The Rosewater insurrection

Tade Thompson

Book - 2019

All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret. The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson Tade
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson Tade Checked In
Series
Thompson, Tade. Wormwood trilogy ; bk. 2.
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Alternative histories (Fiction)
Published
New York, NY : Orbit 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
Sequel to: Rosewater.
Sequel: The Rosewater redemption.
Physical Description
406 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780316449083
0316449083
Main Author
Tade Thompson (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

When faced with multiple threats to Wormwood, an alien that ultimately intends to replace humanity but also brings healing, electricity, protection, and significance to the Nigerian city of Rosewater, what course of action should the city's beleaguered leadership pursue? Alyssa wakes up one morning unable to remember anything about her life. She is at the front lines of a subtle alien invasion: the majority of her DNA has been replaced with alien matter, and she is being sought by Wormwood, the Nigerian government's Section 45, Rosewater's mayor Jack Jacques, and the mysterious plant that seems to be sprouting everywhere in the city. S45 operative Aminat is charged with finding and retrieving Alyssa in an increasingly chaotic environment. Under attack by the Nigerian government as well as the alien foliage, Wormwood's dome is failing, putting Rosewater's human and alien life at risk. The many narrative threads in this fast-paced future-noir novel will best be understood by readers of Rosewater (2018), but Thompson ably sheds light on the alien agenda while keeping individual personal struggles front and center. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In the second installment of this mind-bending futuristic trilogy (following 2017's Rosewater), the subtle alien invasion of Earth continues as the entity known as Wormwood expands its influence over the Nigerian city of Rosewater. The city's mayor, Jack Jacques, wrestles with affairs of state as his declaration of independence meets with external resistance. Housewife Alyssa Sutcliffe awakens to memory gaps and doubts about her own identity. Government assassins and psychics engage in a secret conflict while representatives of the xenoform Homians proceed with their long-term plan to replace humanity through microorganic assimilation. Ultimately, open warfare breaks out, forcing those involved to seek a radical solution that will affect everyone living in Rosewater—humans and aliens alike. As with the first entry in this series, Thompson lays out the narrative in a non-linear fashion through multiple perspectives, resulting in a story that feels alternately epic and almost claustrophobically intimate. The slow pacing and numerous moving parts make this ambitious tale somewhat dense and difficult at first, but the exciting second half and intriguing ending set the stage for what promises to be a fascinating conclusion. (Mar.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Amidst a secret invasion, government agent Aminat must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race but her mission is endangered by the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The city of Rosewood expands on the back of the alien Wormwood, but everyone who knows about the invasion keeps it a secret, and Aminat must capture a woman who is key to the survival of the human race.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret. The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning science fiction trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret.The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood.Innovative and genre-bending, Tade Thompson's ambitious Afrofuturist series is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for The Wormwood Trilogy:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" —Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." —M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." —Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterThe Rosewater InsurrectionThe Rosewater Redemption 

Review by Publisher Summary 5

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning science fiction trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret.The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood.Innovative and genre-bending, Tade Thompson's ambitious Afrofuturist series is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for The Wormwood Trilogy:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" 'Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." 'm. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." 'Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterThe Rosewater InsurrectionThe Rosewater Redemption