The Bughouse affair A Carpenter and Quincannon mystery

Marcia Muller

Book - 2013

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Muller Marcia
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Muller Marcia Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Published
New York : Forge 2013.
Edition
1st ed
Language
English
Item Description
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Physical Description
269 p. ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780765331748
0765331748
Main Author
Marcia Muller (-)
Other Authors
Bill Pronzini (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Both past Mystery Writers of America Grand Masters, Muller and Pronzini combine forces for a historical mystery set in the San Francisco of 1894. John Quincannon, a former Secret Service agent, and Sabina Carpenter, a former Pinkerton operative, have a successful detective agency in San Francisco. Sabina is searching for a pickpocket who preys on visitors at the Chutes Amusement Park and other crowded areas of the city. Quincannon is after a burglar who breaks into the homes of the wealthy. His search takes him to the bars and bawdy houses of the Barbary Coast and the boat of an oyster pirate. A strange man claiming to be Sherlock Holmes keeps offering his less-than-welcome assistance. Fans of Muller's Sharon McCone series and Pronzini's Nameless Detective novels will enjoy this trip to San Francisco in an earlier era. Those who enjoy historical mysteries are in for a particular treat with this delightful story featuring two intrepid detectives who solve their cases using different but equally effective methods. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Victorian-era San Francisco-based Pinkerton detectives Sabina Carpenter and John Quincannon have their hands full with two parallel cases that soon converge. Her pickpocket case escalates into a murder investigation, as does his home burglary probe. On top of all that, a visitor claiming to be Sherlock Holmes just has to meddle and complicate Quincannon's life. VERDICT Of course you'll order multiples; we're talking Muller and Pronzini here! The locked-room dilemma is familiar territory for Pronzini, and this series launch is sure to delight his readers in particular. The easy and amusing read flows beautifully. Occasionally, the very symmetrical structure of male and female protagonists, victims, and criminals is a stretch, but the authors' gift for dialog and good storytelling propels us through any historical posturing. A treat for Rhys Bowen and Laurie R. King readers [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/12.] [Page 70]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Fans of Steve Hockensmith's Holmes on the Range historicals will welcome the fifth Quincannon book, the second collaboration in the series between husband-and-wife MWA Grand Masters Muller and Pronzini (after Beyond the Grave). In 1891, Sabina Carpenter, one of the original Pinkerton female operatives, the Pink Roses, moved to San Francisco to join former Secret Service agent John Quincannon in establishing the city's "premier investigative agency." In 1894, two simultaneous cases preoccupy the pair: a pickpocket is targeting the patrons of the Haight Street Chutes Amusement Park, and six policyholders of the Great Western insurance company have been burglarized. Meanwhile, Quincannon is bemused by press reports that Sherlock Holmes has survived his supposed death and has taken up residence in San Francisco, until the claimant to the master detective's mantle becomes an unexpected rival. A doubly impossible crime only adds to the enjoyable plot. Agent: Dominick Abel, Dominick Abel Literary. (Jan.) [Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A first entry in a new series by two Grand Master Award winners is set in 1890s San Francisco and finds former Pinkerton operative Sabina Carpenter and her detective partner, ex-Secret Service agent John Quincannon, tackling two seemingly unrelated cases that are complicated by two murders and the interference of Sherlock Holmes.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A first entry in a new series is set in 1890s San Francisco and finds former Pinkerton operative Sabina Carpenter and her detective partner, ex-Secret Service agent John Quincannon, tackling two seemingly unrelated cases that are complicated by two murders and the interference of Sherlock Holmes.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In The Bughouse Affair, this first of a new series of lighthearted historical mysteries set in 1890s San Francisco, former Pinkerton operative Sabina Carpenter and her detective partner, ex-Secret Service agent John Quincannon, undertake what initially appear to be two unrelated investigations.Sabina's case involves the hunt for a ruthless lady "dip" who uses fiendish means to relieve her victims of their valuables at Chutes Amusement Park and other crowded places. Quincannon, meanwhile, is after a slippery housebreaker who targets the homes of wealthy residents, following a trail that leads him from the infamous Barbary Coast to an oyster pirate's lair to a Tenderloin parlor house known as the Fiddle Dee Dee.The two cases eventually connect in surprising fashion, but not before two murders and assorted other felonies complicate matters even further. And not before the two sleuths are hindered, assisted, and exasperated by the bughouse Sherlock Holmes.Fans of Marcia's Muller's bestselling Sharon McCone novels and Bill Pronzini's Nameless Detective series will applaud this and future exploits from the annals of Carpenter and Quincannon, Professional Detective Services. The Carpenter and Quincannon Mysteries:#1 The Bughouse Affair#2 The Spook Lights Affair#3 The Body Snatchers Affair#4 The Plague of Thieves Affair#5 The Dangerous Ladies Affair#6 The Bags of Tricks Affair