The killing moon

N. K. Jemisin

Book - 2012

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Jemisin, N. K.
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Jemisin, N. K. Due Jun 14, 2024
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Jemisin, N. K. Due Aug 1, 2024
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York : Orbit c2012.
Language
English
Main Author
N. K. Jemisin (-)
Edition
1st ed
Physical Description
p
ISBN
9780316187282
Contents unavailable.
Review by Booklist Review

The first volume of Jemisin's Dreamblood is set in the vaguely Egyptian city of Gujaareh and follows the Gatherer Ehiru, a priest trained to bring the dying or corrupt a peaceful end through powerful, dream-based magic. By refusing to kill a visiting ambassador, Ehiru is drawn into a world of intrigues that involve not only his superiors in the priesthood and Gujaareh's ruler, the Prince of Sunset, but also dark secrets about the origins of dream magic itself. An engaging and well-realized setting and equally strong characters recommend this for sf-fantasy general readers and Jemisin fans alike.--Keep, Alan Copyright 2016 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Jemisin's gripping series launch immerses readers in an unfamiliar but enthralling world as well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure. In Gujaareh, a city-state reminiscent of ancient Egypt (though the differences far outnumber the similarities), dreams are the source of magic, and it is Gatherer Ehiru's job to collect the mystical life-giving dreamblood from the dying-and those deemed too "corrupt" to live. Devout and loyal, Ehiru is slow to accept that heretical evil lurks behind Gujaareh's unblemished facade; only after encountering Sunandi, a foreign spy who is far less naive about Gujaareh's "mad bitch" goddess and her unscrupulous worshippers, does Ehiru begin to glimpse the rot that extends up to the pinnacle of Gujaareh's social pyramid. As a hideous monster preys on the innocent, Ehiru's faith is tested in a crisis of world-shaking proportions. Rather than merely appropriating various details from Earth's past and present, Jemisin (the Inheritance Trilogy) has created a fully developed secondary world that is an organic whole. Agent: Lucienne Diver, the Knight Agency. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by Library Journal Review

The desert city of Gujaareh is known as a peaceful society, free of violence and crime. To maintain the peace, Gatherers-priests of the goddess Hananja-police the city, siphoning the dreams of its residents and using them to heal, bring solace to the dying, and deliver death to the corrupt. When the city's most famous Gatherer, Ehiru, receives a commission to collect the dreams of a diplomat from a neighboring land, he and his apprentice Nijiri stumble into a web of political intrigue that could destroy their city and undermine its holy purpose. The author of the award-winning "Inheritance Trilogy" (The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms; The Broken Kingdoms; The Kingdom of Gods) launches a new series that explores the meaning of religion and the nature of faith. VERDICT This story, set in a world inspired by Africa and the Middle East, shines for its remarkable characters and graceful prose. Jemisin's fans and readers who enjoy China Mieville, Daniel Abraham, and Mike Resnick will embrace her attention to detail and the love of storytelling that infuses this novel. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Review by Kirkus Book Review

New ancient Egyptflavored fantasy from the New York resident author of The Broken Kingdoms (2010, etc.). In the city and state of Gujaareh, the Hetawa temple is dedicated to Hananja, goddess of dreams, and its priests harvest the people's dreams to create dream-magic to heal wounds and cure ailments. The Hetawa's elite Gatherers also ease the passage of the dying--and kill those judged corrupt. When Gatherer Ehiru is ordered to kill Charleron, a corrupt outlander, somehow his flawless technique goes awry; Charleron dies in agony, but not before hinting that something is gravely amiss in the Hetawa. Shaken, Ehiru finds he can no longer function as a Gatherer and goes into seclusion, watched over by his young apprentice, Nijiri--until Ehiru receives orders to kill Sunandi Jeh Kalawe, the "corrupt" ambassador from neighboring Kisua. Sunandi bravely defends herself and reveals that her predecessor and adoptive father passed to her a dreadful secret involving war, murder and, perhaps, Eninket, Prince of the Sunset Throne--who happens to be Ehiru's brother. Though all the signs point towards the Hetawa--innocent dreamers are being murdered by an insensate, renegade Reaper--Ehiru cannot believe that the priesthood itself is corrupt. Nevertheless he agrees to help Sunandi unravel the conspiracy. Though a little too heavily dependent on the intricate details of Gujaareh's religion, Jemisin's patient world-building and extraordinary attention to detail help frame and propel the complex plot, and she weaves subtle, emotionally complex relationships between the main characters. The text includes a useful glossary but, alas, no maps. Tends toward the claustrophobic at times, but superior and fulfilling.]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.