Together, closer The art and science of intimacy in friendship, love, and family

Giovanni Frazzetto

Book - 2017

Saved in:

2nd Floor Show me where

158.2/Frazzetto
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor 158.2/Frazzetto Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Penguin Books [2017]
Language
English
Physical Description
188 pages ; 22 cm
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
ISBN
9780143109440
0143109448
Main Author
Giovanni Frazzetto (author)
  • Prologue
  • Shidduch
  • The leap
  • Transit of venus
  • Split or steal
  • A winter garden
  • A wizard's farewell
  • Equal
  • Yes.
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Frazzetto (research fellow, Trinity Coll. Dublin; Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love) describes the sometimes complex intimate relationships people have with others. Eight relationships are highlighted in the chapters. Each story includes psychological, biological, and neuroscience research studies to explain the opinions and emotions that make human behavior complicated and mysterious. The stories include a single woman who has an imaginary boyfriend to cope with her failed relationships; a straight couple in a long-term love affair; a family that copes with the loss of a loved one; and a gay couple who is inseparable even though they appear to be unsuited for each other. Intimacy is about revealing worries and hopes to those people cherish. Frazzetto reminds readers that people can be intimate with not only romantic partners but also with family and friends. He helps readers consider their close relationships, whether they flourish, strengthen, or dissolve. Although this book is thoroughly researched with a wealth of scholarly sources cited, Frazzetto reaches a broad audience by exploring a topic that everyone can understand. VERDICT Recommended for anyone interested in psychology, biology, and neuroscience.—Tina Chan, MIT Libs., Cambridge Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A scientist examines human intimacy on a behavioral, emotional and neurological level, and explains how we decide who to be close to, whether on a romantic level, or who we choose to be our dearest friends. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Combines science and storytelling to illuminate the mysteries, challenges, and pleasures of intimacy.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“Frazzetto uses psychology, neurology and biological information to explore the ways in which intimacy manifests in different types of relationships. He recounts the stories of eight relationships. . . . Each story puts intimacy and how we experience it on display.” —Concepción De León, The New York Times“Together, Closer examines the way humans relate to each other across a spectrum of relationships from parent-child to platonic friendships and, of course, romantic love.” —The Guardian   “An ambitious project . . . Giovanni Frazzetto marries science with art, the most recent discoveries of neuroscience with human stories about intimacy. . . . A clear love of art and science shines from the book.” —The Irish TimesFor readers of Oliver Sacks and Stephen Grosz, a wondrous, deeply felt book that explores intimacy through the stories of eight relationships, from the author of Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love   The bonds we are capable of feeling toward other people—how we know and belong to one another—provide fascinating glimpses into the intricacies of human behavior. Intimacy is that moment when our true identity is revealed to another, when traumas, fears, and ambitions are shared. Through the ordinary stories of eight relationships, Giovanni Frazzetto has woven an extraordinary narrative of togetherness. He shares the details of romantic partners trapped in a long cycle of attraction and rejection, a single woman who finds herself deep in a fictional relationship with a boyfriend she has invented out of frustration with her love life, and a couple absorbed in a years-long clandestine affair. But intimacy can also extend beyond romantic encounters: coping with the loss of a loved one, dealing with overbearing or emotionally distant parents, or celebrating the joys and comforts of our dearest friends.   In Together, Closer, Frazzetto unravels the components of intimacy in all of these relationships, illuminating the mysteries, challenges, and pleasures of intimacy through a brilliant mix of storytelling and science.