Little Dee and the penguin

Christopher Baldwin, 1973-

Book - 2016

After her park ranger father dies, Little Dee is swept off on an adventure with a group of animals as they try to protect their penguin friend from being eaten by a pair of hungry polar bears.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Baldwin
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Baldwin Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Baldwin Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Graphic novels
Published
New York, New York : Dial Books for Young Readers [2016]
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781101994290
1101994290
9780803741089
0803741081
Main Author
Christopher Baldwin, 1973- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

An orphaned girl gets adopted. Three animals in the forest set out to eat lunch. A penguin must find his way back to Antarctica. In any other world, this would be three separate stories, but in Baldwin's graphic novel, they are one and the same. When Ted, a bighearted bear; Vachel, a sarcastic and irritable vulture; and Blake, the dim-witted and lovable dog, set out for a picnic in the forest, they never expected to find Dee, the recently orphaned daughter of the forest's park ranger. Without saying a word, she leads her three new friends on a whirlwind rescue mission to deliver Paisley, the lost penguin, back to his family. While the humor is abundant, some jokes fall a little flat as the animals never stray too far from their distinct personalities (e.g., Vachel the vulture really likes food). Despite this, young readers will delight in the cartoonish full-color illustrations and round-the-world, fast-paced adventures while taking comfort in the final lesson—you need just love to make a family. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 4–6—Hilarity ensues when Paisley the penguin, far from her native Antarctica, recruits a sarcastic vulture, a dim-witted dog, and a kindhearted bear to take her home. Along with them is Dee, an orphan girl who inserts herself into the adventure. Dee never says a word but always manages to get her point across. While making their way to the South Pole, the group befriend various indigenous creatures, as they simultaneously fend off a pair of deranged polar bears who have been pursuing Paisley the whole time. Baldwin's crisp, bright art and clever text create a noteworthy tale. The characters have distinct personalities, and whether cheerful, clueless, or annoying, they draw readers into an emotionally well-rounded story with a satisfying conclusion. This full-color, laugh-out-loud work has an abundance of adventure, charm, and notable characters. VERDICT A feel-good offering about friends, family, and love, this book is a winner for middle grade graphic novel fans.—Gaye Hinchliff, King County Library System, WA [Page 141]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

After her park ranger father dies, Little Dee is swept off on an adventure with a group of animals as they try to protect their penguin friend from being eaten by a pair of hungry polar bears.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The popular webcomic cartoonist presents a graphic novel adventure starring orphan Little Dee, who when faced with an uncertain future after the death of her father is adopted into a motley crew of wilderness animals that are on the run from hungry polar bears and other predators. Simultaneous.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Graphic novel fans will love this hilarious animal adventure by webcomic creator Christopher Baldwin'perfect for readers of Dan Santat's Sidekicks, Ben Hatke's Zita the Spacegirl, and Berkeley Breathed's Bloom CountyWhen Little Dee meets a motley crew of animals deep in the forest, she knows she's found the perfect set of new friends. Between the bossy vulture, the slightly dim dog, the nurturing bear, and the happy-go-lucky penguin, this mismatched group of big personalities doesn't always get along'but they're a family.   And they're on the run. A pair of hungry polar bears are after the penguin, and the rest of the team are determined to protect her. They're not interested in adopting a tiny human. But Dee loves them'especially Ted the bear'and she won't let them go. Instead, she hops on their getaway plane and joins them on an around-the-world adventure.   This hilarious and heartwarming story is the perfect addition to any graphic novel reader's library.