The scarred woman A Department Q novel

Jussi Adler-Olsen

Book - 2017

"Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being h...unted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery. Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past--a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Adler-Olsen, Jussi
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Adler-Olsen, Jussi Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Adler-Olsen, Jussi Checked In
Series
The Department Q series
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York, New York : Dutton [2017]
Language
English
Danish
Physical Description
472 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781101984239
9780525954958
0525954953
1101984236
Main Author
Jussi Adler-Olsen (author)
Other Authors
William Frost, 1978- (translator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

The legions of readers still enjoying the Millennium books will devour this seventh in a series starring the officers of Copenhagen's cold-case unit, Department Q. The labyrinthine novel features several crimes that may or may not be related—the murder of an elderly woman, possibly by a fed-up granddaughter; the similar-appearing demise of a young woman years before; and a spree by a serial killer who's tired of Denmark's overly generous social system. And those crimes are just the start. It's unfortunate that misogyny rears its head here—equally so that the only minority characters are a Middle Eastern officer who mentions camels far too often and a Somali man who makes an appearance for less than a page to sell a gun. The book also takes too long to get going and is too long overall. Still, it's being marketed to Stieg Larsson's fans and may well appeal to them. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

The body of an elderly woman is found in a Copenhagen park, and since this book features Det. Carl MØrck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, you can bet the case bears resemblance to an unsolved murder dating back a decade. The race is on, and if MØrck doesn't win this one, Department Q will be closed. Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

The seventh book in the best-selling "Department Q" series finds Copenhagen Det. Carl MØrck contending with an unsolved murder case, the troubled past of a member of his team, and the possible end of his department. [See Prepub Alert, 3/13/17.] Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Scandinavian crime fiction fans will find bestseller Adler-Olsen's seventh Department Q novel (after 2015's The Hanging Girl) satisfyingly dark, both in tone and content. Carl Mørck, the cantankerous head of Department Q (Copenhagen's cold-case division), seeks a connection between the murder of an elderly woman and a similar crime more than a decade earlier. With looming budget cuts threatening the very existence of Department Q and a crime documentary program's production crew dogging his every move, Mørck must also deal with the mental unraveling of his assistant, Rose Knudsen, whose nightmarish past comes to light after she inexplicably vanishes. When Mørck and his team discover that a series of brutal hit-and-run murders targeting young women are connected with not only the cold case but Rose's disappearance, they must locate her before it's too late. The parallel story lines make this an undeniable page-turner, but the portrayal of female characters as morally bankrupt and/or irreparably damaged may strike some readers as chauvinistic. (Sept.) Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Unable to find links between the murder of an elderly woman in a Copenhagen park and another unsolved case that is unsettlingly similar, Detective Carl M²rck of Department Q finds his job and division on the line.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Detective Carl M²rck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl M²rck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery. Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past--a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet--perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved murder investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young woman are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past--a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet--perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved murder investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young woman are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past--a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.