Float

Laura Martin

Book - 2018

"Emerson can float... he just can't do it very well. His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he's shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp--and he even makes some new friends. But it's not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Em...erson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger. It's up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves--and everyone like them."--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Martin, Laura
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Martin, Laura Due Oct 28, 2022
Children's Room jFICTION/Martin Laura Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Action and adventure fiction
Humorous fiction
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2018]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
345 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062803764
006280376X
Main Author
Laura Martin (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Emerson floats. He is a kid with RISK, a Recurring Incident of the Strange Kind. But he's not alone. At a summer camp for kids like him, all with different RISKs, Emerson makes friends for the first time who don't think he's weird. The boys in Emerson's cabin, Red Maple, become close as the summer progresses, so when one of them learns some upsetting news about his future, they band together to try to fix it. The included letters from each of the Red Maple boys to their parents miss the mark a bit, as these are the only times the reader is taken out of Emerson's first-person point of view. However, the idea of building and crossing items off of a "life list," around which the boys base their summer, is simply superb. Martin's novel feels exactly like summer camp should; the antics of the boys and the friendships they develop will make readers wish they were roasting marshmallows in the woods with their best friends. Grades 4-7. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In this lighthearted middle grade romp, kids with super powers enjoy a fun-filled summer at a camp designed to accommodate their special needs. Twelve-year-old Emerson's ability to float marks him as a RISK—a reoccurring incident of the strange kind—forced to wear weighted shoes and a vest just to stay on the ground. At Camp Outlier, he's surrounded by people just like him, cursed with powers they can't control, such as the accidentally invisible Hank, the spontaneously combusting Anthony, and the time-traveling Murphy. As members of the Red Maple cabin, they bond through hazing rituals, pranks, and the usual camp-sponsored activities. However, when they discover an unsettling secret involving Murphy's intermittent trips through time, Emerson and the others must find a way to change his fate. While there's an underlying tension involving the unknown tragedy in Murphy's future, the real heart of the story is in the idyllic satisfaction Emerson feels as he makes friends and lives life to the fullest, eschewing electronic devices for adventures in the great outdoors. Drawing from her father's stories of childhood escapades, Martin (Code Name Flood) conjures a sense of wonder and whimsy, even as she reminds readers that her characters' powers are as much a blessing as they are a curse. Ages 8–12. (May) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 4–6—Emerson floats. Unfortunately, he has almost no control over his floating, which makes it a Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind (RISK) factor. He and other kids like him are sent to Camp Outlier where the government can keep a close eye on them. It's a motley crew in Emerson's cabin: Gary is sticky, Hank can't control his invisibility, Zeke has sporadic X-ray vision, and Anthony is a human torch. For once in his life, Emerson feels like he finally fits in. With lots of action, great dialogue, and plenty of humor, Martin's style and tone are reminiscent of Gordon Korman and Dan Gutman. VERDICT With a great premise and solid writing, this should be a popular addition to the middle grade collections.—Jane Hebert, Glenside Public Library District, Glendale Heights, IL Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Relegated to a summer camp for kids with uncontrollable supernatural abilities, Emerson, a boy who must wear weights to prevent himself from floating away, teams up with his fellow misfits when he discovers that a time-traveling camper is hiding a dangerous secret. By the author of the Edge of Extinction series. 40,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Relegated to a summer camp for kids with uncontrollable supernatural abilities, Emerson, a boy who must wear weights to prevent himself from floating away, teams up with his fellow misfits when he discovers that a time-traveling camper is hiding a dangerous secret.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"Emerson can float... he just can't do it very well. His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he's shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp--and he even makes some new friends. But it's not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger. It's up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves--and everyone like them."--

Review by Publisher Summary 4

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!Emerson can float'he just can't do it very well.His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he's shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp'and he even makes some new friends.But it's not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.It's up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves'and everyone like them.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!Emerson can float…he just can’t do it very well.His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he’s shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp—and he even makes some new friends.But it’s not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.It’s up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves—and everyone like them.