Happy to be nappy

bell hooks, 1952-

Book - 2017

Celebrates the joy and beauty of nappy hair.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jBOARD BOOK/Hooks
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jBOARD BOOK/Hooks Checked In
Children's Room jBOARD BOOK/Hooks Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Board books
Published
Los Angeles : Disney, Jump at the Sun 2017.
Edition
Second board book edition
Language
English
Item Description
Cover title.
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781484788417
1484788419
Main Author
bell hooks, 1952- (author)
Other Authors
Christopher Raschka (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Ages 2^-5. With all the current fuss about Herron's Nappy Hair (1997), this picture-book celebration of happy nappy hair will be welcome. And who better to do it than the great black feminist writer hooks, whose adult books include the powerful memoir Bone Black: Memories of Girlhood (1996), and Raschka, whose fine picture books include Yo! Yes? (1993). This book is less a children's story than a greeting card with just one exuberant message; but adults and small children will enjoy sharing the joyful words and the playful color wash pictures with thick black lines. Every page shows that there are all kinds of ways for small girls to be nappy and happy, their hair "full of frizz and fuzz . . . smooth or patted down, pulled tight, cut close, or just let go . . . to let girls go running free." ((Reviewed August 1999)) Copyright 2000 Booklist Reviews

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This joyous ode to hair may well restart conversations that began last year with the controversy over Carolivia Herron's Nappy Hair. Bubbling over with affection, and injecting a strong self-esteem boost for girls, hooks's ebullient, poetic text celebrates the innate beauty and freedom of hair that's "soft like cotton,/ flower petal billowy soft, full of frizz and fuzz." Waxing poetic about "short tight naps" or "plaited strands all," hooks conjures all the lovely varieties of hairstyles that "let girls go running free." She sings the praises of "girlpie hair," subtly reinforcing her theme with a chorus of descriptive words like "halo" and "crown." She also evokes the intimate warmth of mother-daughter time "sitting still for hands to brush or braid and make the day start hopefully." A powerful, uplifting and, above all, buoyantly fun read-aloud, the text receives a superb visual interpretation by Raschka (Like Likes Like). A master of minimalism, he works here in nuanced, impressionistic watercolors and suggests his subjects with a quick stroke of the brush here, a graceful sweep of line there. Bolstering the theme of individuality, he provides softly shaded washes of varying hue that set off the dazzling array of hairstyles like an aura and create a rhythmic flow of color across the pages. Broad swoops conjure curls and braids, quick stripes of colors make barrettes, and tiny dots create beads. Though clearly of particular interest to African-American girls, the infectious energy and spirit of this volume will appeal to all readers. Ages 4-8. (Sept.) Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

K-Gr 3-A short, rhythmic tribute to little girls with "nappy" locks. "Girlpie hair smells clean/and sweet/is soft like cotton,/flower petal billowy soft,/full of frizz and fuzz." Raschka's illustrations are a perfect accompaniment to the brief, handwritten cursive text. They bring out the spirit behind hooks's writing and have great child appeal. With only watercolor-washed squares as background, the whimsical figures dance and caper. Reduced to the simplest childlike element, they nevertheless convey emotion and movement with the curve of a mouth or the jut of a hip. Using broad brush strokes, the artist creates fantastic hair that curls, whirls, and flows across the page or flips and piles over heads. This title is sure to invite comparisons to Carolivia Herron's Nappy Hair (Knopf, 1997). Hooks's text is gentler, a single, almost dreamy, literary voice. It is less personal than the lively call-and-response device found in Herron's book, which is full of the loving, yet pointed teasing of a large, close-knit family. Both authors, in their different ways, have written joyous celebrations that give hair a life of its own and encourage self-acceptance.-Karen James, Louisville Free Public Library, KY Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

An exuberant, rhythmic, read-aloud celebration of the beauty and joy of "nappy" hair gives many reasons why young African-American children should be proud of who they are. 40,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The groundbreaking picture book by legendary author bell hooks and multi-Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka that celebrates hair, perfect for fans of Hair Love and I Love My Hair!Happy with hair all short and strong. Happy with locks that twist and curl.Just all girl happy! Happy to be nappy hair!Nominated for an NAACP Image Award, here is a buoyantly fun read aloud brimming with playful -- and powerful -- affirmations.