Sheltering rain

Jojo Moyes, 1969-

Book - 2013

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Moyes Jojo
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Moyes Jojo Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Love stories
Published
New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers 2013.
Edition
First William Morrow paperback [edition]
Language
English
Physical Description
viii, 437 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780062297693
0062297694
Main Author
Jojo Moyes, 1969- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Tempestuous mother-daughter relationships, with their psychologically rich undertones of repressed jealousy, transparent contempt, and perceived disapproval, form the crux of Moyes' accomplished debut novel. Set in a remote Irish village, and mining the popular "my mother never understood me" genre with a potent and provocative tale of three generations of Ballantyne women, Moyes' tale reveals with empathic sensitivity the heavy emotional baggage burdening each woman. There's Sabine, a headstrong, petulant, and typically resentful teenager, perpetually at odds with her mother, Kate, a thirtysomething woman whose self-image is measured by a string of disastrous love affairs, and who is troubled by an equally strained relationship with her own mother, Joy, the matriarch whose rigid reserve safeguards painful personal and family secrets. Comparisons to Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher will be inevitable and not altogether undeserved, and in style and substance Moyes is a worthy addition to their ranks. Fluidly paced and cast with engaging characters, Moyes' book offers escapist entertainment in the best tradition of those masters of British Isles domestic fiction. ((Reviewed May 1, 2002)) Copyright 2002 Booklist Reviews

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Touchy relationships among several generations of mothers and daughters mark this first novel by British journalist Moyes. Chapters alternate between the early days of Joy and Edward Ballayntyne's marriage in Hong Kong and their present-day struggles with London-based daughter Kate and granddaughter Sabine. At 15, Sabine despises her single mother, whose frequent change of boyfriends keeps their household in flux. While Kate irons out her latest man problem, she sends Sabine to live on the family estate in Ireland with her estranged parents, whose passion is horse breeding. Grandmother is coldly stern, and grandfather is ancient and bedridden. Their employee, Thom, teaches Sabine to ride horses, a pastime that thaws the teenager's sullenness. When Kate visits Ireland for the first time since she fled ten years earlier, she is amazed to find her daughter not only happily tending horses but also her difficult grandparents. But while things may be healing on the home front, Kate's romantic life is still turbulent: she encounters an old flame from her younger days on the estate, which reopens old wounds. The Irish setting and warmly described family relationships will appeal to fans of Maeve Binchy. Recommended. Carol J. Bissett, New Braunfels P.L., TX Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Loosely based on the story of her own grandparents, Sheltering Rain is the impressive debut of U.K. author Jojo Moyes. Joy and her husband, edward, meet during coronation festivities in Hong Kong in 1953. Forty years later, they are living on a ramshackle Irish estate, where edward's health is rapidly declining. Their spunky granddaughter Sabine arrives and is at first miserable in the grim surroundings. Weeks later, she is followed by her flighty mother, Kate, from whom Joy has been estranged for years. There are plenty of fireworks among the three and the strong supporting cast as old secrets come to the surface in this absorbing family drama. National advertising. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A family drama set in the Irish countryside focuses on three generations of women who are reunited after decades of separation and estrangement.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes the touching, unforgettable story of three generations of Irish women faced with the fundamental truths of love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites mothers and daughters. Estranged from her mother since she ran away from her rural Irish home as a young woman, Kate swore a future oath that she’d always be a friend to her daughter, Sabine. But history has a way of repeating itself, and Kate now faces an ever-widening chasm between herself and her daughter. With Sabine about to make her own journey to Ireland to see the grandmother Kate abandoned, Kate is left wondering how they ever made it here, and what she can do to close the gap between them.  For Joy, seeing her granddaughter is a dream come true. After the painful separation from Kate, she’s looking forward to having time with Sabine. Yet almost as soon as the young woman arrives, the lack of common ground between them deflates her enthusiasm. And when Sabine’s impetuous, inquisitive nature forces Joy to face long-buried secrets from her past, she realizes that perhaps it’s time to finally heal old wounds.“This perceptive…novel does the mother-and-daughter thing in page-turning style.”--Elle 

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes the touching, unforgettable story of three generations of Irish women faced with the fundamental truths of love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites mothers and daughters. Estranged from her mother since she ran away from her rural Irish home as a young woman, Kate swore a future oath that she'd always be a friend to her daughter, Sabine. But history has a way of repeating itself, and Kate now faces an ever-widening chasm between herself and her daughter. With Sabine about to make her own journey to Ireland to see the grandmother Kate abandoned, Kate is left wondering how they ever made it here, and what she can do to close the gap between them.  For Joy, seeing her granddaughter is a dream come true. After the painful separation from Kate, she's looking forward to having time with Sabine. Yet almost as soon as the young woman arrives, the lack of common ground between them deflates her enthusiasm. And when Sabine's impetuous, inquisitive nature forces Joy to face long-buried secrets from her past, she realizes that perhaps it's time to finally heal old wounds.'this perceptive'novel does the mother-and-daughter thing in page-turning style.'--Elle