The tiger at midnight

Swati Teerdhala

Book - 2019

"Esha lost everything in the royal coup--and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she's made the guilty pay. Now she's been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha. Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path-even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile. When Esha and Kunal's paths cross one fated ni...ght, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they're calling the shots, but they're not the only players moving the pieces. As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they've killed to hold on to or with the love that's made them dream of something more."--Amazon.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Teerdhal Swati
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Teerdhal Swati Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Action and adventure fiction
Mythological fiction
Fantasy fiction
Novels
Published
New York : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2019]
Edition
First Edition
Language
English
Physical Description
484 pages : map ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062869210
0062869213
Main Author
Swati Teerdhala (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

A devoted soldier of Jansa, Kunal swears by duty and control. Esha, a wily vigilante known as the Viper, is a member of a Dharkan rebel group whose goal is to take down the usurper king of Jansa—starting with Kunal's uncle, the brutal General Hotha. On opposite sides of a strained relationship between warring countries, Kunal and Esha are well aware of whom their enemies are, until the events of one dire night throw them together. Kunal is set on the Viper's trail, and the two are locked in a game of pursuit across a land weakened by the shattering of an old bond. Teerdhala's debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they're willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series. Grades 8-11. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

A young warrior chases an assassin through jungles, towns, and wastelands in this vibrantly imagined South Indian–inspired trilogy opener by debut author Teerdhala. Esha, 17, the mythical Viper of Dharka, is sent to kill Gen. Setu Hotha of the kingdom of Jansa, while his nephew Kunal, 18, is one of four soldiers tasked with finding the mysterious Viper. The general is eliminated before Esha can strike—by someone who seeks to frame her—and she flees the Red Fort hoping to discover who seeks to blame her and why. Although Kunal catches Esha on several occasions, she continues to outsmart the softhearted soldier, and they gradually reveal close-held secrets and dreams to each other as their grudging respect for one another grows into something more. Everything is set against the backdrop of an ongoing drought in Jansa caused by the withdrawal of the gods' favor following the violent coup and usurpation of the Queen of Jansa 10 years ago. Alongside context-building descriptions of Indian food and dress, Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy. Ages 13–up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency. (Apr.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Caught between rival kingdoms, an assassin and a soldier discover that they have a shared background of secrets and old magic. An abrupt coup means a change of leadership in the kingdom of Jansa and the breaking of the bonds that tie the monarch to the land, but for Esha, the coup is more personal—because of it, she loses her parents and her home. Adopted into the rival kingdom of Dharka, she trains in stealth and subterfuge, becoming known as the Viper, working with the rebels to topple the pretender king in Jansa. After the assassination of the king's general, Esha is on the run with a price on her head. Meanwhile, Kunal, the general's nephew and a soldier for Jansa, is on her trail. When their paths cross, they become drawn to each other. Caught up in games of intrigue larger than themselves, Esha and Kunal must decide whether they can trust each other or whether they truly are on opposite sides of the coming confrontation. Set in a fantastical South Asia, this combination of romance, action, and magic will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh. VERDICT A strong choice for YA fantasy shelves.—Zoë McLaughlin, Michigan State University Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Esha, a legendary rebel who has been given the mission to assassinate the ruthless General Hotha, crosses paths with the general's freedom-seeking nephew, Kunal, initiating an impossible chain of events.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Esha lost everything in the royal coup--and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she's made the guilty pay. Now she's been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha. Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path-even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile. When Esha and Kunal's paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they're calling the shots, but they're not the only players moving the pieces. As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they've killed to hold on to or with the love that's made them dream of something more."--Amazon.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A first entry in a planned trilogy inspired by South Indian culture follows the efforts of a legendary girl rebel to assassinate a ruthless general in the face of her growing love for her target's loyal but freedom-seeking nephew. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The first book in an epic heart-pounding fantasy trilogy inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh. * A Book Riot Most Anticipated Novel of 2019 * B&N Top 50 Most Anticipated Novels *A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.Esha lost everything in the royal coup—and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she’s made the guilty pay. Now she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha. Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path—even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile. When Esha and Kunal’s paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces.As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they’ve killed to hold on to or with the love that’s made them dream of something more.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

The first book in an epic heart-pounding fantasy trilogy inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh. * A Book Riot Most Anticipated Novel of 2019 * B&N Top 50 Most Anticipated Novels *A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.Esha lost everything in the royal coup'and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she's made the guilty pay. Now she's been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha. Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path'even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile. When Esha and Kunal's paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they're calling the shots, but they're not the only players moving the pieces.As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they've killed to hold on to or with the love that's made them dream of something more.