If you stay

Courtney Cole

Book - 2014

"For fans of Jessica Sorensen, J.A. Redmerski, and Abbi Glines... Twenty-four-year-old Pax Tate is an asshole. Seriously. He's a tattooed, rock-hard bad boy with a tough attitude to match. His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with an intense guilt that he doesn't understand. What he does know is that he and his dad were left alone, and they have never been close. Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the black void in his soul. He pretends th...at the emptiness isn't there and this has always worked. until he meets Mila. Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air that Pax has never known in his life. He doesn't know how to not hurt her-but he quickly realizes that he'd better figure it out because he needs her to breathe. When the memories of his mother's death resurface to haunt Pax, Mila is there to save him from his overwhelming guilt. Mila restores his broken heart, even as she evokes his powerful, sexual desires. Now for Pax to keep Mila, he needs to work on his issues-and stop being an asshole. But is that enough to make her stay?"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Cole Courtney
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Cole Courtney Checked In
Series
Beautifully broken ; bk. 1
Subjects
Genres
Bildungsromans
Published
New York : Forever 2014.
Language
English
Physical Description
pages cm
ISBN
9781455550814
1455550817
Main Author
Courtney Cole (-)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Cole (Dante's Girl) offers a new adult take on the classic bad boy/good girl theme with her first If You Leave contemporary. Mila Hill is taking photos of Lake Michigan when she stumbles upon Pax Tate, who has overdosed on a number of substances. After she saves his life by calling an ambulance and performing CPR, Mila is drawn to find out more about this poor little rich guy who finds oblivion in drugs and alcohol. She slowly gets to know him as a damaged man whose mind is trying to shield him from a horrific childhood incident. Told in alternating first-person perspective, the story digs deep into the multitude of reasons why these two need each other so badly. Pax is hard to love, but soon the reader comes to see why Mila feels the way she does. In places, the unvarnished emotions will bring readers to tears. Gritty, raw and real. (Apr.) [Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A jaded bad boy who uses drugs and women to escape the pain of his mother's death unexpectedly falls in love with a sweet-natured girl who helps him work through traumatizing memories. By the best-selling author of Before We Fall. Reprint. 75,000 first printing

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"For fans of Jessica Sorensen, J.A. Redmerski, and Abbi Glines... Twenty-four-year-old Pax Tate is an asshole. Seriously. He's a tattooed, rock-hard bad boy with a tough attitude to match. His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with an intense guilt that he doesn't understand. What he does know is that he and his dad were left alone, and they have never been close. Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the black void in his soul. He pretends that the emptiness isn't there and this has always worked. until he meets Mila. Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air that Pax has never known in his life. He doesn't know how to not hurt her-but he quickly realizes that he'd better figure it out because he needs her to breathe. When the memories of his mother's death resurface to haunt Pax, Mila is there to save him from his overwhelming guilt. Mila restores his broken heart, even as she evokes his powerful, sexual desires. Now for Pax to keep Mila, he needs to work on hisissues-and stop being an asshole. But is that enough to make her stay?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

For fans of Jessica Sorensen, J.A. Redmerski, and Abbi Glines...

Twenty-four-year-old Pax Tate is an asshole. Seriously. He's a tattooed, rock-hard bad boy with a tough attitude to match. His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with an intense guilt that he doesn't understand. What he does know is that he and his dad were left alone, and they have never been close. Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the black void in his soul. He pretends that the emptiness isn't there and this has always worked . . . until he meets Mila.

Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air that Pax has never known in his life. He doesn't know how to not hurt her-but he quickly realizes that he'd better figure it out because he needs her to breathe. When the memories of his mother's death resurface to haunt Pax, Mila is there to save him from his overwhelming guilt. Mila restores his broken heart, even as she evokes his powerful, sexual desires. Now for Pax to keep Mila, he needs to work on his issues-and stop being an asshole. But is that enough to make her stay?