Bear's scare

Jacob Grant, 1984-

Book - 2018

Bear cares about keeping his house clean and tidy almost as much as he cares about his stuffed friend, Ursa, so he is determined to find the spider building messy webs there.

Saved in:

Bookmobile Children's Show me where

jE/Grant
0 / 1 copies available

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Grant
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Bookmobile Children's jE/Grant In Transit
Children's Room jE/Grant Due Oct 18, 2022
Children's Room jE/Grant Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
New York : Bloomsbury 2018.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations ; 28 cm
ISBN
9781681197203
1681197200
Main Author
Jacob Grant, 1984- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Bear is a tidy creature who likes keeping his home just so. Everyday he and his best pal, a plush bear named Ursa, dust, sweep, and straighten together. But one day, something is amiss. Bear discovers a book lying on the floor—certainly not a place he would leave it—and attached to it, a sticky spider web. A quick search reveals more webs, triggering a frantic, furniture-toppling hunt for the many-legged mess maker. The charming charcoal-and-crayon illustrations tell another story, however. As Bear tears through his house, readers espy the adorable arachnid (wearing a button for a beret!) engaged in a number of serene activities, of which Bear would surely approve. Scenes rendered in orange, persimmon, plum, and chocolate zoom in on the spider painting, reading, drinking tea, and even sweeping up Bear's mess, but it's not until Ursa meets with an accident that Bear sees the spider for the caring individual she is. Grant's friendship story will catch readers like flies with its artwork and gentle humor, while encouraging them not to make assumptions about others. Preschool-Grade 1. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Bear, a plodding, conscientious creature, takes pleasure in the certainty that his house is tidy, and lavishes attention on his stuffed toy Ursa: "They were always together." But then (horrors!) he discovers spiderwebs in his house, and he sets to work trying to find the spider and get rid of it. "I am certainly sure the spider is nothing like us," he sniffs. Grant (Through with the Zoo) quickly delivers the message that Bear's the one with the problem as he depicts the friendly-looking arachnid knitting an afghan and painting on a small easel; it's clear that, despite the webs, she's a fine housemate. However, Bear's search is so hurried and careless that he rips Ursa's arm loose. He can't mend it, but someone else—someone with eight legs and lots of creativity—can. Working in a serene palette of pink and lavender, Grant gets comic mileage from Bear's wide-eyed, stricken-looking expression; a view of the bear's big rump as he searches under the bed will make readers smile. Insisting that everyone look and act just as we do, this story suggests, blinds us to some pretty wonderful possibilities. Ages 3–6. Agent: Steven Chudney, Chudney Agency. (June) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

PreS-Gr 1—Bear keeps his house neat and tidy and takes good care of his stuffed animal friend, Ursa. One day as Bear cleans, he finds a book on the floor and underneath—horrors!—a spider web. As Bear searches the house, finding even more spider webs, he begins to think of all the damage the spider may be doing and determines to flush it out. Unfortunately, all the searching results in a bigger mess and a terrible accident as he unintentionally tears off Ursa's arm. Bear runs for the first-aid kit and returns to find Ursa's arm reattached by…a spider web! Bear decides he can accept his new spider friend and does not mind the webs. Charcoal-and-crayon drawings are uncluttered, with a limited palette of earth tones. Illustrations of an industrious spider in a button beret, who is painting, knitting, and reading, do not match Bear's assumptions about the creature. While Bear's easy acceptance of the messy spider webs may be a stretch, this tale about friendship and overcoming prejudices is not. VERDICT This read-aloud choice will be enjoyed at storytime and as a subtle introduction to accepting others.—Ramarie Beaver, Plano Public Library System, TX Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Bear cares about keeping his house clean and tidy almost as much as he cares about his stuffed friend, Ursa, so he is determined to find the spider building messy webs there.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Liking everything to be clean and tidy, Bear is dismayed to find spider webs on his bookshelf and searches high and low for his unwanted, eight-legged guest before unexpectedly finding a new friend. By the creator of Scaredy Kate.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

This adorable, quirky picture book features a charming odd-couple friendship and is perfect for fans of Peter Brown and Greg Pizzoli.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Bear likes to keep his house clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing Bear loves more than cleaning is taking care of his small stuffed friend, Ursa.Then Bear sees a sticky spiderweb . . . and where there's a web there is certainly a spider! The messy guest must be found, but what Bear and Ursa finally discover might just be an unlikely friend.Opposites attract in this adorable story, where new friends come in all shapes and sizes.