Keep Her Safe

Sophie Hannah, 1971-

Book - 2017

Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows flees her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied -- by a man and a teenage girl. A simple mistake at the front desk but soon Cara realizes that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa,... whose parents are serving natural life sentences for her murder. Cara doesn't know what to trust -- everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Hannah Sophie
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Hannah Sophie Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
New York : HarperCollins 2017.
Language
English
Physical Description
346 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9780062388322
0062388320
Main Author
Sophie Hannah, 1971- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

A mistake at Swallowtail Resort's front desk sends a jet-lagged Brit, Cara Burrows, blundering into a room already occupied by a man and his apparent teenage daughter. Later, Cara overhears a guest insisting that she's seen Melody Chapa, a young girl whose disappearance has captivated American popular culture for years. Curious, Cara digs online and is hooked by coverage of justice television host Bonnie Juno's passionate crusade to convict Melody's parents of murder. Cara is certain that the girl she saw that first night was clutching Melody's one-of-a-kind stuffed animal and pushes the local police to investigate. But Cara is kidnapped before she can provide her official statement of the late-night encounter. While Cara strategizes ways to outwit her captor, he is determined to make her understand the secrets behind one of America's most notorious crimes. Astute characterization, particularly in the cases of Cara and Juno, provide irony-laden commentary on America's obsession with criminal cases and the media's impact on justice. Perfect for fans of Laura Lippman's stand-alone psychological thrillers. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

As Lisa Gardner says, Hannah puts "the 'psycho' in' psychological suspense,'?" and here's her first novel set in America, specifically, sun-bleached Arizona. A chipper British sort is enjoying a holiday until she starts suspecting that the guest in the room next door is the woman who made headlines when she disappeared years ago. With a 100,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In this unnecessarily complex standalone from bestseller Hannah (A Game for All the Family), Englishwoman Cara Burrows, who's frustrated with her family, leaves her husband and two children behind in the U.K. and flies to Phoenix, Ariz., where she stays at the exclusive Swallowtail Resort in the foothills of Camelback Mountain. Pregnant with an unintended third child, Cara anticipates relaxing swims and soaking up the desert sun, until she's accidentally assigned the wrong room and sees a teenage girl who closely resembles Melody Chapa, the most famous murder victim in America. Seven years earlier in 2010, seven-year-old Melody was allegedly murdered by her parents, though her body was never found. Cara soon goes down the internet rabbit hole of the Chapa case and looks up transcripts of Nancy Grace–type true crime TV shows, most hosted by the overly opinionated Bonnie Juno, an early believer in the guilt of Melody's parents, despite a dearth of evidence. The present-day plot devolves into a kidnapping free-for-all, with Cara inexplicably at the center. Hannah, known for her labyrinthine plots, loses her way early on. (Sept.) Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A British woman's relaxing holiday at a sunny Arizona resort transforms into a dark, obsessive quest for the truth when she becomes convinced that another guest is the woman who disappeared in a sensational headline case years earlier. By the best-selling author of The Monogram Murders. 100,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A British woman's holiday at an Arizona resort transforms into a dark, obsessive quest for the truth when she becomes convinced that another guest is the woman who disappeared in a sensational headline case years earlier.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

LIANE MORIARTY says that “No one writes twisted, suspenseful novels quite like Sophie Hannah.” Packed with twists and clues, simmering with tension, this electrifying new thriller shows why. She's the most famous murder victim in America. What if she's not dead? Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows flees her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied — by a man and a teenage girl. A simple mistake at the front desk... but soon Cara realizes that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving natural life sentences for her murder. Cara doesn't know what to trust — everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?

Review by Publisher Summary 4

LIANE MORIARTY says that 'No one writes twisted, suspenseful novels quite like Sophie Hannah.' Packed with twists and clues, simmering with tension, this electrifying new thriller shows why. She's the most famous murder victim in America. What if she's not dead? Pushed to the breaking point, Cara Burrows flees her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied ' by a man and a teenage girl. A simple mistake at the front desk... but soon Cara realizes that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving natural life sentences for her murder. Cara doesn't know what to trust ' everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?