An enchantment of ravens

Margaret Rogerson

Book - 2017

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron--Rook, the autumn prince--she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes--a weakness that could cost him his life. Furious and devastated, Rook ...spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love--and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Rogerson Margaret
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Rogerson Margaret Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Fantasy fiction
Paranormal fiction
Science fiction
Published
New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books [2017]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
300 pages ; 24 cm
Audience
14 & up.
ISBN
9781481497589
1481497588
Main Author
Margaret Rogerson (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Isobel is so talented at her craft that even Rook, prince of the autumn court of the fair folk, comes to her to have his portrait painted. But when she paints mortal sorrow into his eyes—considered a fatal flaw in a court run on intrigue and dangerous power—Rook kidnaps her to the world of the fair folk to stand trial. But there's even more peril once Isobel lands in Rook's chaotic realm, since her feelings for the prince, and his for her, could mean death for both of them. Rogerson's first novel is a lush romance with a strong heroine. In particular, Isobel's reticence to trust the fair folk makes her love for Rook believable, especially since Rogerson gives Rook depth enough for readers to love him as well. The plot is fairly tidy, with most of the story taking place over a matter of days, and Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a master of her "Craft"—painting portraits—in the town of Whimsy, where it is always summer and which borders the forest where the "fair folk" have their kingdoms. When the fairies' autumn prince, Rook, requests a portrait, Isobel's world is upended. Petulant and beautiful Rook, whose eyes hold "sorrow, as raw as an open wound," frightens and beguiles Isobel; when he is upset by what his portrait reveals to his kingdom, he abducts her so that she might stand trial for the affront. Rogerson's moody debut novel is suffused with an intoxicating and palpable romantic longing. As Isobel and Rook break the "Good Law" by falling for each other, Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story (Isobel's rowdy younger sisters began life as goats, before being ensorcelled by a drunk fairy). An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (Sept.) Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 7 Up—This debut novel offers a lively romantic adventure. Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a talented painter who finds herself in demand by the fair folk, immortal beings captivated by human handicrafts. They pay her in enchantments, which she is careful to phrase in such a way that there can be no loopholes. But her newest client, Rook, is unlike other fair folk she's met—there is a sorrow behind his eyes. When she captures this in a painting, his status is challenged in his kingdom as fair folk can never be seen to have a flaw. Isobel accompanies Rook on a The Princess Bride—style magical adventure back to his home kingdom, finding along the way that their sparring relationship could turn into something more. Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas.—Ann Foster, Saskatoon Public Library, Sask. Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A superbly skilled portrait artist who includes among her patrons the sinister, immortal fair folk who covet her talents, Isobel makes the terrible mistake of revealing an autumn faerie prince's sorrow in his portrait, a choice that strands them both in a hostile land where they risk their lives to pursue forbidden feelings for each other. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

An instant New York Times bestseller!An Indie Next Top 10 PickA Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner'A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance.' 'School Library Journal (starred review)'A phenomenal read.' 'RT Book ReviewsA skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts'even as she falls in love with a faerie prince'in this gorgeous bestseller that's 'an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor' (Publishers Weekly, starred review).Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron'Rook, the autumn prince'she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes'a weakness that could cost him his life.Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love'and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

An instant New York Times bestseller!An Indie Next Top 10 PickA Parents’ Choice Silver Honor Winner“A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance.” —School Library Journal (starred review)“A phenomenal read.” —RT Book ReviewsA skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts—even as she falls in love with a faerie prince—in this gorgeous bestseller that’s “an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes—a weakness that could cost him his life.Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love—and that love violates the fair folks’ ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.