Never evers

Tom Ellen

Book - 2018

"Mayhem and romance ensue when tweens Mouse and Jack meet on the slopes during a school ski trip"--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Ellen Tom
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Ellen Tom Checked In
Children's Room jFICTION/Ellen Tom Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Humorous fiction
Published
New York : Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's [2018]
Edition
First American edition
Language
English
Item Description
"Originally published in paperback by Chicken House, London, in 2016."
Physical Description
294 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781524701826
1524701823
9781524701840
152470184X
Main Author
Tom Ellen (author)
Other Authors
Lucy Ivison (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Thirteen-year-old Brits Jack and his friends Max and Toddy have never kissed a girl, but they expect their school snowboard trip to France will change that. Londoner Mouse is on a school ski trip, but she's consumed with hiding the fact she couldn't cut it at ballet school, particularly from her former best friend, Lauren, who is now her nemesis. In this first middle-grade outing from a YA-penning duo (Freshman?, 2018), Ellen writes Jack's chapters, and Ivison Mouse's, with the result being nothing short of adorbs. There are mix-ups, mean girls, and a Prince and the Pauper–style switch-up featuring a French rock star that adds a glam luster to the fun. Jack and Mouse's sidekicks add dimension—especially Mr. Bravado, Max, and ridiculously nice Connie, who has smuggled her hamster, Mr. Jambon, into France. Perhaps it's because the distinct voices have their own energies, but the entwined stories are brilliantly paced, as well as both being riotously funny. This isn't, however, just about barely teen angst or romance; under, around, and through the laughs, there are questions (and answers!) about friendship, image, and forgiveness, for others and for oneself. Grades 6-8. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 4–8—Mouse has just been kicked out of ballet school and sent back to her old school partway through the year. Jack is the talk of his school for his band's performance at the talent show—or rather, lack thereof. Stage fright got the better of him and now he and Mouse are both suffering from low self-confidence. Neither of them realize this about the other when each of their schools organizes a ski trip to the same resort and they meet. Beyond trying to fit in, it seems like everyone in the seventh grade is trying to get their first kiss amid catty drama, fear of rejection, trying not to fall off a mountain, and accidentally becoming friends with the hottest pop singer. This is a light middle grade tale that perfectly captures the struggle to be brave in face of crushed dreams and dreamy crushes. It is a quick read detailing a week-long adventure with alternating viewpoints. VERDICT A worthy addition for middle grade and middle school collections.—Sarah Voels, Cedar Rapids Public Library, IA Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Mayhem and romance ensue when tweens Mouse and Jack meet on the slopes during a school ski trip"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Thirteen-year-old Mouse is having more fun than she expected on her new school's ski trip, especially when she meets Jack, but when mega-pop star Roland arrives on the scene, things get complicated.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

While 13-year-old Mouse contemplates a friendless class trip after getting kicked out of ballet school, Jack hits the slopes and wonders if he will give his first kiss to Mouse, a prospect that is overshadowed by a pop-star rival. By the authors of A Totally Awkward Love Story. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

For fans of Jacky Ha-Ha and Disney Channel's Girl Meets World, this hilarious, tween-friendly story about a middle school ski trip is full of friendship, crushes, and the mishaps and misunderstandings that are bound to occur in seventh grade!An Amazon Best Book of December 2018!Thirteen-year-old Mouse is pretty sure her life is totally over. Now that she's been kicked out of ballet school, she has to go on her new school's ski trip basically knowing no one. Well, except too-cool-for-school Keira and Crazy Connie-May (and her adorable hamster, Mr. Jambon).Meanwhile, Jack's life is just about to begin. He's on the way to the slopes with his school too, and all he can think about is how to successfully get his first kiss.But with new friends by her side, Mouse has more fun skiing and building igloos than she expected. And when Jack catches Mouse's eye in the at the ski resort, he's smitten. All's well--that is, until mega pop star Roland arrives on the scene and sets his sights on Mouse, too! A week in the snow is about to get complicated. . . ."The entwined stories are brilliantly paced...[and] riotously funny...under, around, and through the laughs, there are questions (and answers!) about friendship, image, and forgiveness, for others and for oneself." --Booklist (starred review)"Filled with awkward misunderstandings, mistaken identities, and missed opportunities...this is adolescent drama at its best." --Kirkus Reviews