The trust A novel

Ronald H. Balson

Book - 2017

The newest novel from Ronald H. Balson, the international bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers , finds private investigator Liam Taggart returning to his childhood home for an uncle's funeral, only to discover his death might not have been natural. When his uncle dies, Liam Taggart reluctantly returns to his childhood home in Northern Ireland for the funeral--a home he left years ago after a bitter confrontation with his family, never to look back. But when he arrives, Liam learns th...at not only was his uncle shot to death, but that he'd anticipated his own murder: In an astonishing last will and testament, Uncle Fergus has left his entire estate to a secret trust, directing that no distributions be made to any person until the killer is found. Did Fergus know, but refuse to name, his killer? Was this a crime of revenge, a vendetta leftover from Northern Ireland's bloody sectarian war? After all, the Taggarts were deeply involved in the IRA. Or is it possible that the killer is a family member seeking Fergus's estate? Otherwise, why postpone distributions to the heirs? Most menacingly, does the killer now have his sights on other family members? As his investigation draws Liam farther and farther into the past he has abandoned, he realizes he is forced to reopen doors long ago shut and locked. Now, accepting the appointment as sole trustee of the Fergus Taggart Trust, Liam realizes he has stepped into the center of a firestorm.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Balson Ronald
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Balson Ronald Checked In
Series
Liam Taggart and Catherine Lockhart ; Book 4
Subjects
Genres
Detective and mystery fiction
Mystery fiction
Historical fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press 2017.
Edition
First U.S. edition
Language
English
Physical Description
viii, 356 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN
9781250127440
1250127440
Main Author
Ronald H. Balson (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Making his fourth appearance (after Karolina's Twins), PI Liam Taggert has not been back to his home in Northern Ireland since the 1990s. When he gets the call that his Uncle Fergus is dead, he agrees to return and soon learns that Fergus was murdered, leaving the administration of his estate to Liam. The terms of the will prohibit its distribution until the murderer is found. Did Fergus know his killer? The police suspect Fergus's family, and Liam is sucked back into the personal and political conflicts that drove him away. Not far from the surface of daily life in Antrim, the Troubles still smoulder, and violence is sparked if too many questions are asked. As Liam does his best to follow his uncle's wishes, he steps into a firestorm that endangers his wife, his child, and the family with whom he has just reconnected. VERDICT This top-notch thriller will keep readers riveted to the very last page. The Northern Irish setting will appeal to fans of Adrian McKinty and Stewart Neville, and the familial and political issues will attract psychological thriller addicts.—Susan Clifford Braun, Bainbridge Island, WA Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Reluctantly returning to Northern Ireland for the funeral of a murdered uncle, Liam is shocked to learn that his uncle's estate cannot be distributed until his killer, who may be targeting other family members, is brought to justice.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Reluctantly returning to Northern Ireland for the funeral of a murdered uncle, Liam is further shocked to learn that his uncle has left his estate to a secret trust that cannot be distributed until his killer, who may be targeting other family members, is brought to justice. By the best-selling author of Once We Were Brothers.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

The newest novel from bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers has private investigator Liam Taggart returning to his childhood home for his uncle’s funeral, only to discover he was murdered.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

“A thrilling, action-filled suspense novel.... Those who loved Balson’s other books like Once We Were Brothers and Karolina’s Twins will love this latest entry.” —The Huffington PostThe Trust, from Ronald H. Balson, the international bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers, finds private investigator Liam Taggart returning to his childhood home for an uncle's funeral, only to discover his death might not have been natural.When his uncle dies, Liam Taggart reluctantly returns to his childhood home in Northern Ireland for the funeral—a home he left years ago after a bitter confrontation with his family, never to look back. But when he arrives, Liam learns that not only was his uncle shot to death, but that he’d anticipated his own murder: In an astonishing last will and testament, Uncle Fergus has left his entire estate to a secret trust, directing that no distributions be made to any person until the killer is found. Did Fergus know, but refuse to name, his killer? Was this a crime of revenge, a vendetta leftover from Northern Ireland’s bloody sectarian war? After all, the Taggarts were deeply involved in the IRA. Or is it possible that the killer is a family member seeking Fergus’s estate? Otherwise, why postpone distributions to the heirs? Most menacingly, does the killer now have his sights on other family members? As his investigation draws Liam farther and farther into the past he has abandoned, he realizes he is forced to reopen doors long ago shut and locked. Now, accepting the appointment as sole trustee of the Fergus Taggart Trust, Liam realizes he has stepped into the center of a firestorm.