1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Brown, Sandra
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Brown, Sandra Checked In
1st Floor FICTION/Brown Sandra Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
New York : Grand Central Publishing 2016.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
408 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781455581214
9781455581207
1455581208
Main Author
Sandra Brown, 1948- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Shaw Kinnard is hired to help assassinate Jordie Bennet, the sister of the accountant involved in an infamous financial scam. Her brother, Josh, made a deal with the FBI in exchange for details about the man he worked with. But Josh escapes the FBI, and his old boss now wants Jordie dead, then Josh. And everyone wants the $30 million that never reappeared after the con. Shaw takes out the first hit man and kidnaps Jordie. He keeps her for 36 hours, until she wounds him and then gets help. During her captivity, she is interrogated about everything she knows about Josh's whereabouts. She and Shaw also start falling for each other. When she is under FBI protection, she learns that Shaw is not who he said he was, and they have to work together to try and save themselves and Josh. Prolific, best-selling Brown crafts facets and depths of characters in a taut novel full of surprises. Fans of Linda Howard and Julie Garwood may also enjoy this. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

When Shaw Kinnard encounters the incongruously elegant Jordie Bennet in a seen-better-days bayou bar, it's not love at first sight. He's there to kill her. Instead, he abducts her, eager to get hold of the $30 million her brother has pocketed from his badly bent boss. Now they are on the run from said boss—and the FBI. Brown's last title, 2015's Friction, debuted at the top of the New York Times best sellers list, which explains the 400,000-copy first printing. [Page 88]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This exceptional romantic thriller from bestseller Brown (Friction) pairs Shaw Kinnard, a handsome hired killer, and his beautiful target, Jordie Bennett, the owner of a New Orleans event-planning business, in a spirited contest of wills and wiles. Rather than kill Jordie, Shaw kidnaps her from a bar in the boondocks of Louisiana, hoping for a bigger slice of money. Jordie's crooked brother, Josh Bennett, helped his boss, Billy Panella, defraud investors of some $30 million, and Jordie may be the key for Shaw to get a share of the loot. No one knows the whereabouts of Billy—or Josh since he escaped from federal protective custody. Brown doesn't neglect other key figures, such as the two FBI agents searching for Billy and Josh, but the principal focus never strays far from the sexual tension between Shaw and Jordie: her aim to stay alive and his to squeeze from her the information he needs. Brown handles the romance with her usual panache and adds some nifty plot twists that will keep readers guessing. Agent: Maria Carvainis, Maria Carvainis Agency. (Aug.) [Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Changing his mind about his crime partner's abduction of Jordie Bennet, Shaw Kinnard flees with his elegant captive from the FBI and her brother's corrupt boss while trying to ignore the chemistry that challenges their escape.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Changing his mind about his crime partner's abduction of wealthy party planner Jordie Bennet, seductive bad boy Shaw Kinnard flees with his elegant captive from the FBI and her brother's corrupt boss while trying to ignore the chemistry that challenges their escape. By the #1 New York Times best-selling author of Mean Streak. Reprint.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A savvy businesswoman and an assassin struggle to outwit the FBI -- and each other -- in this #1 NYT bestselling story of sizzling romance and shocking deception from "a masterful storyteller" (USA Today). When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something sparks. Shaw is a man who gives off a dangerous vibe that makes other men stand back and women take notice. No one feels this more strongly than Jordie, a woman who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. As Shaw takes aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. Instead, Shaw has other plans. He abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen. But he isn't the only one: Jordie's brother made a deal with the FBI, but his ruthless boss will stop at nothing to find the money first. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits to stay alive. Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, Jordie and Shaw play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but he suspects her from the start. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in this deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers -- and for each other -- this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last. With nonstop plot twists and the sizzling sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's most beloved authors, Sting will keep you on the edge of your seat until its final pages.