The bands of mourning

Brandon Sanderson

Book - 2016

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Sanderso Brandon
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Sanderso Brandon Checked In
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Sanderso Brandon Checked In
Sanderson, Brandon. Mistborn.
Fantasy fiction
New York : Tor 2016.
First U.S. edition
Item Description
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Physical Description
447 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Main Author
Brandon Sanderson (author)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

The sixth Mistborn industrial revolution fantasy (after Shadows of Self)—and the second featuring crime-fighter Waxillium Ladrian and his sidekick, Wayne—is more steampunk than dystopian. The novel kicks off with Wax's wedding to Lady Steris, but the festivities are put on hold after an inconvenient flood, and then Wax learns that Harmony, one of the Faceless Immortals, is incommunicado. Soon Wax and Wayne head off to hunt for the Bands of Mourning, a mythical artifact associated with long-defeated Lord Ruler. This quest is classic Sanderson, with magic, intrigue, and witty repartee. All the familiar elements from the earlier Mistborn novels are here, including the metal-based magics of allomancy, feruchemy, and the forbidden art of hemalurgy (about which more is revealed over the course of this story). Open questions from earlier adventures are finally addressed, and Sanderson skillfully weaves in new opportunities for the dynamic duo's next adventure. Die-hard fans will be delighted to finally learn more about the mysterious southern lands they've previously heard about in passing. Agent: Joshua Bilmes, JABberwocky Literary Agency. (Jan.) [Page ]. Copyright 2015 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When a researcher returns to Elendel with images of a mythical Lord Ruler artifact, believed to grant wearers his power, Waxillium Ladrian conducts an investigation in the southern city of New Seran, where he makes unsettling discoveries about the true goals of The Set.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

With The Alloy of Law and Shadows of Self, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Timesbestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after the action of the trilogy, in a period corresponding to late 19th-century America.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn series is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action.Three hundred years after the events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity, with railroads to supplement the canals, electric lighting in the streets and the homes of the wealthy, and the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for the clouds.The Bands of Mourning are the mythical metal minds owned by the Lord Ruler, said to grant anyone who wears them the powers that the Lord Ruler had at his command. Hardly anyone thinks they really exist. A kandra researcher has returned to Elendel with images that seem to depict the Bands, as well as writings in a language that no one can read. Waxillium Ladrian is recruited to travel south to the city of New Seran to investigate. Along the way he discovers hints that point to the true goals of his uncle Edwarn and the shadowy organization known as The Set.Other Tor books by Brandon SandersonThe CosmereThe Stormlight ArchiveThe Way of KingsWords of RadianceEdgedancer (Novella)Oathbringer The Mistborn trilogyMistborn: The Final EmpireThe Well of AscensionThe Hero of AgesMistborn: The Wax and Wayne seriesAlloy of LawShadows of SelfBands of MourningCollectionArcanum UnboundedOther Cosmere novelsElantrisWarbreakerThe Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians seriesAlcatraz vs. the Evil LibrariansThe Scrivener's BonesThe Knights of CrystalliaThe Shattered LensThe Dark TalentThe Rithmatist seriesThe RithmatistOther books by Brandon SandersonThe ReckonersSteelheartFirefightCalamity