Dress like a girl

Patricia Toht, 1960-

Book - 2019

Explores the concept of dressing "like a girl," in which girls dress in space suits, police officer uniforms, and laboratory coats to prove that girls can be anything they want to be.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Toht
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/Toht Checked In
Children's Room jE/Toht Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Stories in rhyme
Picture books
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2019]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 cm
ISBN
9780062798923
0062798928
Main Author
Patricia Toht, 1960- (author)
Other Authors
Lorian Tu-Dean (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

What does it mean to "dress like a girl?" The six youngsters in this title show that there are no restrictions when it comes to answering that question. When five girls with a variety of skin tones, hair colors, and hair textures arrive at their friend's home for a sleepover, they are in for a fun day of playing dress up. The girls search through a box of clothing, ultimately playacting a variety of activities and even trying on potential careers. Ensembles include astronaut, chef, doctor, firefighter, police officer, arctic explorer, and artist. Digital illustrations using watercolor, ink, gouache, and colored pencil reveal subdued backgrounds, putting the emphasis on the children and their clothing. On one double-page spread, the rhyming couplet proclaims: "It's game day! / So sport your team colors with pride. / Wear jerseys and helmets; / play hard for your side." Each girl, in appropriate gear, represents a different sport. The girls-can-do-anything theme rings loud and clear and is presented with energy in an entertaining format. Preschool-Grade 2. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Toht pokes fun at fashion "rules" as a diverse group of friends dress for a variety of special occasions. When "bright, vivid hues" are in order, the girls don firefighter and police uniforms, and when a day at the beach (or bath time) calls for "sleek swimwear," they wear snorkel gear. On "game day," they don uniforms to play sports (among them hockey, soccer, basketball, and football), and in a tool shop, they wear hard hats and take measurements. Tu-Dean captures the joy of dressing up, friendship, and discovery in her mixed-media art. Fashion is limitless and fun, Toht suggests—but it's not so much the clothes that matter as the individual underneath. Ages 4–8. (Jan.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Explores the concept of dressing "like a girl," in which girls dress in space suits, police officer uniforms, and laboratory coats to prove that girls can be anything they want to be.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!What does it mean to dress like a girl? Many will tell you in this big, wide world that there are strict rules that must be addressed,rules you will need when looking your best.But when you are given these rules to obey, the secret is heeding them'in your own way.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!What does it mean to dress like a girl? Many will tell you in this big, wide world that there are strict rules that must be addressed,rules you will need when looking your best.But when you are given these rules to obey, the secret is heeding them—in your own way.