I wanna be where you are

Kristina Forest

Book - 2019

"When Chloe Pierce's mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe's mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe's chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast--two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butter...flies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat. Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon."--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Forest Kristina
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Forest Kristina Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Road fiction
Published
New York : Roaring Brook Press 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
266 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781250294883
1250294886
Main Author
Kristina Forest (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Chloe wants to audition for a ballet program in NYC, but her mom shuts it down. Determined to keep chasing her dream, Chloe concocts a plan to drive to an audition while her mom is away on holiday. But, from the beginning, everything goes wrong: Chloe's cute but obnoxious neighbor blackmails his way (and his dog's) along for the ride, and they get into a car crash before she even makes it to the dance hall. The end result, though, is an epic road trip and an adorable, unexpected romance accompanied by a sick playlist. This entire story, told through Chloe's perspective, is about rule-breaking—but not the bad kind. Instead, it's about doing all of the things that are difficult and brave in order to get what you want. This debut is heartfelt, and it'll hit home for people who are insecure, who feel like their bodies don't match their interests, who struggle to understand the feelings of others. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 7 Up—Dance is the thing that brings joy to Chloe's life. That's why she's determined to audition for Avery Johnson's conservatory, a place where she will be among dancers of all colors and shapes and where she will fit in more than she does now. Her dark skin doesn't match the lighter tones of the girls in her studio. But her mother will not let her audition, so Chloe schemes to drive from her New Jersey home to Washington, DC, to audition while her mother is on vacation. Chloe's neighbor and former crush, Eli, figures out her plan and invites himself and his dog along for the ride. Chloe's history with Eli is full of ups and downs, and this journey follows the same path. But in sorting out her feelings about Eli, Chloe figures out some important truths about herself as well. Chloe and Eli are both interesting and layered characters, and the plot has enough twists and turns to keep even the most prescient readers guessing. Readers can't help but root for Chloe and Eli to overcome their past and move toward a future together. VERDICT A strong debut, recommended for dancers and wallflowers alike.—Kelly Jo Lasher, Middle Township High School, Cape May Court House, NJ Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

After her mother forbids her from applying to the dance conservatory of her dreams, Chloe Pierce devises a plan to get to the audition, but her neighbor Eli insists on traveling with her.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Sneaking out when her mother forbids her from auditioning for the conservatory of her dreams, an African American ballerina whose dedication has pushed her to injure herself is accompanied by her annoying neighbor, who offers her an amazing music playlist and unexpected new perspectives. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"When Chloe Pierce's mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe's mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe's chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast--two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat. Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon."--

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A debut young adult rom-com about an African American ballerina who finds love on the road to an audition."In a world where it's easy to lose faith in love, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut." — Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One OutWhen Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe’s mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe’s chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast—two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, Kristina Forest's I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

A YA rom-com about a ballet dancer willing to go the distance for an audition and the cute, but terrible, boy who blackmails his way into her road trip.