Mission Flats A novel

William Landay

Book - 2012

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Landay, William
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Landay, William Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Published
New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperbacks 2012, c2003.
Edition
2012 Bantam Books trade pbk. ed
Language
English
Item Description
Originally published: New York : Delacorte Press, 2003.
Physical Description
383 p. ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780345539458
0345539451
Main Author
William Landay (-)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

The chief of police in Versailles, Maine, Ben Truman is confronted by a difficult case when a district attorney is found murdered and he must follow a trail of fragile clues that takes him to Boston and to dark secrets and old crimes with ties to the highest echelons of the Boston Police Department.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The chief of police in Versailles, Maine, Ben Truman is confronted by a difficult case when a district attorney is found murdered and he must follow a trail of fragile clues that takes him to Boston and to dark secrets and old crimes with ties to the highest echelons of the Boston Police Department. A first novel.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane. “Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review  By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.  Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob“A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)   “An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”—Rocky Mountain News   “Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel