Look at the weather

Britta Teckentrup

Book - 2018

"A meditative, immersive take on the weather around us. Includes calls to action for the reader, inviting them to observe and inquire about the outdoors. Through four chapters-sun, rain, ice and snow, and extreme weather-this book explores different weather phenomena, from rainbows and sunsets to clouds, frost, and rainstorms. Evocative paintings convey the sheer power of weather, while lyrical text captures the richness of our natural environment. The book explicitly makes the link between... extreme weather, climate change, and human activity, and poses questions often, inviting young readers to observe and inquire about their own environment or to imagine other ones."--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

j551.5/Teckentrup
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room j551.5/Teckentrup Due Jun 10, 2022
Children's Room j551.5/Teckentrup Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
Toronto, ON ; Berkeley, CA : Owlkids Books [2018]
Language
English
German
Physical Description
150 pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm
ISBN
9781771472869
1771472863
Main Author
Britta Teckentrup (-)
Other Authors
Shelley Tanaka (translator)
  • I.
  • Sun
  • II.
  • Rain
  • III.
  • Ice and snow
  • IV.
  • Extreme weather.
Review by Booklist Reviews

Teckentrup offers readers a lyrical introduction to weather, focusing on the sun, rain, ice and snow, and extreme weather events. Using conversational language that includes questions addressed to the reader, she touches on many details for each topic. "Extreme Weather," for example, notes climate change and explains thunderstorms, tropical storms, hail, floods, hurricanes, typhoons, tornadoes, blizzards, drought, and fire. Each spread contains brief text and a large, frameworthy painting, often rendered in the style of the impressionists. She makes use of a wide color palette (depending on the mood conveyed), with humans, animals, and architecture taking a backseat to atmospheric conditions. Sometimes the text draws attention to a detail in the illustrations, which will assist adults in leading discussions and young readers in focusing on particular elements of the art. Additionally, flocks of birds appear in each chapter, unifying the presentation. Appended with a glossary and author's note, this is smoothly translated and makes a perfect introduction for readers just beginning to notice the world around them. Grades 1-4. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

German author-artist Teckentrup (Oskar and Mo) devotes four chapters of this long-format picture book to aspects of the weather: "Sun," "Rain," "Ice and Snow," and "Extreme Weather." Brief scientific facts ("When the air cools at night, the water vapor in the ground becomes dew") alternate with lyrical observations ("The setting sun spreads its golden light over the ground"). The pages offer anywhere from a single sentence to several short paragraphs opposite evocative, silkscreen-style landscapes and meditative views of skies brushed with clouds, snowflakes, and driving rain. The images create a sense of grandeur, but they're not detailed enough to represent cloud types or ice crystals, for example. Those interested in extreme weather may be disappointed by the calm, impressionistic representations of hurricanes and floods. The work is strongest when it looks at the way everyday weather makes humans feel and invites readers to reflect on their experiences. Each section finishes with questions: "Have you ever seen a sunset that seemed to fill the sky like a blanket of fire?" Climate change is broadly referred to toward the end but is not the book's main focus. Ages 7–up. (Apr.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 1–5—Fans of Tree and Bee will recognize Teckentrup's bold and vibrant art style as she now introduces the topic of weather to readers. Although not as playful as her other books, this title explores the different elements of weather phenomena in four chapters: "Sun," "Rain," "Ice and Snow," and "Extreme Weather." In short lyrical prose, Teckentrup captures ephemeral sights: "Look at the clouds. Some look whispery and barely there. Others are puffy, like giant fleecy cotton balls." Her full-page and sometimes spread-size landscape illustrations evocatively convey the incredible variations and sheer power of weather. These range from the sometimes beautiful to the sometimes destructive. This illustrated nonfiction book captures the richness of our natural environment and invites young readers to observe and wonder about the world around them. ("Can you see the halo around the moon" What does it mean? Is it a sign of wet weather?") VERDICT This would work wonderfully as an introduction in a weather unit, as well as a lovely nature-themed read-aloud. Recommended.—Carole Phillips, Greenacres Elementary School, Scarsdale, NY Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When you stop to think about it, weather is incredible: it’s whimsical, varied, ever-present, sometimes destructive and other times, beautiful. This immersive illustrated nonfiction book is an invitation for readers to ponder weather and approach it with a newfound sense of understanding, awe, and wonder.

Through four chapters—sun, rain, ice and snow, and extreme weather—this book explores different weather phenomena, from rainbows and sunsets to clouds, frost, and rainstorms. Moments of distress and destruction are offset by the calm after a storm or the peaceful feeling of a blanket of fresh snow.

Evocative paintings convey the sheer power of weather, while lyrical text captures the richness of our natural environment. The book takes an inspiring tone rather than an exhaustive, factual one. The book explicitly makes the links between extreme weather, climate change, and human activity, and poses questions often, inviting young readers to observe and inquire about their own environment or to imagine other ones.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A meditative, immersive take on the weather around us