The summer that made us

Robyn Carr

Book - 2017

For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything. After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it w...as closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Carr Robyn
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Carr Robyn Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Domestic fiction
Published
Don Mills, Ontario : Mira Books [2017].
Language
English
Physical Description
331 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9780778331049
0778331040
Main Author
Robyn Carr (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Charley Hempstead is at loose ends when her talk show is cancelled, but she soon finds purpose in caring for her sister. Meg, who has breast cancer, has a final wish: to spend one more summer on Lake Waseka, Minnesota, with their cousins, something they haven't done since the fateful summer their youngest sister drowned. Krista is the first cousin to arrive, on a bus fresh from prison. Hope is less enthusiastic about leaving her tony Philadelphia neighborhood but is enticed west by the prospect of securing her inheritance. Charley isn't sure anything can fix her relationship with her mother, Louise, nor the relationship between Louise and her sister, Jo. Far more happened that summer than the tragic accident on the lake, and Louise wants to keep it buried. This novel of sisters and secrets has a pleasant setting, a leisurely pace, and a sweet story line for Krista that will please fans of Carr's Virgin River series. Themes of responsibility, forgiveness, and the agony and ecstasy of female relatives will appeal to readers of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

In this latest women's fiction entry from the No. 1 New York Times best-selling author, a television talk show host booted out when her ratings tumble returns to her neglected childhood summer home. A gathering of female relatives reveals very different memories of what happened during a fateful last summer there. With a 100,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything. After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closedup. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again,and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Returning to her childhood summer home to rebuild her life after losing her job, a television talk-show host is flooded with memories of the summers she spent with her sisters and cousins before a tragic event that they seem to remember quite differently. 15,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Returning to her childhood summer home after losing her job, a television talk show host determines to reunite her family years after a tragic event that they seem to remember quite differently.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Mothers and daughters, sisters and cousins—they lived for summers at the lake house until a tragic accident changed everything. The Summer That Made Us is an unforgettable story about a family learning to accept the past, to forgive and to love each other again.

That was then…

For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything.

This is now…

After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.

Robyn Carr has crafted a beautifully woven story about the complexities of family dynamics and the value of strong female relationships.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

Mothers and daughters, sisters and cousins'they lived for summers at the lake house until a tragic accident changed everything. The Summer That Made Us is an unforgettable story about a family learning to accept the past, to forgive and to love each other again.That was then'For the Hempsteads, two sisters who married two brothers and had three daughters each, summers were idyllic. The women would escape the city the moment school was out to gather at the family house on Lake Waseka. The lake was a magical place, a haven where they were happy and carefree. All of their problems drifted away as the days passed in sun-dappled contentment. Until the summer that changed everything.This is now'After an accidental drowning turned the lake house into a site of tragedy and grief, it was closed up. For good. Torn apart, none of the Hempstead women speak of what happened that summer, and relationships between them are uneasy at best to hurtful at worst. But in the face of new challenges, one woman is determined to draw her family together again, and the only way that can happen is to return to the lake and face the truth.Robyn Carr has crafted a beautifully woven story about the complexities of family dynamics and the value of strong female relationships.