, so Emma reluctantly launches her plan to help him win the local election.It's not as easy as it looks. Cooper's colorful love life is the sticking point for many voters, and his opponent is digging up everything he can from his past. It seems that every time Emma puts out the flames from one scandal, another one flares up. Emma knows that if Cooper wants to win, he needs to keep his nose clean. The only problem? She might just be falling in love with the one person she promised never to pursue: the mayoral candidate himself.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

For fans of Lauren Layne and Kristan Higgins comes a delightfully “fun bit of fluffy entertainment” (Publishers Weekly) in the first book of a charming new series, in which a young woman is forced to help her old friend revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections...and discovers that she might not be as immune to his charms as she once thought.When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and current mayor of Hope Lake, Pennsylvania—suggests she help with Cooper Endicott’s campaign, she’s horrified. Cooper, one of her (former) oldest friends, drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, so Emma reluctantly launches her plan to help him win the local election.It’s not as easy as it looks. Cooper’s colorful love life is the sticking point for many voters, and his opponent is digging up everything he can from his past. It seems that every time Emma puts out the flames from one scandal, another one flares up. Emma knows that if Cooper wants to win, he needs to keep his nose clean. The only problem? She might just be falling in love with the one person she promised never to pursue: the mayoral candidate himself.