Rosewater

Tade Thompson

Book - 2018

"Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry, and the helpless--people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. A sensitive, he can navigate the massive psychic space created by the dome. But when something within the dome begins killing other sensitives, Kaaro must defy his masters to avert a horrifying futur...e."--Back cover.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson, Tade
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson, Tade Due Sep 1, 2022
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Thompson Tade Checked In
Series
Thompson, Tade. Wormwood trilogy ; bk. 1.
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Orbit, an imprint of Hachette Book Group 2018.
Edition
First paperback edition
Language
English
Item Description
"Originally published in 2016 by Apex Publications, LLC, in the United States in trade paperback"--Title page verso.
Physical Description
423 pages ; 21 cm
Awards
Winner of the NOMMO Award for best novel.
ISBN
9780316449052
0316449059
Main Author
Tade Thompson (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

In 2012, an extraterrestrial life form lands in London, escaping underground after releasing alien flora and fauna into Earth's biosphere. Ever since, humans called "sensitives" have been able to tap into the xenosphere, an invisible network of floating alien microorganisms, to use psychic powers. In the Nigerian city of Rosewater in 2066, the resurfaced alien opens its biodome each year and heals everyone within its range, with mixed results: physical and mental illnesses are cured, but corpses are also reanimated. Kaaro is a thief-turned-unwilling-operative of Section 45, the government agency that uses him for his power to read minds and find people. Nonlinear flashbacks reveal Kaaro's personal history as well as that of Rosewater, the city that grew up around the alien dome. Meanwhile, present-day Kaaro deals with a new romantic relationship and several run-ins with criminals as he tries to discover what is responsible for killing off other sensitives. In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson's opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human. For more Afrofuturism titles, see the Core Collection on page 52. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

A mysterious, alien object appears outside of Lagos, Nigeria: a dome that periodically opens to heal those with afflictions and create "sensitives," who have powers of the mind, including telepathy and mind control, along with access to the xenosphere, a shared dream world. A shantytown built around the dome eventually forms into Rosewater. Now in 2066, Kaaro, a sensitive who works as a bank's "mental IT" and for Section 45, a group of governmental agents who use their powers against criminals, lives in Rosewater. A strange illness is killing sensitives, and somewhere in Kaaro's past may be the key to what is happening. The time line alternates between Kaaro's past as a child thief and his current life, with the beautiful landscape of futuristic Nigeria as much a character as the nebulous xenosphere. VERDICT Thompson's (The Murders of Molly Southbourne) intriguing Afrofuturistic tale features an incredible mashup of alien contact and human-centered power, delivering a stark and gritty story that will keep readers engaged.—Kristi Chadwick, Massachusetts Lib. Syst., Northampton Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry, and the helpless--people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers. Kaaro isa government agent with a criminal past. A sensitive, he can navigate the massive psychic space created by the dome. But when something within the dome begins killing other sensitives, Kaaro must defy his masters to avert a horrifying future."--Back cover.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Rosewater is the start of an award-winning trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.*Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, winner*Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel, winnerRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry, and the helpless -- people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers.Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again -- but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for Rosewater:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" —Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." —M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." —Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterRosewater InsurrectionRosewater Redemption

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Rosewater is the start of an award-winning trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.*Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, winner*Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel, winnerRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry, and the helpless -- people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers.Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again -- but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.Praise for Rosewater:"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!" 'Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice "Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one." 'm. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts "A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas." 'Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterRosewater InsurrectionRosewater Redemption