Mrs. Jeffries wins the prize

Emily Brightwell

Book - 2016

he ladies of the Mayfair Orchid and Exotic Plant Society are known for a bit of friendly rivalry, but the backstabbing has never been literal--until now. When Hiram Filmore, an orchid hunter and supplier, is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn's conservatory, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to weed out a murderer. When it comes out that Mrs. Rayburn and her flowery friend knew each other from long ago, Mrs. Jeffries begins to suspect that there's more to unearth about this case. Now s...he, along with the rest of Inspector Witherspoon's household and friends, will have to dig up the past to figure out which gardening gentlewoman had a grudge worth killing for.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Brightwe Emily
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Brightwe Emily Checked In
Series
Brightwell, Emily. Mrs. Jeffries mystery.
Victorian mysteries.
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Historical fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York, New York : Berkley Prime Crime, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC 2016.
Edition
Berkley Prime Crime mass-market edition
Language
English
Physical Description
292 pages ; 18 cm
ISBN
9780425268117
042526811X
Main Author
Emily Brightwell (author)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

When an orchid hunter and supplier is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn's conservatory, Mrs. Jeffries helps Inspector Witherspoon dig up some suspects to weed out a murderer who has turned friendly rivalry into deadly game. By a New York Times best-selling author. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. NIPPED IN THE BUD  The ladies of the Mayfair Orchid and Exotic Plant Society are known for a bit of friendly rivalry, but the backstabbing has never been literal—until now. When Hiram Filmore, an orchid hunter and supplier, is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn’s conservatory, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to weed out a murderer.   When it comes out that Mrs. Rayburn and her flowery friends knew each other from long ago, Mrs. Jeffries begins to suspect that there’s more to unearth about this case than meets the eye. Now she, along with the rest of Inspector Witherspoon’s household and friends, will have to dig up the past to figure out which gardening gentlewoman had a grudge worth killing for...  A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery   She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done.   NEVER BEFORE PUBLISHED!