The second story

Neil Patrick Harris, 1973-

Book - 2018

Growing up in an orphanage, Leila was bullied for being different. She turned her hardship into skill by becoming an escape artist--a valuable trait when belonging to a group of magical best friends. But when a famous psychic comes to town, Leila and her pals won't be able to escape the big mystery heading their way. Whether chasing mad monkeys or banishing ghosts from haunted hotels, these six friends will do their best to keep Mineral Wells safe--but can they still protect themselves in t...he process?Join the Magic Misfits as they discover adventure, friendship, and more than a few hidden secrets in this delightful new series. Whether you're a long-time expert at illusion or simply a new fan of stage magic, hold onto your top hat!--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Harris Neil
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Harris Neil Checked In
Children's Room jFICTION/Harris Neil Checked In
Series
Harris, Neil Patrick, 1973- Magic Misfits ; bk. 2.
Subjects
Genres
Humorous fiction
Published
New York ; Boston : Little, Brown and Company [2018]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
xii, 312 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780316391856
0316391859
Main Author
Neil Patrick Harris, 1973- (author)
Other Authors
Alec Azam (author), Lissy Marlin (illustrator), Kyle Hilton
Review by Booklist Reviews

The Magic Misfits grace the stage and page for a second time in this continuation of Harris' playful middle-grade series. After putting a stop to thieving carnival owner Bosso in their first adventure, the six kids have a new mystery to solve in Mineral Wells. The Vernons' daughter (and escape-artist-in-training) Leila takes the lead in this installment, as a mischievous monkey and traveling psychic Madame Esmeralda stir up trouble and possibly a few ghosts in town. Still, Leila can't help but admire the spirited clairvoyant. While the Misfits scrutinize curious events and follow clues left by Mr. Vernon's own childhood magic club, Leila struggles to keep a heavy secret. Harris and Azam dole out humor, suspense, and sensitivity in equal measure, once again breaking up the narrative with magic-trick tutorials (don't tell!) and illustrations. More than one mystery comes to light by the story's end, but the magical power of teamwork and family ensures that the Vernons and Misfits are strong enough to face any challenge that arises. This show is just getting started. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: It's no trick: the first book in this series was a best-seller, and a big publisher push reveals this is expected to be every bit as popular. Grades 3-5. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Actor Harris brings his passion for stage magic to his delightful middle-grade debut. Carter has lived a hardscrabble life with his uncle, an unkind man who teaches him to use slight-of-hand tricks to steal. An unwilling accomplice to these thefts, Carter runs away to Mineral Wells, where he meets jovial Mr. Vernon and five kids with a talent for magic. After spending an evening at B. B. Bosso's Carnival, the five "Magic Misfits" realize that Bosso is planning a major theft, and Carter devises a plan to bring Bosso's criminal operation down. Magic is a key ingredient to this book's success, both as an art form and component of belonging. Carter sees his jaded attitude transformed through his friendship with the Magic Misfits, a wonderfully diverse group of talented oddballs. Harris employs a conversational narrator that periodically breaks from the story to address the reader, often instructing them in how to perform a magic trick. The approachable length and lively, funny writing will ensure this book, the first in a series, performs its own vanishing act from shelves. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Kids are sure to be dazzled by the publisher's six-figure marketing and publicity campaign, not to mention NPH's recent stint in The Series of Unfortunate Events Netflix series. Take heed. Grades 3-5. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Carter, a young street magician, "stopped trusting in wonderful, happy, fantastic things" after his parents vanished and he was taken in by his "uncle," Sly Mike, who hustles passersby. After years of being forced to help Sly Mike con people, Carter runs away, hops a train, and winds up in the town of Mineral Wells. There, he discovers a "two-bit sideshow" run by B.B. Bosso and meets Dante Vernon, a kind illusionist, and five talented children: Theo, skilled in levitation; escape artist Leila; twin entertainers Olly and Izzy; and Ridley, the brains of the operation. Quickly becoming friends, the children band together to stop Bosso from stealing from the unsuspecting town. A handful of magic lessons are interspersed throughout, and the narrator's irreverent tone and direct addresses to readers make this a good choice for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch. With an emphasis on friendship and individuality, this fast-paced and clever series opener should have readers eager to check out future installments. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 8–12. Author's agent: Laura Nolan, Aevitas Creative Management. Illustrator's agency: Astound. (Nov.) Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 4–6—Carter was quite young when he lost his parents and was taken in by his uncle of sorts, Sly Mike. Sly Mike doesn't hold down a real job; he cons people out of their money and belongings through sleight of hand and trickery. Carter has never had friends, gone to school, or felt safe. The only upside to his unusual lifestyle is his mastery of magic tricks he's learned from Sly Mike—but he refuses to use them to hurt or rob others. When Sly Mike steals a precious diamond necklace from kind Ms. Zalewski, Carter decides that his uncle has gone too far. The boy steals the necklace back, returns it to the rightful owner, and runs away. Carter jumps on a railcar, ending up in a small New England town where he is captured by a carnival owner, B.B. Bosso, and pressured to join his sticky-fingered carnival sidekicks. Carter quickly understands that the glitter of their magic conceals their greed and trickery. He escapes and at last meets his true friends—Leila, Theo, Ridley, Olly, and Izzy. Each friend possesses skills in different areas of magic. The friends bond over a hatred of the evil carnies and after some missteps manage to outsmart B.B. Bosso. The themes of friendship, ethical choices, and bravery are woven seamlessly throughout. Readers will sympathize with Carter and cheer when he finally finds his place. The plot is fast-paced, and characters are multifaceted. Fun magic tricks are peppered throughout. VERDICT A rollicking ride of a magical tale that's wholesomely suspenseful, values friendship, and applauds courage. A fine addition to medium and large collections.—Julie Shatterly, W. A. Bess Elementary School, Gastonia, NC Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

The second book in the magical New York Times best-selling series by the award-winning actor finds Leila and her pals faced with a new mystery that’s heading their way, and the six friends must do all they can to keep Mineral Wells safe as well as protect themselves in the process. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Leila and the other Magic Misfits have the opportunity to perform with a famous stage psychic known as Madame Esmeralda, who may hold secrets to Leila's past.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris comes the magical second book in the New York Times bestselling Magic Misfits series--with even more tricks up its sleeve. Growing up in an orphanage, Leila was bullied for being different. She turned her hardship into skill by becoming an escape artist--a valuable trait when you belong to a group of magical best friends. But when a famous psychic comes to town, Leila and her pals can't escape the big mystery heading their way. Whether chasing mad monkeys or banishing ghosts from haunted hotels, these six friends will do their best to keep their home of Mineral Wells safe--but can they protect themselves? Join the Magic Misfits as they discover adventure, friendship, and more than a few hidden secrets in this delightful new series. Whether you're a long-time expert at illusion or simply a new fan of stage magic, hold onto your top hat! ...have more questions? I thought you might. Here are some answers: WHERE? A sleepy town in New England. Within the town is a magic shop, run by the friendly but mysterious Dante Vernon--the gang's caped and top-hatted mentor. WHO? Carter, who can make things vanish. Leila, who can escape from anything. Theo, who can make things levitate. Ridley, who can invent anything. And twins Olly and Izzy, who can make anyone laugh. WHY? Because together, these six magical misfits will discover adventure, friendship, and the town's long-hidden secrets.(Psst. Hey, you! Yes, YOU! Congratulations on reading this far down. As a reward, I'll let you in on a little secret... This book isn't just a book. It's a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you'll discover more than just a story--you'll learn how to make your own magic!)