Red, white & royal blue A novel

Casey McQuiston

Book - 2019

After an international incident affects U.S. and British relations, the president's son Alex and Prince Henry must pretend to be best friends, but as they spend time together, the two begin a secret romance that could derail a presidential campaign.

Saved in:
6 people waiting
1 copy ordered

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/McQuiston, Casey
0 / 3 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/McQuiston, Casey Due Jul 7, 2022
1st Floor FICTION/McQuiston, Casey Due Jul 5, 2022
1st Floor FICTION/Mcquisto Casey Due Jun 14, 2022
Published
New York : Wednesday Books 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
432 pages
ISBN
9781250316776
1250316774
Main Author
Casey McQuiston (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* As the First Son, Alex Claremont-Diaz cannot totally avoid his archnemesis, the uptight Prince Henry. When his (booze-fueled) anger nearly causes an international incident at the royal wedding, Alex and Henry are required to participate in a publicity tour to prove to the world that they are besties, which they definitely are not. Henry is way too perfect and handsome, and soon, Alex realizes he doesn't actually hate Henry, and the feeling is mutual. McQuiston's debut is for readers who love romantic comedies and Pod Save America: Alex is a history nerd and policy wonk, and his and Henry's emails are full of equal parts dirty talk and literary quotes. There is a villain (and, yes, he is a Republican), but he is barely given page time in favor of Alex's relationships with his tight inner circle, with his own political aspirations, and his intense affair with Henry. In between sweet and steamy love scenes, Red, White & Royal Blue allows readers to imagine a world where coming out involves no self-loathing; where fan fiction and activist Twitter do actual good; and a diverse, liberal White House wins elections. This Blue Wave fantasy could be the feel-good book of the summer. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

DEBUT Alex Claremont-Diaz, son of U.S. President Ellen Claremont, doesn't consider Prince Henry of Wales his arch-nemesis, not exactly. It's just that Henry is a generic blank canvas with zero personality and a truly unfair resemblance to a real-life Prince Charming, and Alex can't help despising every bland thing about him. After the two have a very public confrontation at a royal wedding, damage control is required from both sides of the pond. In order to maintain friendly international relations, Alex is forced to pretend to be longtime best friends with Henry. When the two actually spend time together, however, they learn that there is much more to the other than they'd realized. As a contentious reelection campaign for Ellen looms on the horizon, Alex and Henry tentatively forge a genuine friendship, which grows into more, until reaching an inevitable boiling point. VERDICT With a diverse cast of characters, quick-witted dialog, and a complicated relationship between two young people with the eyes of the world watching their every move, McQuiston's debut is an irresistible, hopeful, and sexy romantic comedy that considers real questions about personal and public responsibility. For fans of Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan's The Royal We, as well as Alyssa Cole's "Reluctant Royals" series.—Jessica Moore, Milwaukee P.L. Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

McQuiston's outstanding debut pivots on an inspired rom-com premise: What if Alex Claremont-Diaz, the half-Mexican son of the first female president of the United States, fell in love with Prince Henry, England's heir? The two heartthrobs are arch-nemeses at first. After a scandalous mishap at a wedding, however, they are required to pretend to be best friends lest their enmity spark an international incident. Not surprisingly, their hate turns into a bromance. When Henry kisses Alex, the First Son goes into a mild gay panic, but their snide texts soon become gushy emails ending with romantic quotes. The scions also contrive ways of being together at Wimbledon, in Texas, and at a West Hollywood karaoke bar to steal kisses or have secretive sex. Of course, their romance will eventually be discovered and leaked to the press during the president's heated reelection campaign. The impossible relationship between Alex and Henry is portrayed with quick wit and clever plotting. The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (June) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

After an international incident affects U.S. and British relations, the president's son Alex and Prince Henry must pretend to be best friends, but as they spend time together, the two begin a secret romance that could derail a presidential campaign.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

* Instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestseller ** GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER for BEST DEBUT and BEST ROMANCE of 2019 ** BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR* for VOGUE, NPR, VANITY FAIR, and more! *What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?When his mother became President, Alex Claremont-Diaz was promptly cast as the American equivalent of a young royal. Handsome, charismatic, genius—his image is pure millennial-marketing gold for the White House. There's only one problem: Alex has a beef with the actual prince, Henry, across the pond. And when the tabloids get hold of a photo involving an Alex-Henry altercation, U.S./British relations take a turn for the worse. Heads of family, state, and other handlers devise a plan for damage control: staging a truce between the two rivals. What at first begins as a fake, Instragramable friendship grows deeper, and more dangerous, than either Alex or Henry could have imagined. Soon Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret romance with a surprisingly unstuffy Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations and begs the question: Can love save the world after all? Where do we find the courage, and the power, to be the people we are meant to be? And how can we learn to let our true colors shine through? Casey McQuiston's Red, White & Royal Blue proves: true love isn't always diplomatic. "I took this with me wherever I went and stole every second I had to read! Absorbing, hilarious, tender, sexy—this book had everything I crave. I’m jealous of all the readers out there who still get to experience Red, White & Royal Blue for the first time!" - Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners"Red, White & Royal Blue is outrageously fun. It is romantic, sexy, witty, and thrilling. I loved every second." - Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A big-hearted romantic comedy in which the First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends