The hundred lies of Lizzie Lovett

Chelsea Sedoti

Book - 2017

When popular Lizzie Lovett goes missing, seventeen-year-old Hawthorne, a lonely misfit, finds herself becoming obsessed with solving the mystery.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Sedoti Chelsea
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Sedoti Chelsea Checked In
Subjects
Published
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire [2017]
Language
English
Physical Description
387 pages
ISBN
9781492636083
1492636088
Main Author
Chelsea Sedoti (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

When Lizzie Lovett goes missing, Hawthorn becomes obsessed—how could something bad happen to beautiful, popular Lizzie, who always seemed immune to pain? Hawthorn, who's always coveted Lizzie's seemingly easy existence, goes to desperate, nearly crazy lengths to explain her disappearance, and in the process of her investigation, she befriends Lizzie's 25-year-old boyfriend, Enzo, who indulges her bizarre quest (more than he should) and makes Hawthorn feel like less of an outsider. But she becomes so caught up in her search that she finds herself even more alienated, and when the truth finally comes out, Hawthorn is forced to examine her own choices. Sedoti's debut offers an enlightening look at the dangers of relying on outward appearances to judge someone's character, and Hawthorn's first-person narrative, filled with obsessive thoughts and, eventually, meaningful reflection, is a lively, engaging vehicle for the story. A rich cast of secondary characters, including Hawthorn's family and a caravan of hippies camping in her backyard, adds depth. Fans of character-driven novels will appreciate this. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

At 17, Hawthorn Creely is only four years younger than Lizzie Lovett, a local woman who has gone missing from a nearby campsite. Hawthorn, still holding a grudge after being dismissed by Lizzie years earlier, becomes fixated on the older girl's life since high school. Under the guise of investigating her paranormal theory behind Lizzie's disappearance, Hawthorn befriends Lizzie's boyfriend, begins waitressing at the diner where she worked, and visits places Lizzie frequented. But Hawthorn's true motivation often seems to meander from the missing woman: "Maybe, if I showed the world that werewolves existed, people would stop asking me about my plans for the future. No one would care about the future, because I would have already proven myself, accomplished something great." Hawthorn is self-involved, shortsighted, and often selfish, but Sedoti deftly pulls readers into her head where her yearning for excitement, angst about the future, and insecurity bring further depth to her character. Hawthorn and Lizzie both emerge as surprising, intricate characters whose stories are resonant and memorable. Ages 14–up. Agent: Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Jan.) Copyright 2016 Publisher Weekly Annex.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Lonely misfit high school senior Hawthorn Creely finds respite from pressure at school and at home by searching for a missing student: popular Lizzie Lovett. There are no clues, burning secrets, or great reveals surrounding Lizzie's disappearance. Instead, Hawthorn's wildly creative imagination and humor drive this mystery's plot forward. In a somewhat disturbing turn of events, she steps into Lizzie's life, taking the missing girl's old job and becoming involved with her boyfriend, Enzo. Hawthorn's insecurities and eventual self-discovery comprise the central themes of the novel as she navigates dates, dances, mean girls, and social isolation. Ultimately, Sundog, a visiting hippie, gives Hawthorn sensible spiritual guidance: "Some people are born knowing their paths from the start. The rest of us take a while to get there." Sage advice indeed. Some readers may be put off by the lack of a traditional whodunit story line as well as by Hawthorn's sometimes odd responses to situations, while other readers may find her eccentricities refreshingly honest and recognize an authentic teen voice. Some mature situations, including sex and drinking, are woven throughout. VERDICT Recommended for teens who appreciate a protagonist with a lively imagination and an acerbic tongue.—Eva Thaler-Sroussi, Glencoe Public Library, IL. Copyright 2016 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Unable to resist the missing-persons case of Lizzie Lovett, misfit Hawthorn Creely formulates a theory that is disregarded as too absurd before Hawthorn immerses herself in the missing girl's life, taking Lizzie's job and boyfriend, to determine what happened.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

When popular Lizzie Lovett goes missing, seventeen-year-old Hawthorne, a lonely misfit, finds herself becoming obsessed with solving the mystery.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a comedic young adult mystery with "one of the most relatable characters in recent young adult literature" (Book Page), perfect for fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson. Hawthorn Creely's not one to get involved in other people's business. But a missing person's investigation? That's another matter...Hawthorn wasn't trying to insert herself into a missing person's investigation. Or maybe she was. But that's only because Lizzie Lovett's disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don't happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she'll turn up at any moment—which means the time for speculation is now.So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie's disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously...at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie's life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie's boyfriend. After all, it's not as if he killed her—or did he?Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself. Perfect for buyers looking for:funny books for teens character-driven coming-of-age stories the young adult books best sellers 2017Also by Chelsea Sedoti: It Came from the SkyAs You WishPraise for The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett: "A dark, comedic mystery about a girl's quest for proof that ultimately helps her discover some truths about herself. We officially love Hawthorn. [O]ffbeat, smart and awesome."—Justine Magazine "Sedoti's debut offers an enlightening look at the dangers of relying on outward appearances to judge someone's character, and Hawthorn's first-person narrative, filled with obsessive thoughts and, eventually, meaningful reflection, is a lively, engaging vehicle for the story... Fans of character-driven novels will appreciate this."—Booklist "Hawthorn and Lizzie both emerge as surprising, intricate characters whose stories are resonant and memorable."—Publishers Weekly "Hawthorn is an engaging young woman with a vivid imagination...With an interesting and diverse supporting cast, this novel is full of topics that are relevant to teens: bullying, self-esteem, family dynamics, and suicide. Highly recommended."—Shelf Awarenes