Fortune's pawn

Rachel Bach

Book - 2013

"When professional mercenary Deviana Morris took the security guard job aboard the Glorious Fool, all she wanted was a fast route into the Devastators --- the elite league of armored fighters entrusted with the most important duty on her home planet of Paradox. But this security job isn't just twelve-hour patrols, armor-polishing, and whiskey. The supposedly-cursed Captain Caldswell keeps sending Devi and her partner into unimaginably dangerous situations. Ren, the captain's daugh...ter, is a kind of weird that Devi has never experienced before. And to top it off, there's the insufferably sexy cook, Rupert Chekov, who is far more than what he seems -- possibly even far more than human"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Bach Rachel
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Bach Rachel Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Published
New York : Orbit 2013.
Edition
1st ed
Language
English
Physical Description
340 p. ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780316221115
0316221112
Main Author
Rachel Bach (-)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Already a member of one of the most prestigious mercenary groups, Devi Morris has higher ambitions. She aspires to become one of the Devastators, the King's own mercenary guards and the most elite army of the Paradoxian Empire. To qualify, she enlists with the crew of the Glorious Fool, a trade ship with a reputation for especially dangerous encounters. Once aboard, Devi proves her worth almost from the beginning—but her mysterious attraction to Rupert Charkov, ostensibly the ship's "cook" but one with preternaturally fast reflexes and phenomenal weapons knowledge, could threaten all her carefully mapped out plans. VERDICT Bach, who writes fantasy as Rachel Aaron (Eli Monpress series) makes her sf debut with this series launch that introduces a strong female heroine whose mind is mostly on her career—and her high-tech suit of armor—yet who finds herself inexplicably drawn into a relationship that could damage her life and her honor. Fans of Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan series and David Weber's Honor Harrington novels should enjoy starting another potentially long-running sf military saga. [Previewed in Kristi Chadwick's Genre Spotlight feature, "New Worlds To Explore," LJ 8/13 (ow.ly/odoSr).—Ed.] [Page 50]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Determined to join the ranks of the elite Devastators, ambitious mercenary Deviana "Devi" Morris applies for a job as a security guard aboard the Glorious Fool, an aging space freighter with an intergalactic reputation for danger. Successful service will launch Devi to the pinnacle of an already stellar career—if she doesn't get herself killed in the process. However, not long after she signs on, Devi realizes her new captain and crew are not what they seem. Will she survive long enough to discover what's really going on? VERDICT A fast-paced, action-packed sf series opener starring a tough and resourceful space-faring heroine. (LJ 9/15/13) [Page 73]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Ambitious career mercenary Devi Morris, believing her advancement stalled in the prestigious Blackbird company, accepts a security position on the notorious trade ship Glorious Fool, a ship so prone to interesting times that one year served there counts as five years served anywhere else. Devi discovers a diverse crew of aliens and humans under a demanding master, and a ship full of secrets worth killing to protect. Swarms of alien slavers and predator-infested derelict ships lost in the depths of space are dangerous enough, but can Devi survive the Glorious Fool herself? All of space opera's conventions make appearances, including violent aliens, mysterious powers, high-tech weaponry, powered armor, sympathetic mercenaries, and feudal societies. What Bach fails to demonstrate is much ability to blend her stock set pieces into a coherent whole or put a new spin on familiar clichés. (Nov.) [Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"When professional mercenary Deviana Morris took the security guard job aboard the Glorious Fool, all she wanted was a fast route into the Devastators --- the elite league of armored fighters entrusted with the most important duty on her home planet of Paradox. But this security job isn't just twelve-hour patrols, armor-polishing, and whiskey. The supposedly-cursed Captain Caldswell keeps sending Devi and her partner into unimaginably dangerous situations. Ren, the captain's daughter, is a kind of weird that Devi has never experienced before. And to top it off, there's the insufferably sexy cook, Rupert Chekov, who is far more than what he seems -- possibly even far more than human"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Mercenary Devi Morris takes a job on The Glorious Fool, a trade ship where one year of work is equal to five years everywhere else in the first novel of the new science fiction series. Original. 20,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

""Military science fiction gets a new action hero with Deviana Morris -- in the vein of Elizabeth Moon and Lois McMaster Bujold." --Provided by the publisher"--

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Mercenary Deviana Morris hopes to advance her career when she takes a security guard post on the starship Glorious Fool, but she must first survive the dangerous and seemingly doomed missions she's being sent on by the ship's captain.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

A promising young mercenary's future gets thrown into jeopardy after a fateful encounter with an alien in the start to a propulsive space opera series perfect for fans of Firefly and Killjoys."Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time." RT Book ReviewsDevi Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It's a combination that's going to get her killed one day -- but not just yet.That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.