The Naturals

Jennifer Barnes

Book - 2013

"Seventeen-year-old Cassie, who has a natural ability to read people, joins an elite group of criminal profilers at the FBI in order to help solve cold cases"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Barnes Jennifer
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Barnes Jennifer Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Hyperion [2013]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
308 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781423168232
1423168232
Main Author
Jennifer Barnes (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has always had a gift for getting into people's minds. Maybe she inherited it from her psychic mother, and maybe she would ask her mother about it—if she hadn't disappeared five years ago, leaving only a bloody crime scene behind. So when tapped by the FBI to join an elite, secret team that solves cold cases related to serial killers, Cassie doesn't hesitate. Relocated to the D.C. suburbs, she meets a team of "Naturals," teens with gifts ranging from reading emotions to detecting deception, and becomes the FBI's newest profiler. In this high-adrenaline series opener, the latest spree of serial killings turns personal for Cassie when they grow increasingly more related to her mother's presumed death. And when it's obvious someone in the FBI may be involved, how can she trust or hide her emotions among the professionally trained Naturals? Grisly details and intermittent glimpses from the killer's point of view sustain the high level of suspense. Even a psychic won't anticipate all the twists and turns. Copyright 2013 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In an intense CSI-type thriller, Barnes (Nobody) lets readers inside the mind of 17-year-old Cassie Hobbes, a "Natural" profiler with the uncanny ability to piece together an individual's motives, backgrounds, and patterns of behavior. After her mother's gruesome abduction, and with her father overseas, Cassie is recruited for a special FBI program for teens like her to help solve cold cases. Cassie immediately realizes that being a Natural may be more than she bargained for, and her fellow gifted teens take getting used to, including Michael, an emotional expert who seems fascinated with Cassie's, and Dean, who just looks pissed off—mostly at her. Barnes is in her wheelhouse with this story of keenly powered teens and covert ops, and she provides an enticing inside look at the world of crime-solving through Cassie's hyperaware eyes. Cassie's pursuit by an unknown serial killer keeps things tense, as do creepy narratives from the killer. Barnes shows every card at just the right moment, catching readers off-guard at the final reveal. It's a stay-up-late-to-finish kind of book, and it doesn't disappoint. Ages 12–up. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Nov.) [Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—The FBI recruits Cassie Hobbes, 17, to be one of the Naturals, a group of teens with innate crime-solving abilities. Cassie learned how to read people from her mother, a performing psychic who disappeared five years ago and is presumed to be dead. With her father overseas in the military and her large extended Italian family in Colorado, Cassie sets out on her own to Washington, DC, to hone her skills under the tutelage of Special Agent Lacey Locke. The four other teens living in her house possess extraordinary skills as well. Mysterious Dean can read people on sight, handsome and mischievous Michael can understand people's emotions, intense and brainy Sloane can quickly analyze facts and numbers, and catty and pushy Lia can instantly detect a lie. Cassie begins her training with cold cases but is quickly swept into an ongoing investigation. Despite the best efforts of their mentors to keep them off the case, the investigation, which is personal for Cassie, requires the talents of all the teens to solve. This fast-paced series starter introduces the characters and background without losing the intensity of the plot. The murder scenes have just enough blood and gore for forensics fans. The love triangle among Cassie, Dean, and Michael will keep romance readers entertained, and the FBI cases will lure in mystery enthusiasts. The ending is resolved with just enough left open for readers to look forward to the next installment.—Lynn Rashid, Marriotts Ridge High School, Marriottsville, MD [Page 122]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Seventeen-year-old Cassie, who has a natural ability to read people, joins an elite group of criminal profilers at the FBI in order to help solve cold cases"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Possessing an almost supernatural sense of intuition that helps her read people and places, 17-year-old Cassie is recruited by the FBI to help solve infamous cold cases and is sent to live with equally talented teens comprising an elite group of criminal profilers who will have to use all their gifts in order to survive when a new killer strikes. 35,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Seventeen-year-old Cassie, who has a natural ability to read people, joins an elite group of criminal profilers at the FBI in order to help solve cold cases.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Cold cases are about to get hot. The Mentalist meets Heist Society in this exhilarating teen crime thriller.Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But, it's not a skill that she's ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they've begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.What Cassie doesn't realize is that there's more at risk than a few unsolved homicides-especially when she's sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own. Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms close. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars-Jennifer Lynn Barnes's The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series.Praise for The Naturals"The Naturals is Criminal Minds for the YA world, and I loved every page." -New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter* "[A] tightly paced suspense novel that will keep readers up until the wee hours to finish." -VOYA (starred review)"This savvy thriller grabs readers right away." -Kirkus Reviews"It's a stay-up-late-to-finish kind of book, and it doesn't disappoint." -Publishers Weekly"In this high-adrenaline series opener...even a psychic won't anticipate all the twists and turns." -Booklist

Review by Publisher Summary 5

Cold cases are about to get hot. Don’t miss this exhilarating crime thriller—perfect for fans of Criminal Minds and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder—from Jennifer Lynn Barnes, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Inheritance Games.

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But, it's not a skill that she's ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they've begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn't realize is that there's more at risk than a few unsolved homicides-especially when she's sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own. Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms close. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars-Jennifer Lynn Barnes's The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series.

Praise for The Naturals

"The Naturals is Criminal Minds for the YA world, and I loved every page." -New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter

* "[A] tightly paced suspense novel that will keep readers up until the wee hours to finish." -VOYA (starred review)

"This savvy thriller grabs readers right away." -Kirkus Reviews

"It's a stay-up-late-to-finish kind of book, and it doesn't disappoint." -Publishers Weekly

"In this high-adrenaline series opener...even a psychic won't anticipate all the twists and turns." -Booklist

Review by Publisher Summary 6

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But, it's not a skill that she's ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they've begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie. What Cassie doesn't realize is that there's more at risk than a few unsolved homicides-especially when she's sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own. Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms close. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive. Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars-Jennifer Lynn-Barnes' The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series. Praise for THE NATURALS:"The Naturals is Criminal Minds for the YA world, and I loved every page." -New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter"This savvy thriller grabs readers right away." -Kirkus Reviews "Barnes shows every card at just the right moment, catching readers off-guard at the final reveal. It's a stay-up-late-to-finish kind of book, and it doesn't disappoint." -Publishers Weekly"In this high-adrenaline series opener ...even a psychic won't anticipate all the twists and turns." -Booklist