Little comfort

Edwin Hill

Book - 2018

In a brilliantly twisted debut set among Boston's elite, Edwin Hill introduces unforgettable sleuth Hester Thursby--and a missing persons case that uncovers a trail of vicious murder . . . Harvard librarian Hester Thursby knows that even in the digital age, people still need help finding things. Using her research skills, Hester runs a side business tracking down the lost. Usually, she's hired to find long-ago prom dates or to reunite adopted children and birth parents. Her new case is... finding the handsome and charismatic Sam Blaine. Sam has no desire to be found. As a teenager, he fled his small New Hampshire town with his friend, Gabe, after a haunting incident. For a dozen years, Sam and Gabe have traveled the country, reinventing themselves as they move from one mark to another. Sam has learned how trusting wealthy people can be--especially the lonely ones--as he expertly manipulates his way into their lives and homes. In Wendy Richards, the beautiful, fabulously rich daughter of one of Boston's most influential families, he's found the perfect way to infiltrate the milieu in which he knows he belongs--a world of Brooks Brothers suits, Nantucket summers, and effortless glamour. As Hester's investigation closes in on their brutal truth, the bond between Sam and Gabe is tested and Hester unknowingly jeopardizes her own safety. While Gabe has pinned all his desperate hopes of a normal life on Hester, Sam wants her out of the way for good. And Gabe has always done what Sam asks . . .

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Hill Edwin
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Hill Edwin Checked In
Series
Hill, Edwin (Novelist). Hester Thursby mystery.
Subjects
Genres
Novels
Detective and mystery fiction
Mystery fiction
Published
New York, NY : Kensington Pub Corporation 2018.
Edition
First Kensington hardcover edition
Language
English
Physical Description
viii, 343 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781496715906
149671590X
Main Author
Edwin Hill (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Harvard librarian Hester Thursby and her boyfriend, Morgan, are left scrambling when Morgan's sister skips town and leaves her toddler, Kate, behind. Hester takes leave from work to care for Kate, but when her side gig—finding lost people—beckons, she doesn't even consider turning away. Twelve years ago, Lila Blaine's 14-year-old brother, Sam, ran away with his best friend, Gabe DiPursio. Now, Lila wants to sell the family's rural New Hampshire home and needs Hester to find Sam and let him know. With young Kate and her dog, Waffles, in tow, Hester easily tracks Sam and Gabe down in Boston, where Sam has taken the identity of a deceased man, Aaron Gewirtzman, and is dating Wendy Richards, a high-profile Boston heiress. Technically, the case is closed, but Hester's meeting with Gabe's social worker and foster mother raises unsettling flags, and she becomes driven to discover what prompted the teens' flight. Before Hester can gather solid answers, a socialite friend of Wendy's disappears, and Sam and Gabe's latest identities begin to unravel. Hester Thursby is a tough, cerebral, relatably flawed sleuth who lulls herself to sleep with horror films and takes on serial killers and unexpected motherhood without skipping a beat. A dark but compassionate psychological-thriller debut with great appeal for fans of Ruth Ware and Cornelia Read. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Harvard librarian Hester Thursby, the heroine of Hill's well-crafted, extremely promising debut and series launch, runs a side business locating lost people. She's hired by Lila Blaine to find her brother, Sam, who ran away from their home in New Hampshire 12 years earlier, when he was 14, with his friend Gabe DiPursio. Lila says she wants to sell a piece of lakefront property called Little Comfort and split the proceeds with Sam. Hester soon discovers that Sam is now living in Boston under an alias and has insinuated himself into the life of wealthy socialite Wendy Richards, while Gabe is supporting them both as a freelance programmer. When someone at a party recognizes Sam, Sam decides it's time to tie up loose ends and move on. Meanwhile, Hester has befriended lonely Gabe, who has built a homey domestic fantasy around her, but Sam views Hester as an obstacle and expects Gabe to help get her out of the way. An increasingly tense plot and striking characters—in particular, compassionate, conflicted, loving Hester—make this a standout. Agent: Robert Guinsler, Sterling Lord Literistic. (Sept.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"In a brilliantly twisted debut set among Boston's elite, Edwin Hill introduces unforgettable sleuth Hester Thursby--and a missing persons case that uncovers a trail of vicious murder ... Harvard librarian Hester Thursby knows that even in the digital age, people still need help finding things. Using her research skills, Hester runs a side business tracking down the lost. Usually, she's hired to find long-ago prom dates or to reunite adopted children and birth parents. Her new case is finding the handsome and charismatic Sam Blaine. Sam has no desire to be found. As a teenager, he fled his small New Hampshire town with his friend, Gabe, after a haunting incident. For a dozen years, Sam and Gabe have traveled the country, reinventing themselves as they move from one mark to another. Sam has learned how trusting wealthy people can be--especially the lonely ones--as he expertly manipulates his way into their lives and homes. In Wendy Richards, the beautiful, fabulously rich daughter of one of Boston's most influential families, he's found the perfect way to infiltrate the milieu in which he knows he belongs--a world of Brooks Brothers suits, Nantucket summers, and effortless glamour. As Hester's investigation closes in on their brutal truth, the bond between Sam and Gabe is tested and Hester unknowingly jeopardizes her own safety. While Gabe has pinned all his desperate hopes of a normal life on Hester, Sam wants her out of the way for good. And Gabe has always done what Sam asks . . ."--Front jacket flap.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Harvard librarian Hester Thursby must track down charismatic—and deadly—con man Sam Blaine before he bilks another widow out of her life savings. A first novel.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Harvard librarian Hester Thursby must track down charismatic--and deadly--con man Sam Blaine before he bilks another widow out of her life savings.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

In a brilliantly twisted debut set among Boston’s elite, Edwin Hill introduces unforgettable sleuth Hester Thursby—and a missing persons case that uncovers a trail of vicious murder . . . Harvard librarian Hester Thursby knows that even in the digital age, people still need help finding things. Using her research skills, Hester runs a side business tracking down the lost. Usually, she’s hired to find long-ago prom dates or to reunite adopted children and birth parents. Her new case is finding the handsome and charismatic Sam Blaine. Sam has no desire to be found. As a teenager, he fled his small New Hampshire town with his friend, Gabe, after a haunting incident. For a dozen years, Sam and Gabe have traveled the country, reinventing themselves as they move from one mark to another. Sam has learned how trusting wealthy people can be—especially the lonely ones—as he expertly manipulates his way into their lives and homes.  In Wendy Richards, the beautiful, fabulously rich daughter of one of Boston’s most influential families, he’s found the perfect way to infiltrate the milieu in which he knows he belongs—a world of Brooks Brothers suits, Nantucket summers, and effortless glamour. As Hester’s investigation closes in on their brutal truth, the bond between Sam and Gabe is tested and Hester unknowingly jeopardizes her own safety. While Gabe has pinned all his desperate hopes of a normal life on Hester, Sam wants her out of the way for good. And Gabe has always done what Sam asks . . .