The thing about love

Julie James, 1974-

Book - 2017

"The New York Times bestselling author of Suddenly One Summer blows the covers of two FBI agents who can't hide who they are from each other ... FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd have a past. The former lawyer and cocky Army Ranger clashed during their training at Quantico and gladly went their separate ways after graduating from the Academy. Six years later, the last thing either of them expects is to be assigned to work as partners in a high-profile undercover sting. For bo...th of them, being paired with an old rival couldn't come at a worse time. Recently divorced from a Hollywood producer and looking for a fresh start, Jessica is eager to prove herself at her new field office. And John is just one case away from his dream assignment to the FBI's elite Hostage Rescue Team. In order to nail a corrupt Florida politician, they'll have to find a way to work together--a task that becomes even trickier when they're forced to hole up at a romantic beachfront resort as part of the investigation. Suddenly, the heat behind their nonstop sparring threatens to make the job a lot more complicated ... READERS GUIDE INSIDE"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/James Julie
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/James Julie Due Jul 12, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Love stories
Romance fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
Published
New York : Berkley 2017.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
x, 365 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780425273777
0425273776
Main Author
Julie James, 1974- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

James (Suddenly One Summer, 2015) convincingly forges a hot romantic couple out of an alpha woman and a strong man in this FBI caper. Jessica and John are horrified to find themselves working as partners in an undercover operation, given their unforgettable battles years ago during their time at the FBI academy, where they competed and bickered for weeks. Forced together again by an assignment out of the Chicago office, they try to make the best of it while pretending to be real estate developers in Jacksonville, Florida. Traveling brings them closer, leading to friendship and more. John is hoping to get an elite new FBI assignment, so both assume that this will be a light and short flirtation. Their mission is surprising, and so is their relationship. James' dialogue and characters sparkle with intelligence and humor, and there is plenty of action. Tough women who can handle powerful guys are always welcome in the contemporary romance genre. Fans of Suzanne Brockmann and Julie Garwood will enjoy James. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Six years ago, supersmart attorney Jessica Harlow and brash, self-assured U.S. Army Ranger John Shepherd met during FBI training at Quantico; clashed all the way to graduation; and hoped never to see each other again. And they don't—until they end up in the same office and are sent off on an undercover assignment to Florida to expose the corrupt Jacksonville mayor. Despite their best professional intentions, the sniping starts, and the fireworks begin—and then an unplanned kiss lights a fire of a different kind, one they will be hard-pressed to tamp down. Rapid-fire banter, humor, and an action-filled plot move the story along at a steady pace, and the "he said/she said" chapters add background about their enmity. VERDICT A pair of independent, relentlessly competitive operatives finally sort things out in this sexy romance that fans of upbeat, cosmopolitan suspense are sure to enjoy. James (Suddenly One Summer) lives in Chicago. Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"The New York Times bestselling author of Suddenly One Summer blows the covers of two FBI agents who can't hide who they are from each other... FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd have a past. The former lawyer and cocky Army Ranger clashed during their training at Quantico and gladly went their separate ways after graduating from the Academy. Six years later, the last thing either of them expects is to be assigned to work as partners in a high-profile undercover sting. For both of them, being paired with an old rival couldn't come at a worse time. Recently divorced from a Hollywood producer and looking for a fresh start, Jessica is eager to prove herself at her new field office. And John is just one case away from his dream assignment to the FBI's elite Hostage Rescue Team. In order to nail a corrupt Florida politician, they'll have to find a way to work together--a task that becomes even trickier when they're forced to hole up at a romantic beachfront resort as part of the investigation. Suddenly, the heat behind their nonstop sparring threatens to make the job a lot more complicated... READERS GUIDE INSIDE"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Returning to her hometown to take an undercover job, newly divorced FBI Special Agent Jessica Harlow finds herself partnered with FBI Academy rival John Shepherd, whose ambition to join an elite hostage rescue team compels him to resist his feelings for Jessica. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Jessica Harlowe and John Shepherd, old rivals from the FBI Academy, are assigned to cover a corrupt Florida politician in a romantic beachfront resort and their job becomes complicated at they realize their mutual attraction.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The New York Times bestselling author of Suddenly One Summer blows the covers of two FBI agents who can’t hide who they are from each other...   FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd have a past. The former lawyer and cocky Army Ranger clashed during their training at Quantico and gladly went their separate ways after graduating from the Academy. Six years later, the last thing either of them expects is to be assigned to work as partners in a high-profile undercover sting.   For both of them, being paired with an old rival couldn’t come at a worse time. Recently divorced from a Hollywood producer and looking for a fresh start, Jessica is eager to prove herself at her new field office. And John is just one case away from his dream assignment to the FBI’s elite Hostage Rescue Team. In order to nail a corrupt Florida politician, they’ll have to find a way to work together—a task that becomes even trickier when they’re forced to hole up at a romantic beachfront resort as part of the investigation. Suddenly, the heat behind their nonstop sparring threatens to make the job a lot more complicated...READERS GUIDE INSIDE