Drum roll, please

Lisa Jenn Bigelow

Book - 2018

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. Not to be missed by fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever ! Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's the only time she doesn't feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the ...Michigan woods. But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock 'n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Bigelow Lisa
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Bigelow Lisa Checked In
Children's Room jFICTION/Bigelow Lisa Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2018]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
306 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
0062791141
9780062791146
Main Author
Lisa Jenn Bigelow (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Melly is super-duper shy and introverted, but a trip to camp during a difficult summer helps her find her stride. Melly's summer begins with her parents informing her they are getting a divorce, just before sending her off with her drumsticks to a musical camp in the middle of the woods. To top it off, when she gets there, she's split up from her best friend, and she's somewhat alarmed to realize that she's . . . actually OK. Bigelow captures that distinctive middle-grade experience of feeling like changes at home or in friendship are earth-shattering, and the music focus—particularly Melly's rock-star aspirations—are especially endearing. Melly is a memorable, relatable character, and Bigelow tells her funny, heartfelt story with a lively blend of emotional moments and more musical puns than you can shake a (drum)stick at. Readers looking for an entertaining camp story, as well as fans of Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl (2015) or the long-running Lumberjanes series, will get a kick out of this empowering book. Grades 4-7. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Middle schooler Melly has always followed the lead of her best friend, Olivia. Olivia insisted that they join band in the fifth grade, and three years later, Olivia decides that they should go to rock-and-roll camp. Luckily, Melly loves playing music ("It felt like the drums were pumping energy into me," she says), but the timing for camp couldn't be worse. The day before she leaves, she learns that her parents are divorcing. Carrying a bundle of anger and confusion along with her drumsticks, Melly arrives at Camp Rockaway unprepared for the challenges she will face, including an intimidating audition and working with unlike-minded musicians. In a story about growing pains, turning points, and self-discovery, Bigelow (Starting from Here) shows an equally clear understanding of the dynamics of camp life and young adolescent emotions. Melly's responses to situations are authentic, especially the excitement and confusion she feels when she is attracted to another female camper. Bigelow has a graceful and genuine touch as her protagonist processes new experiences and navigates changes in friendships and family. Ages 8–12. Agent: Steven Chudney, Chudney Agency. (June) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 5–8—The day before 13-year-old drummer Melly heads to Camp Rockaway, her parents drop a bombshell: They're getting divorced. Suddenly, the next two weeks become about more than just hanging out with her best friend Olivia, swimming in the lake, and playing the drums. In this sweet and sincere summer story, Melly confronts a whirlwind of feelings as she observes Olivia's newfound intense interest in boys, learns to play in a band with strangers, and develops her first crush on a girl: her bandmate, Adeline. Camp Rockaway, with its endless music-related puns and earnest belief in music's transformative power, provides the perfect setting for Melly to navigate these major life events. Bigelow captures the emotional intensity of camp, where each day stretches long, and relationships can come together and fall apart in seconds. It is Melly's first-person narration that truly drives the story, always honest and self-reflective, even as she makes mistakes and struggles to understand and express her own feelings. Both fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this novel is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow's compassionate take on the classic middle school topics of family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. VERDICT Highly recommended; a perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm.—Molly Saunders, Homewood Public Library, AL Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Unexpectedly enjoying her membership in a band she was talked into joining, drummer Melly embarks on what she believes will be a rocking summer at camp only to find everything upended by her parents' separation, her best friend's estrangement, her crush on a fellow camper and her doubts about her performance readiness. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Finding unexpected joy in drumming, Melly is excited for her summer at Camp Rockaway, but a series of events leaves her with doubts about her performance readiness.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. Not to be missed by fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever ! Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's the only time she doesn't feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods. But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock 'n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. One of Time Out's 'LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month', this is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever!Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's the only time she doesn't feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods. But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?Ami Polonsky, acclaimed author of Gracefully Grayson, raved, "Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat."

Review by Publisher Summary 5

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month”, this is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever!Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It’s the only time she doesn’t feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods. But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly’s not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock n’ roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?Ami Polonsky, acclaimed author of Gracefully Grayson, raved, "Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat."