About a dog

Jenn McKinlay

Book - 2017

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Mckinlay Jenn
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Mckinlay Jenn Due May 28, 2022
Series
McKinlay, Jenn. Bluff Point romance.
Subjects
Genres
Love stories
Published
New York : Berkley Sensation 2017.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
x, 305 pages ; 18 cm
ISBN
9780399584718
0399584714
Main Author
Jenn McKinlay (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Mackenzie "Mac" Harris has not been a big fan of nuptial ceremonies ever since her own wedding imploded at the altar seven years ago, when her husband-to-be ran off with her lifelong nemesis. Mac has been best friends with Emma Tolliver since grade school, however, and if Emma wants her to be a part of her upcoming wedding, then Mac will just have to suck it up and return to Bluff Point for the two weeks it takes to get Emma hitched. There is, however, just one teensy, weensy problem about returning home: the very likely possibility of seeing Gavin Tolliver, Emma's younger brother and the man with whom Mac spent one totally unplanned, totally unforgettable night. Readers who love the sassy humor McKinlay (A Likely Story, 2015) deploys in her cozy mysteries will discover she is equally adept at injecting deliciously dry wit into her romance debut. With a perfect sense of comic timing and a gift for creating endearingly eccentric characters—including an adorable dog who threatens to steal every scene she is in—McKinlay delivers a sweetly satisfying contemporary romance that will have readers sitting up and begging for more. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

McKinlay, best known for cozy mysteries (Better Late than Never), skillfully handles the transition to romantic comedy in a series opener set in present-day small-town New England. Mackenzie Harris hasn't been back to Bluff Point, Maine, since she was dramatically left at the altar by her fiancé, and she's only returning now to fulfill maid of honor duties for her best friend Emma. The only secret Mac keeps from her best friend is that after being dumped she slept with Emma's younger brother, Gavin—and seven years later, attentive, handsome Gavin is her escort for the wedding. When sparks begin to fly, Mac tries to remember she is a no-nonsense accountant who's only home for two weeks, but the sexy veterinarian and an irresistible dog have other ideas. McKinlay's novel is a refreshing change from predictable return-to-hometown-and-reconcile-with-ex stories. Despite the lack of real conflict, the story has charm and appeal, due to well-drawn characters with enjoyable personalities. Fans of Jill Shalvis, Kristan Higgins, and Kate Angell will enjoy this romance and look forward to future installments. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (June) Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Returning home to Bluff Point, Maine, to attend a friend’s wedding, Mackenzie Harris, after rescuing a stray puppy, must face Gavin Tolliver, the town’s veterinarian—and the brother of her ex-fiancé who left her at the altar—and, with a little canine coercion, gets a second chance at love with Mr. Right. By a New York Times best-selling author. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Fall in love with a little help from man’s best friend in New York Times bestselling author Jenn McKinlay’s contemporary romance debut.Mackenzie “Mac” Harris fled her hometown of Bluff Point, Maine, after being left at the altar—and seeking solace in the arms of her best friend’s off-limits brother. Now, seven years later, she’s back to attend her best friend’s wedding—safe, or so she thinks, from the mistakes of her youth.But Gavin Tolliver has never forgotten the woman who has always held his heart. And when Mac rescues a stray puppy named Tulip, only Gavin, the town’s veterinarian, can help. With a little assistance from Tulip, Gavin vows to make Mac realize that their feelings are more than just puppy love...