Sons of Blackbird Mountain A novel

Joanne Bischof

Book - 2018

"Thor Norgaard hasn't spoken to anyone in his twenty-eight years, but when the young widow he loves crosses an ocean to live on his Appalachian farm, this reclusive alcoholic will brave much more than words to heal her heart.-- When Aven Norgaard leaves Norway to serve as housekeeper to her late husband's cousins in Appalachia, she expects lads in need of care, not three grown men--each in need of a wife and bound by a powerful brotherhood. As the men carve out a living by brewing... artisan liquor, young Haakon's pursuit tempts Aven's lonely spirit. but it is his deaf brother, Thor, whose silent strength shows her the depths of real love. Unable to speak to any woman, Thor Norgaard never anticipates Aven will befriend him, let alone treat him as her safe harbor. Though hard cider is their livelihood and his greatest talent, he fights his way to sobriety with Haakon's help, defying the bottle for Aven's hand--only to face a battle of the heart that tests even the strongest bonds of brotherhood"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Bischof Joanne
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Bischof Joanne Checked In
Series
A Blackbird Mountain novel ; 1
Subjects
Genres
Christian fiction
Love stories
Religious fiction
Romance fiction
Published
Nashville, Tennesee : Thomas Nelson [2018]
Language
English
Physical Description
341 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780718099107
0718099109
Main Author
Joanne Bischof (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

After a lengthy correspondence with her late husband's aunt, Aven Norgaard travels from Norway to 19th-century Appalachia intending to care for three young boys. Instead, she finds three grown men and learns that their mother has died. Unsure of what to do, she keeps her promise to Aunt Dorothe to care for "her boys" as a housekeeper. Haakon tries to woo her, Jorgan attempts to make her feel at home, and Thor, who was born deaf, turns out to be a man of deep feelings yet hides his yearnings by consuming liquor. As Thor's feelings for Aven grow stronger, he vows to give up the alcohol if Aven will have him; but first, he will have to battle his brother Haakon for her hand. VERDICT Christy- and Carol Award-winning author Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) creates endearing characters and a heartwarming story line in this unforgettable novel about the power of family, love, and the true meaning of home. Fans of Kristy Cambron, Julie Klassen, and Susan Meissner will love this one. Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) transports readers to late 19th-century Appalachian Virginia in this moving historical romance. Aven Norgaard was 17 years old when she escaped her Irish workhouse by marrying a Norwegian man she had never met. Four years later, she is a widow—her one lifeline is her late husband's aunt who invited her to America. After making the perilous journey across the Atlantic, she discovers that the aunt has died, and only her late husband's cousins remain: Jorgan, Thor (a deaf man who reads lips and communicates via sign and writing), and Haakon. Little does Aven know that Thor has been intrigued by her ever since he received his cousin's wedding photo. While she wants to be kind to Thor because of his ailment, Aven lost her husband to alcoholism, so Thor's own addiction to the bottle makes her wary. Jorgan, the oldest, is engaged, but the younger two brothers expand their long-standing sibling rivalry by vying for Aven's affection. In order to win the devout Aven over, Thor decides to battle his addiction by turning to God, a difficult task for a man whose family business is making hard cider. With fine historical details and stark prose that fits the story, Bischof skillfully weaves a tale of love and redemption in rough Appalachia. (July) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Thor Norgaard hasn't spoken to anyone in his twenty-eight years, but when the young widow he loves crosses an ocean to live on his Appalachian farm, this reclusive alcoholic will brave much more than words to heal her heart.-- When Aven Norgaard leaves Norway to serve as housekeeper to her late husband's cousins in Appalachia, she expects lads in need of care, not three grown men--each in need of a wife and bound by a powerful brotherhood. As the men carve out a living by brewing artisan liquor, young Haakon's pursuit tempts Aven's lonely spirit. but it is his deaf brother, Thor, whose silent strength shows her the depths of real love. Unable to speak to any woman, Thor Norgaard never anticipates Aven will befriend him, let alone treat him as her safe harbor. Though hard cider is their livelihood and his greatest talent, he fights his way to sobriety with Haakon's help, defying the bottle for Aven's hand--only to face a battle of the heart that tests even the strongest bonds of brotherhood"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

When young widow Aven Norgaard leaves Norway to serve as housekeeper to her late husband's cousins in Appalachia, deaf Thor Norgaard is inspired to overcome his alcoholism and unwillingness to communicate in order to heal her heart.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Two handsome brothers. An age-old Appalachian feud. And a love that may tear the Norgaard family apart.

After the tragic death of her husband, Aven Norgaard is beckoned to give up her life in Norway to become a housekeeper in the rugged hills of nineteenth-century Appalachia. Upon arrival, she finds herself in the home of her late husband’s cousins—three brothers who make a living by brewing hard cider on their three-hundred-acre farm. Yet even as a stranger in a foreign land, Aven has hope to build a new life in this tight-knit family.

But her unassuming beauty disrupts the bond between the brothers. The youngest two both desire her hand, and Aven is caught in the middle, unsure where—and whether—to offer her affection. While Haakon is bold and passionate, it is Thor who casts the greatest spell upon her. Though Deaf, mute, and dependent on hard drink to cope with his silent pain, Thor possesses a sobering strength.

As autumn ushers in the apple harvest, the rift between Thor and Haakon deepens and Aven faces a choice that risks hearts. Will two brothers’ longing for her quiet spirit tear apart a family? Can she find a tender belonging in this remote, rugged, and unfamiliar world?

A haunting tale of struggle and redemption, Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a portrait of grace in a world where the broken may find new life through the healing mercy of love. 

“Beloved author Joanne Bischof doesn’t disappoint with her latest beautifully written, heartrending tale . . . a quick favorite for historical romance readers.” —Elizabeth Byler Younts, author of The Solace of Water

“Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) transports readers to late 19th-century Appalachian Virginia in this moving historical romance . . . With fine historical details and stark prose that fits the story, Bischof skillfully weaves a tale of love and redemption in rough Appalachia.” —Publishers Weekly

“Christy- and Carol Award-winning author Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) creates endearing characters and a heartwarming story line in this unforgettable novel about the power of family, love, and the true meaning of home. Fans of Kristy Cambron, Julie Klassen, and Susan Meissner will love this one.” —Library Journal

Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a quiet gem of a historical romance. Refreshingly real and honest in its depiction of flawed but lovable individuals, it introduces characters readers will want to meet again.” —CBA Market magazine

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Thor Norgaard hasn’t spoken to anyone in his twenty-eight years, but when the young widow he loves crosses an ocean to live on his Appalachian farm, this reclusive alcoholic will brave much more than words to heal her heart.