1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Donald, Angus
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Donald, Angus Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : St. Martin's Griffin 2011.
Edition
1st U.S. ed
Language
English
Physical Description
342 p. : map ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780312604356
0312604351
9780312678364
0312678363
Main Author
Angus Donald, 1965- (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Donald puts a new twist on the well-known story of Robin Hood in this decidedly darker version of the legendary "prince of thieves." Yes, the man in tights still robs from the rich and gives to the poor, but pity the man who crosses him. No mercy is spared by Robin and his decidedly thug-like band of not-so-merry men as they relentlessly and violently pursue their mission. Narrated by Alan Dale, one of Robin Hood's young apprentices, this gritty tale is populated by a host of familiar characters, including the evil sheriff of Nottingham, Little John, Friar Tuck, and, of course, Marian, here rechristened Marie-Anne. Though Donald sprinkles the plot with some recognizable scenes, this is a far cry from the cozy adventure tale that inspired generations of children. This Robin is willing to wage violent war on anyone, including one of his own, who challenges or betrays him. In true episodic fashion, Donald leaves the door open for the next exciting installment of this boldly refashioned fable. Copyright 2011 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Donald drives a sword through the heart of the smiling, joking Robin Hood in his stateside debut, recasting the jolly thief of Nottingham Forest as the vicious leader of a very unjolly band of cutthroats who are prone to the slaughter or mutilation of enemies, betrayers, and anyone thought to be disloyal. The story begins in 1189 as Alan Dale, a 13-year-old thief, joins Robin's band of drunken and debauched outlaws and seeks revenge on Sir Ralph Murdac, the high sheriff of Nottingham, for the murders of his parents. While the outlaws are plundering and killing rich travelers and clergymen, a traitor betrays Robin to Murdac, resulting in Alan's capture and torture, which only hardens his resolve to kill the sheriff and several other chain-mail baddies. Add miraculous escapes, the rescue of a fair maiden, romance, witchcraft, much drunkenness, and the introduction of Friar Tuck, Little John, Will Scarlet, and the evil Prince John, and you get a rousing yarn that takes the story you're familiar with and gives it a lively jolt of brutality and gore. (Apr.) [Page ]. Copyright 2010 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Alan Dale, a young thief running from the law, joins tough and sometimes brutal Robin Hood in his band of not-always-loyal men as they steal from the Church, protect the poor and battle the forces of the Norman rulers. A first novel.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane, Outlaw is a rousing historical novel that mixes legend with fact to bring to life the time, the lives and the struggles of late 12th century England. As the Henry II struggles with his rebelious children and the conflict between the Saxon nobility and the Norman conquerors continues on as bloody as ever, there is a figure that has remained firmly fixed in the imagation of generations - Robin Hood, an outlaw and a renegade nobility determined to bring down the men who took his land, his family, and his position.When he's caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest. Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county. And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight - and how to win. But Robin is a ruthless man - and although he is Alan's protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer...From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From bloody battles to riotous feast days, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves into the legend behind the legend of Robin Hood.