The cats came back

Sofie Kelly, 1958-

Book - 2018

"Small-town librarian Kathleen Paulson often seems to gets mixed up in murder, but luckily, her very special cats always find a way to help her close a case. The charming Minnesota town of Mayville Heights is hosting a music festival, and the whole place is bustling with musicians and tourists. Kathleen is looking forward to taking in some fabulous performances--and her two cats, Owen and Hercules, are looking forward to taking in some fabulous sardine crackers. But then the trio stumbles a...cross a dead body by the river. The victim is a close friend--who also happens to be a look-alike of a popular cabaret singer set to perform at the festival. Who could have wanted to harm this innocent girl? Was it a case of mistaken identity? As accusations abound and suspicions swirl, Kathleen, Hercules and Owen will put their abilities--both mundane and magical--to the test, and lay down the paw"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Kelly Sofie
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Kelly Sofie Checked In
Series
Kelly, Sofie, 1958- Magical cats mystery.
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Animal fiction
Novels
Published
New York : Berkley Prime Crime 2018.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
294 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780399584596
0399584595
Main Author
Sofie Kelly, 1958- (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Librarian Kathleen Paulson's cats, Hercules and Owen, are so well known in the small town of Mayville Heights, MN, that photographer Ruby has cast them in a fundraiser calendar. It's Hercules's actions at a local marina that lead Ruby to a body. At first, Kathleen and Ruby think the dead woman is singer Emme Finley, but soon they realize it's actually her look-alike assistant, Miranda. While Kathleen's love interest, Det. Marcus Gordon, investigates for the police, a few of Kathleen's friends push her to ask questions. Even Marcus agrees that people will talk to Kathleen when they won't talk to him. Kathleen has to discover if the intended victim was Emme or Miranda. The cats' abilities to walk through walls and disappear lead Kathleen to several suspects and rescue her from danger. Kelly follows A Tale of Two Kitties with another amusing mystery featuring the duo of magical cats. VERDICT Fans of Jenn McKinlay's and Dean James's library mysteries may appreciate this series. However, with its large cast of characters, this latest entry is definitely for those who have already read the other books in this heartwarming series.—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

The annual Wild Rose Summer Music Festival provides the backdrop for bestseller Kelly's entertaining 10th Magical Cats mystery featuring Mayville Heights, Minn., librarian Kathleen Paulson (after 2017's A Tale of Two Kitties). Kathleen's cats, Owen (who can vanish at will) and Hercules (who can walk through walls), help her investigate the murder of Miranda Moore, the assistant and near doppelganger of up-and-coming Emme Finley, a cabaret singer from Chicago in town for the festival. To unmask the killer, Kathleen must find the motive, which first means figuring out whether Miranda or Emme was the intended victim. Members of Miranda's no-account family are suspect, but there's also Emme's old boyfriend, Derrick, a bad boy according to Nora, Emme's sister and manager. Meanwhile, everyone's preparing for veterinarian Roma's wedding to Eddie out at the old Henderson estate, the birthplace of Kathleen's unusual kitties. Kelly succeeds in making the adorable Owen and Hercules surprisingly believable, even to readers who aren't cat people. Agent: Kim Lionetti, Bookends Literary Agency. (Sept.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Small-town librarian Kathleen Paulson often seems to gets mixed up in murder, but luckily, her very special cats always find a way to help her close a case. The charming Minnesota town of Mayville Heights is hosting a music festival, and the whole place is bustling with musicians and tourists. Kathleen is looking forward to taking in some fabulous performances--and her two cats, Owen and Hercules, are looking forward to taking in some fabulous sardine crackers. But then the trio stumbles across a dead body by the river. The victim is a close friend--who also happens to be a look-alike of a popular cabaret singer set to perform at the festival. Who could have wanted to harm this innocent girl? Was it a case of mistaken identity? As accusations abound and suspicions swirl, Kathleen, Hercules and Owen will put their abilities--both mundane and magical--to the test, and lay down the paw"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

After librarian Kathleen Paulson and her two cats find a dead body by the river during the town's music festival, they discover that the victim was a look-alike of a singer scheduled to perform at the festival and they begin their own investigation of the crime.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

When a close friend—and look-alike of a popular cabaret singer set to perform at the Mayville Heights musical festival—is murdered, small-town librarian Kathleen Paulson and her magical cats must sniff out the truth in this case of possible mistaken identity.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Small-town librarian Kathleen Paulson often seems to gets mixed up in murder, but luckily, her very special cats always find a way to help her close a case . . .The charming Minnesota town of Mayville Heights is hosting a music festival, and the whole place is bustling with musicians and tourists. Kathleen is looking forward to taking in some fabulous performances--and her two cats, Owen and Hercules, are looking forward to taking in some fabulous sardine crackers. But then the trio stumbles across a dead body by the river. The victim is a close friend--who also happens to be a look-alike of a popular cabaret singer set to perform at the festival. Who could have wanted to harm this innocent girl? Was it a case of mistaken identity? As accusations abound and suspicions swirl, Kathleen, Hercules and Owen will put their abilities--both mundane and magical--to the test, and lay down the paw.