Here comes Valentine Cat

Deborah Underwood

Book - 2016

"Cat does not want to send a valentine to anyone, until some unexpected gifts from the dog next door make him change his mind"--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

j394.2618/Underwood
8 / 8 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Children's Room j394.2618/Underwood Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
New York, New York : Dial Books for Young Readers [2016]
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 19 x 22 cm
ISBN
9780525429159
0525429158
Main Author
Deborah Underwood (author)
Other Authors
Claudia Rueda (illustrator)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Given Cat's previous attempts to stand in for the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, and the Tooth Fairy, readers might expect some Cupid-style matchmaking from the mischievous feline in his fourth outing. But Cat's feelings toward the dog next door are far from loving: "Roses are Red/ Violets are Blue/ Who's the Worst Neighbor?/ I think it's you!" reads his proposed valentine. The interplay between the unseen narrator's prompts and Cat's sardonic, silent replies is as wickedly fun as ever—Underwood and Rueda clearly know how well sweet and salty go together. Ages 3–5. Author's agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary Agency. (Dec.) [Page ]. Copyright 2015 PWxyz LLC

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

PreS-Gr 2—In this creatively presented holiday title, an unidentified narrator speaks directly to Cat, trying to convince the disgruntled feline to make a valentine for a friend. The narrator insists that the holiday "doesn't have to be all mushy." The conversation continues with Cat communicating through eloquently illustrated signs. One sign shows a particularly dastardly portrait of Cat's new canine neighbor. Cat automatically rejects the idea of sending a friendly valentine to Dog. Dog is noisy and keeps throwing things over the fence. Cat vehemently clings to the opinion that dogs are mean and undeserving of Valentine's wishes until an unexpected event changes everything. The humorous ink and color pencil illustrations of the stout, sand-colored kitty will endear Cat to young readers, and they will appreciate the lesson Cat learns: don't jump to conclusions about your friends because everything is not always as it appears. VERDICT The story's singular narrative style and simple but expressive illustrations will make it a favorite during the month of February. Pair it with Laura Malone Elliott's A String of Hearts (HarperCollins, 2010).—Linda L. Walkins, Saint Joseph Preparatory High School, Boston, MA [Page 96]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Cat does not want to send a valentine to anyone, until some unexpected gifts from the dog next door make him change his mind"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Cat intends to forego mushy Valentine's Day activities but changes his mind when the dog next door begins tossing things over the fence.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A latest adventure starring the intrepid feline from Here Comes Santa Cat finds Cat eschewing mushy Valentine's Day activities and clashing with annoying new next-door neighbor Dog, who keeps tossing things over the fence.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day! Full of humor and heart, this picture book is perfect for fans of Bad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Elephant and Piggie books, and of course, Cat’s other capers, including Here Comes the Easter Cat, Here Comes Santa Cat, and Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat.   Cat does NOT like Valentine's Day. It's much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry "valentine" telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge.A great Valentine's Day gift for any age—read it on Valentine's Day and year-round!"A charmer." —The Washington Post? “Wickedly fun.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review“Endearing . . . beautifully pitched comic timing.” —Kirkus “Fresh and satisfying . . . Empowers kids.” —BCCB“Simple but expressive . . . A favorite.” —SLJ