Amanda Quick

Book - 2011

"Historical romance novel featuring the Arcane Society, second in The Looking Glass Trilogy"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Quick, Amanda
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Quick, Amanda Checked In
Romantic suspense fiction
Romance fiction
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons 2011.
Main Author
Amanda Quick (-)
Item Description
Novels in the Arcane Society series cross over between historical novels (written as Amanda Quick) and contemporary novels (written as Jayne Ann Krentz).
Physical Description
342 p. ; 24 cm
Contents unavailable.
Review by Booklist Review

Virginia Dean is almost certain she would remember murdering someone. Which is why Virginia is more than a bit puzzled when she awakes in a locked, mirrored room next to the very dead, and very bloody, body of Lord Hollister. She has absolutely no knowledge of what happened. The last person Virginia expects to help her is Owen Sweetwater, especially since Owen has made it his mission to try and disprove the credibility of looking-glass readers like Virginia. But when Owen shows up at the Hollister mansion, Virginia is more than willing to accept his assistance. However, their unlikely partnership doesn't end that night, for it seems someone is determined to rid London of looking-glass readers altogether, and Virginia is next on their list. This is book two in the Looking Glass Trilogy (book one, In Too Deep, 2010, carries another of the best-selling author's pen names, Jayne Ann Krentz), and in it Quick deftly delivers a vividly atmospheric tale of danger and desire, brimming with paranormal-flavored suspense and combustible passion.--Charles, John Copyright 2010 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Library Journal Review

The only thing that surprises high-level glasslight talent Virginia Dean more than waking up in a glittering mirrored room next to a dead body is having enigmatic investigator Owen Sweetwater, a man she has little reason to trust, come to her rescue. But Owen is not there by accident. He is hunting a killer targeting glasslight readers, and he badly needs Virginia's help. Intrigued, Virginia warily agrees, never thinking that in working so closely with Owen to unmask a sociopath, she will fall in love with, and be claimed by, one of the most dangerous men she has ever met. This is the second in the trilogy within the larger "Arcane Society" series featuring books written by Jayne Ann Krentz under all of her noms de plume. Quicksilver follows the contemporary In Too Deep by Krentz. The last book, Canyons of Night by Jayne Castle, Krentz's futuristic alter ego, is scheduled for a September release. VERDICT Once again the ever-entertaining Quick treats readers to a wickedly witty, mercurial tale, filled with her own sexy brand of humor-laced sensuality, an abundance of intriguing characters (including a dazzling collection of Millicent Bridewell's exquisitely made, deadly clockwork toys), and a lively adventure successfully resolved but lightly peppered with tantalizing hints of what's to come. Quick lives in the Seattle area. [See Prepub Alert, 10/25/10.] (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.