The outsorcerer's apprentice

Tom Holt, 1961-

Book - 2014

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Holt Tom
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Holt Tom Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York, NY : Orbit 2014.
Edition
First U.S. edition
Language
English
Item Description
Includes "extras."
Physical Description
387 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780316368797
0316368792
Main Author
Tom Holt, 1961- (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

The inhabitants of a fairy-tale-like kingdom have lived the same way for centuries: slaying dragons, dealing with wolves dressed as elderly grandmothers, fighting dwarf armies, etc. Everything is overseen by the wizard. But when Prince Florizel, the new heir to the local throne, arrives on the scene, something changes. Florizel is not from their world. He has traveled there by way of a doughnut (a technology explored in Holt's 2013 novel, Doughnut) and realizes that the wizard has been using the inhabitants of this world as cheap labor. VERDICT Light as air, this novel might not stick with you long after you read it, but it certainly is entertaining, especially in the ingenious ways that the wizard has found to make money off the fairy-tale denizens. Holt (Blonde Bombshell) has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore. [Page 65]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A wizard's delicate balance of employees, including a dragon slayer, the Big Bad Wolf, and goblins, is thrown into disarray by a young, clueless outsider.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"A happy workforce, it is said, is a productive workforce. Mmmm. Try telling that to an army of belligerent goblins. Or the Big Bad Wolf. Or a professional dragons layer. Who is looking after their well-being? Who gives a damn about their intolerable working conditions, lack of adequate health insurance, and terrible coffee in the canteen? Thankfully, with access to an astonishingly diverse workforce and limitless natural resources, maximizing revenue and improving operating profit has never really been an issue for the one they call "the Wizard." Until now. Because now a perfectly good business model -- based on sound fiscal planning, entrepreneurial flair, and only one or two of the infinite parallel worlds that make up our universe -- is about to be disrupted by a young man not entirely aware of what's going on. There's also a slight risk that the fabric of reality will be torn to shreds. You really do have to be awfully careful with these things."--Page 4 of cover.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A wizard's delicate balance of employees—including a dragon slayer, the Big Bad Wolf, goblins and other fantastical creatures—is thrown into disarray by a young, clueless outsider. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A happy workforce, it is said, is a productive workforce. Mmmm.Try telling that to an army of belligerent goblins. Or the Big Bad Wolf. Or a professional dragons layer. Who is looking after their well-being? Who gives a damn about their intolerable working conditions, lack of adequate health insurance, and terrible coffee in the canteen?Thankfully, with access to an astonishingly diverse workforce and limitless natural resources, maximizing revenue and improving operating profit has never really been an issue for the one they call "the Wizard." Until now. Because now a perfectly good business model -- based on sound fiscal planning, entrepreneurial flair, and only one or two of the infinite parallel worlds that make up our universe -- is about to be disrupted by a young man not entirely aware of what's going on. There's also a slight risk that the fabric of reality will be torn to shreds. You really do have to be awfully careful with these things.