The Rosewater redemption

Tade Thompson

Book - 2019

The Rosewater Redemption concludes the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices. Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isn't everything its citizens were expecting. The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isn't willing to let Rosewater go without a fight. And the city's alien inhabitants are threatening mass murder for their own s...inister ends... Operating across spacetime, the xenosphere, and international borders, it is up to a small group of hackers and criminals to prevent the extra-terrestrial advance. The fugitive known as Bicycle Girl, Kaaro, and his former handler Femi may be humanity's last line of defense.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson Tade
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson Tade Checked In
Series
Thompson, Tade. Wormwood trilogy ; bk. 3.
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Published
New York, NY : Orbit 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
405 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780316449090
0316449091
Main Author
Tade Thompson (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

In Thompson's captivating conclusion to the Wormwood trilogy (beginning with Rosewater, 2017), the city of Rosewater is ground zero for humanity's battle against alien invasion. The Rosewater government has sanctioned the invading Homians to download their consciousnesses into dead human bodies, threatening Earth's human population, while the struggle to keep citizens happy and safe, territorial disputes with Nigeria, and the political maneuverings of president Jack Jacques have continued unabated. Working against Jacques and his allies, Section 45 head Femi Alaagomeji enlists everyone she can find to repel the aliens, including her former agent Kaaro and several other characters familiar from the first two books. Unfortunately, it seems increasingly likely that the only way to defeat the aliens for good is to commit genocide. Thompson explores questions of colonization, identity, and morality through a whirl of viewpoints and increasingly dire predicaments in both physical and mental space. This is a satisfying series conclusion that gives flawed and memorable characters an expertly crafted setting in which to make a final stand. For sf, action, and general speculative fiction fans. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

The future of humankind hangs in the balance. Rosewater has declared itself independent of Nigeria, and the alien Homians continue to migrate into the recently dead, with aims to take over the planet. Some Homians have decided the best way to do this is just to kill everyone. Meanwhile, the court system is grappling with how to define the risen dead and their spiritual inhabitants. This leaves others—such as Rosewater mayor Jack Jacques, the psychic Kaaro, acerbic operative Aminat, sensitive handler Femi, and the time-traveling Oyin Da—all scrambling to save their planet and people, before their country steps in and takes back what it once owned. Complex worldbuilding shifts between an alternate Africa and a dreamlike liminal landscape anchored by solid characters, as the point of view, time, and tone swirl through to a dramatic conclusion. VERDICT Thompson's smart series end (after The Rosewater Insurrection) is at once intricate and accessible. Readers will loathe saying goodbye to the vibrant people they meet.—Kristi Chadwick, Massachusetts Lib. Syst., Northampton Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In this mind-bending conclusion to the Rosewater trilogy, following the events of The Rosewater Insurrection, multiple factions wage a complicated war for the future of the Earth. In the alien-influenced city of Rosewater, which recently declared independence from Nigeria, the dead rise, now inhabited by the spirits of the extraterrestrial Homians, whose goal is to replace humankind. As a rogue group of Homians seek to accelerate that process through mass murder, humans such as Rosewater mayor Jack Jacques, time-traveling Oyin Da, psychic Kaaro, and intelligence operative Aminat desperately seek a way to prevent the colonization of Earth. While the courts attempt to define personhood and identity on a legal level, other people look for a more martial, permanent solution. Thompson's tale is dense and mercurial, with the story line leaping among myriad perspectives and tones even as it jumps from the real world to a liminal landscape in which time, space, and memory are mutable. This ambitious wrap-up requires significant sacrifice and upheaval, but it succeeds admirably. Agent: Alexander Cochran, C+W. (Oct.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isn't everything its citizens were expecting. The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isn't willing to let Rosewater go without a fight. And the city's alien inhabitants are threatening mass murder for their own sinister ends... Operating across spacetime, the xenosphere, and international borders, it is up to a small group of hackers and criminals to prevent the extra-terrestrial advance. Thefugitive known as Bicycle Girl, Kaaro, and his former handler Femi may be humanity's last line of defense."--Provided by publisher.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In this conclusion to the award-winning cutting edge trilogy, a small group of hackers and criminals band together to prevent the city’s alien inhabitants, who are threating mass murder, from taking over Wormwood. Original. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

The Rosewater Redemption is the powerful conclusion to the award-winning Wormdwood trilogy, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isn't everything its citizens were expecting.The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isn't willing to let Rosewater go without a fight. And the city's alien inhabitants are threatening mass murder for their own sinister ends...Operating across spacetime, the xenosphere, and international borders, it is up to a small group of hackers and criminals to prevent the extra-terrestrial advance. The fugitive known as Bicycle Girl, Kaaro, and his former handler Femi may be humanity's last line of defense.Innovative and genre-bending, Tade Thompson's ambitious Afrofuturist series is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for The Wormwood Trilogy:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" —Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." —M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." —Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterThe Rosewater InsurrectionThe Rosewater Redemption

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The Rosewater Redemption is the powerful conclusion to the award-winning Wormdwood trilogy, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isn't everything its citizens were expecting.The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isn't willing to let Rosewater go without a fight. And the city's alien inhabitants are threatening mass murder for their own sinister ends...Operating across spacetime, the xenosphere, and international borders, it is up to a small group of hackers and criminals to prevent the extra-terrestrial advance. The fugitive known as Bicycle Girl, Kaaro, and his former handler Femi may be humanity's last line of defense.Innovative and genre-bending, Tade Thompson's ambitious Afrofuturist series is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for The Wormwood Trilogy:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" 'Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." 'm. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." 'Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterThe Rosewater InsurrectionThe Rosewater Redemption