A closed and common orbit

Becky Chambers

Book - 2017

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Chambers, Becky
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Chambers, Becky Due Jul 16, 2022
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Chambers Becky Due Jul 14, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Published
New York, NY : Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2017]
Edition
First US edition
Language
English
Physical Description
367 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780062569400
0062569406
Main Author
Becky Chambers (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

At the end of A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Lovelace, the artificial intelligence (AI) of the starship Wayfarer, had undergone a hard reboot that wiped out her former personality. She decides to leave the ship in an illegal body kit and try to make a new life on Port Coriol with engineers Pepper and Blue. Lovelace, now known as Sidra, struggles to find a place where she belongs while hiding that she is an AI. Her chapters alternate with flashbacks to the struggles of a child called Jane who was raised in a brutal dehumanizing factory, who has a significant bond with a different AI. As with her amazing debut, the power of Chamber's second space opera is in her appealing characters. VERDICT While readers might initially be disappointed to leave the Wayfarer behind, they will quickly find this an equally compelling story that gains intimacy with its smaller focus. Her protagonists might not all be human, but they possess more humanity than most.—MM Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

This worthy sequel to Chambers's lovely debut, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, again features marvelously detailed aliens, a universe full of carefully observed peculiarities, and a friendly, soothing atmosphere. This time, though, there's more emotional weight and depth, adding a necessary ominous shading to Chambers's generally calming voice. It's illegal for AIs to have bodies that can be mistaken for those of other sentient beings, but Lovelace downloaded herself into a human-form body on her first day of existence, more to help her ship's crew than by her real choice. Now, assisted by friendly tech Pepper, Lovelace has to figure out her new identity and make a new life for herself, including how to hack various portions of her own code to keep from being caught and destroyed. Simultaneously, Pepper's backstory as a cloned factory slave on a rogue planet that doesn't adhere to galactic laws is brought to the forefront, since not everything from her past can or should remain in the past. Chambers's clean, careful prose and beautiful pacing and structure keep the narrative engrossing from beginning to end. (Mar.) Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A spaceship’s artificial intelligence, Lovelace, wakes up in a new body with no memory of her prior existence and must learn to negotiate the universe. By the author of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Original. 25,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

National Bestseller!Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera—the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for—and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

National Bestseller!Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera'the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for'and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.